AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > AMD Motherboards & CPUs

AMD Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on AMD products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 22nd March, 2007, 09:18 AM
Member
 
Join Date: March 2007
Posts: 3

AMD Dual-Core Processor 3800+

G'day, i was wondering if this pc is worth $1495 aussie dollars, if not how much?

AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual-Core Processor 3800+ 2.0GHz (up to 2000MHz, with HyperTransport Technology) - 2 GB DDR Ram - 200 GB HDD - 256MB Video Card - Lightscribe DVD Dual Layer Burner - 56k Modem - 10/100 Network and Wireless Networking - Windows XP HOME & Software Package
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 22nd March, 2007, 09:29 AM
MONKEYMAN's Avatar
Member
5 Card Draw Champion, Tomb Digger Champion, Alpha Force Champion, Autobahn Champion, Big Bird Hunting Champion, Mumu Champion, Attack of the Tweety Zombies Champion
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: DORSET, UK
Posts: 2,170

Depends on the Brand of the RAM and the type of graphics card really.
__________________
AM2 X2 4000
2GB DDR2
NVIDIA 6150 ONBOARD!

Join our F@H team today.. http://www.team45.info/
Are you a subscriber? No? well then, why not....
Subscribe to AOA for a better experience and faster downloads!
How to unlock and overclock your Nvidia 6800
BIOS Volt-mod your 7800gt

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 22nd March, 2007, 09:43 AM
Member
 
Join Date: March 2007
Posts: 3

This is what it has in it

CPU: AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual-Core Processor 3800+ 2.0GHz (up to 2000MHz, with HyperTransport Technology)
Memory: 2 GB DDR Ram
Hard Drive: 200GB SATA Hard Drive
Graphics: 256MB NVIDIA GeForce 6600 3D PCI-Express Graphics
Optical Drive: Lightscribe DVDRW +/- Dual Layer Burner
Modem/Fax: V.90 56 Kbps Fax / Data Modem
Network: 10/100 Network Card Standard, Wireless 802.11 a/b/g LAN
Sound: Integrated Realtek ALC658 Digital Audio - Dolby 5.1 Surround Sound
Ready
Ports: USB & Firewire Ports
Card Reader: 9-1 Digital Card Reader
Keyboard/Mouse: One-touch Enhanced Keyboard, PS/2 Optical scrolling mouse
Speakers: 2 speaker system
Operating System: Windows XP Home Software
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 22nd March, 2007, 01:10 PM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

A quick guess I could put that together for probably under £600 if there is no display in with it which is only about $1200AUS, not sure what component prices are like in Aus though
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias Fünke, M.D.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 22nd March, 2007, 02:14 PM
MONKEYMAN's Avatar
Member
5 Card Draw Champion, Tomb Digger Champion, Alpha Force Champion, Autobahn Champion, Big Bird Hunting Champion, Mumu Champion, Attack of the Tweety Zombies Champion
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: DORSET, UK
Posts: 2,170

I agree, I wouldnt say it was quite worth $1495 AUS dollars, however its almost worth that much with the OS included I reckon.
__________________
AM2 X2 4000
2GB DDR2
NVIDIA 6150 ONBOARD!

Join our F@H team today.. http://www.team45.info/
Are you a subscriber? No? well then, why not....
Subscribe to AOA for a better experience and faster downloads!
How to unlock and overclock your Nvidia 6800
BIOS Volt-mod your 7800gt

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 22nd March, 2007, 04:44 PM
captinhector's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2006
Location: Norman, ok
Posts: 203
Send a message via MSN to captinhector

Mmmm I don't know that I would go for it with a 6800, its starting to show its age. With the full 8000 line coming out so soon, I would wait and get something w/at least a 7900gt or 8000 series. I mean potentially the 8600 gt is going to be the new bad a$$ mid range card...
__________________
The cake is a LIE!!!!!

