AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > AMD Motherboards & CPUs

AMD Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on AMD products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 28th January, 2007, 02:59 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2003
Location: Buffalo
Posts: 183

Abit NF7 nForce2; boot hangs 40 sec. after Network connections

Configuration;

Abit NF7-S V2 (nForce2) MB w/ UDP V4.27
Fresh install of Win 2000 w/sp4
Only three USB devices hooked up; Card Reader, printer & USB2 card. NO other devices)

I removed the three USB devices (uninstalled drivers) but it made no difference.
I assign static IP address for my three computers (other two have been off)
No conflicts noted in Device Manager
Only 12 processes loaded at startup!
No virus scanner running.

After the "Preparing Network Connectiuons" box disappears, it takes 40 seconds before I see the destop! I timed it many times. On another nForce2 MB (Epox) it is a matter of only a couple of seconds after that dialog box disappears.

Questions:
1. If you disable a device in Device Manager, does Windows still load the drivers for it on next boot?
2. If so, could that still cause a issue (assuming it was a issue in the first place)?
3. If there was a IP conflict with another machine, if those other boxes were off, it wouldn't matter would it??

I don't remember having this issue before I moved this box back where it was orginally (from using it with my HD PTV to the office). The only other change is it on a different router port.

BTW, I also have FP, er, XP loaded on my 2nd bootable HDD and it hangs there also.

Any ideas??
__________________
Copyright protection & Intellectual property my ass. All the studios want is more money & control. Enough is enough!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 28th January, 2007, 06:23 PM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

Sounds like there may be an issue with your NIC hardware.

When the machine finally comes up, can it see other machines on the network?
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 28th January, 2007, 06:27 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2003
Location: Buffalo
Posts: 183

Yes, ethernet works fine. I disabled the onboard NIC and there is little difference in boot time. Still hangs.
__________________
Copyright protection & Intellectual property my ass. All the studios want is more money & control. Enough is enough!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 28th January, 2007, 06:30 PM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

You may have to do a logged boot. Thing is, I don't remember exactly how to do that.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 28th January, 2007, 07:02 PM
JimF's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2005
Location: South London/UK
Posts: 221

Is there something like a mapped network drive or links in 'network places' that aren't there anymore ?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 29th January, 2007, 05:38 AM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2003
Location: Buffalo
Posts: 183

No mapped drives. Never did that. Here is the boot log;

