AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > AMD Motherboards & CPUs

AMD Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on AMD products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 12th February, 2007, 07:08 PM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

AMD's 'Barcelona' cuts power one core at a time

AMD's elaborate and lengthy four-core processor striptease continues this week with some geeky revelations around power saving technology.

Read more on the Front Page:
http://www.aoaforums.com/frontpage/content/view/1961/2/
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 12th February, 2007, 09:07 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

Anything that saves juice without hurting performance has to get my vote!
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 13th February, 2007, 12:22 AM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

...lowers power consumption on the whole, but also lowers power efficiency as the voltage for each core is not adjustable..merely the PROCESSING POWER. No real beenfits unless you are running a low-utilized server or highly-threaded apps.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 13th February, 2007, 05:28 AM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

I thought Barcelona was going to incorporate a split power plane also, so that they could reduce the voltage to each core independently?

In any case, your main point is, well, the main point. The power savings are primarily realized in situations where your cpus are mostly idle. If you are actually using the things then the power savings won't amount to all that much.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 13th February, 2007, 05:19 PM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

2 seperate power planes..one for intergrated chipset, one for cores. This means that each cpu(whether dual or quad or single) shares the same power source, while another part of the chip, the northbridge, gets it's own power.

Barcelona does not allow you to scale votlage for each core independantly. If you want a real good idea, it allows independant cpu speeds, but voltages remain the same, so 1.1v all around, and maybe 600mhz/600mhz/600mhz/2ghz for the cores...and sure, those three slowed cores will consume less power, however they have been pushed far into non-efficient land, @ 1.1v for 600mhz x3, and 1.1v for 2ghz on the fourth.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 13th February, 2007, 05:37 PM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

Quote:
Originally Posted by cadaveca
2 seperate power planes..one for intergrated chipset, one for cores. This means that each cpu(whether dual or quad or single) shares the same power source, while another part of the chip, the northbridge, gets it's own power.

Barcelona does not allow you to scale votlage for each core independantly. If you want a real good idea, it allows independant cpu speeds, but voltages remain the same, so 1.1v all around, and maybe 600mhz/600mhz/600mhz/2ghz for the cores...and sure, those three slowed cores will consume less power, however they have been pushed far into non-efficient land, @ 1.1v for 600mhz x3, and 1.1v for 2ghz on the fourth.
Ah, that's right. I remember that now. But that only comes with the socket AM2+ mobos, and apparently only if the AM2+ mobos actually support that capability. From what I've read, the split power plane won't be a requirement until the AM3 mobos come out.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AMD's 'Barcelona' fails to impress in 'Quick and Dirty' Benchmark keithwalton AMD Motherboards & CPUs 47 1st July, 2007 09:49 AM
Barcelona,Barcelonaaaaaaaaaaaaa !!! chrisbard AMD Motherboards & CPUs 7 24th April, 2007 01:12 PM
AMD praying ‘Barcelona’ makes up for four-core mistake MONKEYMAN Random Nonsense! 0 19th March, 2007 10:43 AM
AMD Unveils Barcelona Quad-Core Details Gizmo AMD Motherboards & CPUs 2 12th October, 2006 09:34 PM
Bluetooth phone and ear piece cuts out danrok Mobile Devices and Networking 4 8th February, 2004 04:51 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:17 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0