Diablotek Demon IV
700w Tagan Dual Engine
AMD Athlon 64 3800+ x2 @ 2.7ghz under water
Asus A8N32-SLI Delux
EVGA 9800GT STOCK
2gig of A-Data Viesta DDR 1 @ 516 mhz
Http://www.thepeoplesbookstore.com
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 22nd March, 2007, 05:07 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Brighton
Posts: 4,856

Captin, it isn't a 6800 it is a 6600 and I think in this case there is a budget we are talking about. In which case, 7900/8800 series cards are far too expensive. They would add a hell of a lot of money to the price, even the "mid" range versions. And it isn't always neccessary to have a high end video card.
__________________


Quote:
Originally Posted by Wolf2000me
Skinny people are not petite in every aspect of the body, let me tell you that
Quote:
Originally Posted by dsio
I was searching for a synonym for testicles that rhymed with hats


[/FONT]


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 22nd March, 2007, 07:02 PM
MONKEYMAN's Avatar
Member
5 Card Draw Champion, Tomb Digger Champion, Alpha Force Champion, Autobahn Champion, Big Bird Hunting Champion, Mumu Champion, Attack of the Tweety Zombies Champion
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: DORSET, UK
Posts: 2,170

7900 cards always too expensive? mine is less than £100
__________________
AM2 X2 4000
2GB DDR2
NVIDIA 6150 ONBOARD!

Join our F@H team today.. http://www.team45.info/
Are you a subscriber? No? well then, why not....
Subscribe to AOA for a better experience and faster downloads!
How to unlock and overclock your Nvidia 6800
BIOS Volt-mod your 7800gt

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 22nd March, 2007, 09:08 PM
captinhector's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2006
Location: Norman, ok
Posts: 203
Send a message via MSN to captinhector

Expensive?

http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicati...726&CatId=1560

http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicati...745&CatId=1560

New egg: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814130062

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814130056



Nvidia to show off a new mid-range to its GeForce 8 series

I say 8k series because of the bottom end is going to be like $130-$150 and that will get you 16 or 24 shaders, it will just need to be oc'd a little to be the next step up.

I have just been swapping components out over the last 2 years to get to where I'm at now.

I say what I say because I built my pc on a budget <$400, and have gone from there, I bought a $16 gfx card and then saved enough to buy my current 7600gs(which just came back in today from rma) along with things like that.
__________________
The cake is a LIE!!!!!

Diablotek Demon IV
700w Tagan Dual Engine
AMD Athlon 64 3800+ x2 @ 2.7ghz under water
Asus A8N32-SLI Delux
EVGA 9800GT STOCK
2gig of A-Data Viesta DDR 1 @ 516 mhz
Http://www.thepeoplesbookstore.com

Last edited by captinhector; 23rd March, 2007 at 06:30 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 23rd March, 2007, 11:57 AM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Brighton
Posts: 4,856

Jeez. Your interpretation of expensive and somebody elses can be entirely different. Same as your needs and somebody elses. Jumping to the conclusion that a 7900/8000 series card is needed is silly.

$150 is a lot of money for a graphics card for some people - especially if it is not required. The fact they mention a 6600 suggests to me that gaming is not a priority. Therefore spending $150 and getting a 7900GS doesn't make sense - when for normal desktop use a $40 card would do the same job just as well. That means they save themselves $100 odd which they could then spend on something else if need be - a TV card for example - or whatever item more matches their needs.
If gaming is what they want to do, then sure by all means. But my point is you can't just jump to these quick conclusions that everybody wants to play games and needs to spend $150 on the thing that shows their screen....
__________________


Quote:
Originally Posted by Wolf2000me
Skinny people are not petite in every aspect of the body, let me tell you that
Quote:
Originally Posted by dsio
I was searching for a synonym for testicles that rhymed with hats


[/FONT]



Last edited by aghastpumpkin; 23rd March, 2007 at 11:59 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 23rd March, 2007, 05:05 PM
captinhector's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2006
Location: Norman, ok
Posts: 203
Send a message via MSN to captinhector

I just say atleast a 7k series because of vista. Gamer or not, because of the fact that it is a new computer that isn't going to have just a year or two left in life, for vista, you need atleast a nv7k or a ati1k. I have tried to get aero to work on a 6800, and it just won't do it, shader model 2 will not cut it. Personally I don't build a computer that cant run aero, even for $450 you can get a machine that will almost run aero(minus the ram).

