AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > AMD Motherboards & CPUs

AMD Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on AMD products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 4th March, 2007, 07:05 PM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

AMD 690 chipset, a first look

Read more about this on the front page:
http://www.aoaforums.com/frontpage/content/view/2101/1/
__________________
Desktop PC: AMD FX-8370E / Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard / 16GB DDR3 RAM / GeForce GTX 970
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 4th March, 2007, 08:57 PM
keithwalton's Avatar
Member/Contributor
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Southampton, UK
Posts: 2,257
Send a message via ICQ to keithwalton Send a message via MSN to keithwalton Send a message via Yahoo to keithwalton

Interesting they say the graphics chip is x700 based, as that was an 8 pipeline part and clocked higher than the old 9800xt (also 8 pipeline) where as this new chipset is a 4 pipelines which is 9600, x600 sort of tech.
Off loading the vertex shader to the cpu is an intel extremely pants graphics trick.

Seems it looses badly to an x1300 in benchmarks which is far from a stellar 3d chip!

Integrated graphics boards usually carry a premium over normal boards, the money you save could probably afford an x1300 or so
__________________
ASUS P5W DH (i975X) - Core 2 Quad Q6600 (2.40GHz) Currently 3GHz under water hit 3.3GHz so far - 2x 1GB OCZ PC6400's - 2x Seagate 7200.10 320GB's - Sapphire Radeon x1900xt now water cooled
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 5th March, 2007, 03:41 AM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,951

Yeah but, but, on board Intel '"graphics"' don't seem to raise the price of a mobo. Not that they should, lame, lamer, lamest identifies built-in Intel graphoid efforts. Maybe this isn't true with very up to date Intel on board video wonderfullness?
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 5th March, 2007, 02:33 PM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

It is generally true that boards with integrated graphics cost more than boards without, but it is also generally true that SYSTEMS with integrated graphics cost less than SYSTEMS without integrated graphics, although they also tend not to perform as well.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 5th March, 2007, 04:11 PM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

I've never seen evidence of onboard video coming at a premium, the cheapest motherboard I can think of in the uk at £25 comes with onboard video. And moving up to a more mid range product like a Geforce 6100 based board you're still only looking at £35, far cheaper than any graphics card and motherboard combined.
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias Fünke, M.D.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 8th March, 2007, 09:02 PM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

But also far less performance...
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 8th March, 2007, 09:50 PM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

Quote:
Originally Posted by GrahamGarside
I've never seen evidence of onboard video coming at a premium, the cheapest motherboard I can think of in the uk at £25 comes with onboard video. And moving up to a more mid range product like a Geforce 6100 based board you're still only looking at £35, far cheaper than any graphics card and motherboard combined.
And this is the "new way". Integrated graphics are "on-the-cheap", and will continue to be so for quite some time, if not forever.

Although this chipset is not a stellar 3D performer, it IS the best there is ATM, although that may be short-lived. Although the graphics engine is based on the x700, the x700 doesn't have AVIVO either, so you must realize that any comparisons are purely performance- and feature-based, as this chipset does not feature SM3.0 compatibility in order to keep space to a minimum.


Frankly, I'm a bit disappointed in this product myself, however I understand it's place in the market.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
what chipset do i have? barneygumble742 General Hardware Discussion 6 16th March, 2005 08:02 PM
From 3.6 to 4.0 - using 9XX or 8X5 chipset ? wwswimming Intel Motherboards & CPUs 6 16th January, 2005 02:01 AM
ATI and their new chipset dpgdog187 64 Bit computing 1 12th November, 2004 04:23 AM
ATI chipset for AMD brian770 General Hardware Discussion 2 27th September, 2004 04:39 AM
New Chipset!!!! The Spyder Random Nonsense! 2 10th July, 2002 02:51 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:07 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0