Service Pack 4 1 28 2007 23:13:09.500
Loaded driver \WINNT\System32\NTOSKRN1.EXE
Loaded driver \WINNT\System32\hal.dll
Loaded driver \WINNT\System32\BOOTVID.DLL
Loaded driver ACPI.sys
Loaded driver \WINNT\system32\DRIVERS\WMILIB.SYS
Loaded driver pci.sys
Loaded driver isapnp.sys
Loaded driver pciide.sys
Loaded driver \WINNT\system32\DRIVERS\PCIIDEX.SYS
Loaded driver MountMgr.sys
Loaded driver ftdisk.sys
Loaded driver Diskperf.sys
Loaded driver dmload.sys
Loaded driver dmio.sys
Loaded driver PartMgr.sys
Loaded driver atapi.sys
Loaded driver nvatabus.sys
Loaded driver disk.sys
Loaded driver \WINNT\system32\DRIVERS\CLASSPNP.SYS
Loaded driver PxHelp20.sys
Loaded driver KSecDD.sys
Loaded driver Ntfs.sys
Loaded driver NDIS.sys
Loaded driver ohci1394.sys
Loaded driver \WINNT\system32\DRIVERS\1394BUS.SYS
Loaded driver nv_agp.sys
Loaded driver Mup.sys
Loaded driver \SystemRoot\system32\DRIVERS\openhci.sys
Loaded driver \SystemRoot\system32\DRIVERS\usbehci.sys
Loaded driver \SystemRoot\system32\DRIVERS\NVENET.sys
Loaded driver \SystemRoot\system32\drivers\nvax.sys
Loaded driver \SystemRoot\System32\Drivers\ElbyDelay.sys
Loaded driver \SystemRoot\System32\Drivers\AnyDVD.sys
Loaded driver \SystemRoot\system32\DRIVERS\cdrom.sys
Loaded driver \SystemRoot\system32\DRIVERS\ati2mtag.sys
Loaded driver \SystemRoot\system32\DRIVERS\fdc.sys
Loaded driver \SystemRoot\system32\DRIVERS\serial.sys
Loaded driver \SystemRoot\system32\DRIVERS\serenum.sys
Loaded driver \SystemRoot\system32\DRIVERS\i8042prt.sys
Loaded driver \SystemRoot\system32\DRIVERS\mouclass.sys
Loaded driver \SystemRoot\system32\DRIVERS\kbdclass.sys
Loaded driver \SystemRoot\system32\DRIVERS\audstub.sys
Loaded driver \SystemRoot\system32\DRIVERS\rasl2tp.sys
Loaded driver \SystemRoot\system32\DRIVERS\ndistapi.sys
Loaded driver \SystemRoot\system32\DRIVERS\ndiswan.sys
Loaded driver \SystemRoot\system32\DRIVERS\raspptp.sys
Loaded driver \SystemRoot\system32\DRIVERS\ptilink.sys
Loaded driver \SystemRoot\system32\DRIVERS\raspti.sys
Loaded driver \SystemRoot\system32\DRIVERS\swenum.sys
Loaded driver \SystemRoot\system32\DRIVERS\update.sys
Loaded driver \SystemRoot\system32\DRIVERS\usbhub.sys
Loaded driver \SystemRoot\system32\DRIVERS\usbhub20.sys
Loaded driver \SystemRoot\system32\drivers\nvapu.sys
Loaded driver \SystemRoot\system32\DRIVERS\flpydisk.sys
Loaded driver \SystemRoot\System32\Drivers\NDProxy.SYS
Loaded driver \SystemRoot\System32\Drivers\EFS.SYS
Did not load driver \SystemRoot\System32\Drivers\NDProxy.SYS
Loaded driver \SystemRoot\system32\DRIVERS\usbprint.sys
Loaded driver \SystemRoot\system32\DRIVERS\USBSTOR.SYS
Did not load driver \SystemRoot\System32\Drivers\lbrtfdc.SYS
Did not load driver \SystemRoot\System32\Drivers\Sfloppy.SYS
Did not load driver \SystemRoot\System32\Drivers\Changer.SYS
Did not load driver \SystemRoot\System32\Drivers\Cdaudio.SYS
Loaded driver \SystemRoot\System32\Drivers\Fs_Rec.SYS
Loaded driver \SystemRoot\System32\Drivers\Null.SYS
Loaded driver \SystemRoot\System32\Drivers\Beep.SYS
Did not load driver \SystemRoot\System32\Drivers\sglfb.SYS
Did not load driver \SystemRoot\System32\Drivers\tga.SYS
Loaded driver \SystemRoot\System32\drivers\vga.sys
Loaded driver \SystemRoot\System32\Drivers\mnmdd.SYS
Loaded driver \SystemRoot\System32\Drivers\Msfs.SYS
Loaded driver \SystemRoot\System32\Drivers\Npfs.SYS
Loaded driver \SystemRoot\system32\DRIVERS\rasacd.sys
Loaded driver \SystemRoot\system32\DRIVERS\msgpc.sys
Loaded driver \SystemRoot\system32\DRIVERS\tcpip.sys
Loaded driver \SystemRoot\system32\DRIVERS\wanarp.sys
Loaded driver \SystemRoot\system32\DRIVERS\netbt.sys
Loaded driver \SystemRoot\system32\DRIVERS\netbios.sys
Did not load driver \SystemRoot\System32\Drivers\PCIDump.SYS
Did not load driver \SystemRoot\system32\DRIVERS\redbook.sys
Loaded driver \SystemRoot\system32\DRIVERS\rdbss.sys
Loaded driver \SystemRoot\system32\DRIVERS\mrxsmb.sys
Loaded driver \SystemRoot\System32\drivers\afd.sys
Did not load driver \SystemRoot\System32\Drivers\Parport.SYS
Loaded driver \SystemRoot\System32\Drivers\ElbyCDIO.sys
Loaded driver \SystemRoot\System32\Drivers\Fips.SYS
Did not load driver \SystemRoot\system32\DRIVERS\rdbss.sys
Did not load driver \SystemRoot\system32\DRIVERS\mrxsmb.sys
Loaded driver \SystemRoot\system32\DRIVERS\srv.sys
Loaded driver \SystemRoot\system32\drivers\wdmaud.sys
Loaded driver \SystemRoot\system32\drivers\sysaudio.sys
Loaded driver \SystemRoot\system32\drivers\swmidi.sys
Loaded driver \SystemRoot\system32\drivers\DMusic.sys
Loaded driver \SystemRoot\system32\drivers\kmixer.sys
Loaded driver \??\C:\PROGRA~1\SYSTEM~1\Vsapint.sys
Loaded driver \SystemRoot\System32\Drivers\Cdfs.SYS
Loaded driver \??\C:\PROGRA~1\SYSTEM~1\Tmfilter.sys
Loaded driver \SystemRoot\System32\Drivers\Fastfat.SYS
Loaded driver \SystemRoot\system32\DRIVERS\ipsec.sys
__________________
Copyright protection & Intellectual property my ass. All the studios want is more money & control. Enough is enough!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 29th January, 2007, 05:51 AM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

When it was loading up, which one did it pause on?
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 29th January, 2007, 02:38 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2003
Location: Buffalo
Posts: 183

How can you see that??

I removed the two optical drives, and the other bootable HDD and the boot time was cut in half. Still not what it should be (2-3 seconds), but now what?

BTW, I timed my other nForce2 MB (slightly older Epox) and it's only a couple of seconds between the time that 'Network connections' dialog box disappears and the desktop appears.
__________________
Copyright protection & Intellectual property my ass. All the studios want is more money & control. Enough is enough!

Last edited by videobruce; 29th January, 2007 at 02:39 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 29th January, 2007, 04:32 PM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

Quote:
Originally Posted by videobruce
How can you see that??
Sorry, I thought the problem was deeper in the system. If it is the network connections dialog that is taking so long to go away then.................hmmm...............

Do you have any dialup networking stuff installed?
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
EP-8NPA SLi hangs at boot nacheeze EPoX MotherBoards 1 12th November, 2006 08:15 AM
9NPA+ Ultra Hangs at boot (02 error code) Klavs EPoX MotherBoards 8 8th August, 2005 10:13 AM
Internet Connections Q Nepal Random Nonsense! 3 15th November, 2004 04:46 AM
4pea+ hangs on boot using SATA RAID PSUGorilla EPoX MotherBoards 2 13th May, 2003 12:48 PM
Nforce2 Network nvnet.sys diablo23 EPoX MotherBoards 1 7th May, 2003 02:41 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:29 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0