Really grouse_3 needs to just tell what he/she will be doing with this machine before we start talking cheep/expensive gfx's....
__________________
The cake is a LIE!!!!!

Diablotek Demon IV
700w Tagan Dual Engine
AMD Athlon 64 3800+ x2 @ 2.7ghz under water
Asus A8N32-SLI Delux
EVGA 9800GT STOCK
2gig of A-Data Viesta DDR 1 @ 516 mhz
Http://www.thepeoplesbookstore.com
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 23rd March, 2007, 07:06 PM
skool h8r's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Rotherham, UK
Posts: 3,157
Send a message via MSN to skool h8r

Quote:
Originally Posted by captinhector
I have tried to get aero to work on a 6800, and it just won't do it, shader model 2 will not cut it.
The 6800 is SM3. If it has FP16 HDR support, then it's SM3.

Personally, if you're not a gamer, the system seems worth it. But if you wanna game, go for a better graphics card. Why spend more than you need to?

Also, it depends whether you are buying the PC, or trying to work out a price for it (e.g. need money for something else). Also, if you're buying, then what do you plan to use the system for?

I bult my current system for about £600, but i bought a lot of the stuff last january when prices were high. Plus there's the whole tax thing here in the UK. I started with a £30 graphics card that did it's job at the time, and then i upgraded components in the order i thought was best (RAM first, from 512Mb to 1Gb), then i added a new graphics card a few months later when i could afford to (from 6200TC to 7600GT). Then just this January, i upgraded my CPU (From 3200+ to X2 4600+). Then last month, i upgraded my RAM again (From 1Gb to 2Gb). In order to upgrade the RAM, i had to sell the 1Gb and buy the 2Gb. It was a matter of getting perfect timing (selling old kit and buying new kit).

So as you can see, most of us started with low-end rigs, and a lot of us have, over time, built that "beige box office PC" into "Power hungry Monster Gaming Rigs". Even i could do it, even though after February last year i was only on £100 a month for my job. I quit in January this year and even now, i'm still reaping the benefits of the money they owed me (by selling that RAM, and saving bit by bit).

So as you can see, even going for a low end PC pays out in the end.
__________________
i7 2600K (4.3Ghz 1.34v) | GTX580 | 16GB (4x4GB) Patriot Viper Sec. 5 Ser. 2 (1866 - 9-11-9-27) | P67A-UD4-B3
Corsair AX1200 | Vertex II 240GB SSD | 4TB RAID0 (Samsung HD204UI) | Logitech G930 Wireless Headset

YouTube - Benchmark Results (Coming Soon!)
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 24th March, 2007, 04:34 AM
Pitch's Avatar
AOA Staff
Asteroids Champion, Maeda Path Champion, Disco Racer Champion, Alpha Bravo Charlie Champion, Van Champion
 
Join Date: February 2004
Location: The cake is a lie.
Posts: 5,025
Send a message via MSN to Pitch

I go through hardware like Guitar Strings.

And they normally end up like the strings too. Snapped and twisted.
__________________


XBL/PNS = neolad
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 24th March, 2007, 05:03 PM
captinhector's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2006
Location: Norman, ok
Posts: 203
Send a message via MSN to captinhector

Quote:
Originally Posted by skool h8r
The 6800 is SM3. If it has FP16 HDR support, then it's SM3.
I just flopped a xfx 7300 I had in there and it just worked..... Just personal experience there.

Did you get it to work with aero? All I was saying was that I couldn't get it to work w/Vista aero.
__________________
The cake is a LIE!!!!!

Diablotek Demon IV
700w Tagan Dual Engine
AMD Athlon 64 3800+ x2 @ 2.7ghz under water
Asus A8N32-SLI Delux
EVGA 9800GT STOCK
2gig of A-Data Viesta DDR 1 @ 516 mhz
Http://www.thepeoplesbookstore.com
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 25th March, 2007, 04:25 AM
Member
 
Join Date: March 2007
Posts: 3

Hey thanx every1 i think i might get it i just didn't want 2 get ripped off because the pc is a factory rebuild, and i wont b using it for much gaming just for party poker for example. I will b mainly using it for downloading and burning.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 25th March, 2007, 10:01 AM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Brighton
Posts: 4,856

Then I would think a 6600GT is sufficient. Though you might experience low FPS during particularly intensive games of Poker.
__________________


Quote:
Originally Posted by Wolf2000me
Skinny people are not petite in every aspect of the body, let me tell you that
Quote:
Originally Posted by dsio
I was searching for a synonym for testicles that rhymed with hats


[/FONT]



Last edited by aghastpumpkin; 25th March, 2007 at 10:01 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 25th March, 2007, 02:37 PM
captinhector's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2006
Location: Norman, ok
Posts: 203
Send a message via MSN to captinhector

Quote:
Originally Posted by grouse_3
Hey thanx every1 i think i might get it i just didn't want 2 get ripped off because the pc is a factory rebuild, and i wont b using it for much gaming just for party poker for example. I will b mainly using it for downloading and burning.

Just make sure it's got a good warranty, the re-builds are meant to last around 1 year..... or at least the few that I have seen have.
__________________
The cake is a LIE!!!!!

Diablotek Demon IV
700w Tagan Dual Engine
AMD Athlon 64 3800+ x2 @ 2.7ghz under water
Asus A8N32-SLI Delux
EVGA 9800GT STOCK
2gig of A-Data Viesta DDR 1 @ 516 mhz
Http://www.thepeoplesbookstore.com
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 1st April, 2007, 02:08 AM
Azriel's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Clifton, Illinois
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via ICQ to Azriel

no, it's in no way even close to worth that price.
__________________
A64 3800+ Dual Core/GF8800GT-512/2gig DDR/10,000 RPM Raptor SATA 36gig HDD, 250gig 1394b/28" LCD
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 1st April, 2007, 02:47 AM
Favu's Avatar
AOA's resident barman
 
Join Date: October 2005
Location: /Wales/Abergavenny
Posts: 4,004
Send a message via ICQ to Favu Send a message via AIM to Favu Send a message via MSN to Favu

Quote:
Originally Posted by aghastpumpkin
Then I would think a 6600GT is sufficient. Though you might experience low FPS during particularly intensive games of Poker.
Meh CS:Source runs at 1600x1200 with mine... all settings low except for 2x AA and 4x AF
__________________
AOA Team fah
 

Custom 8-bit Sharp Z80 @ 4.194304 MHz
Reflective LCD @ 160 × 144
8 kByte S-RAM






Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old 1st April, 2007, 11:40 AM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Brighton
Posts: 4,856

Dude, I was SO being sarcastic! When it came out, the 6600GT was king of the mid-range and was for quite a while. I would call it a classic card.
__________________


Quote:
Originally Posted by Wolf2000me
Skinny people are not petite in every aspect of the body, let me tell you that
Quote:
Originally Posted by dsio
I was searching for a synonym for testicles that rhymed with hats


[/FONT]


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AMD 3800 X2 - Finally gone Dual Core kellamne AMD Motherboards & CPUs 5 11th July, 2007 01:47 AM
AMD Athlon 64 X2 3800+ Dual Core 2GHz Socket AM2 Processor for $68 shipped mookydooky Online Deals, and Steals 0 23rd June, 2007 09:42 AM
SolutionBase: Surveying the dual-core processor landscape Samuknow 64 Bit computing 3 27th April, 2007 12:54 AM
New AM2 3800 Dual Core on go slow... MONKEYMAN AMD Motherboards & CPUs 13 4th January, 2007 01:57 AM
A64 3800+ X2 or Opteron 165 dual core? TrevorS AMD Motherboards & CPUs 22 24th April, 2006 05:05 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:43 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0