AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > AMD Motherboards & CPUs

AMD Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on AMD products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 24th March, 2007, 06:04 AM
dabaerman's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Auburn, WA
Posts: 2,101

New Dual Core

well, it's new to me anyhoo. just joined in with an A64 X2 3800 939, Biostar
GForce 6100 and one stick of ram at the moment(1gig). in the process of
feeling things out.
I am so new to dual core that I am not familiar with the process of involving both cores
and making sure they are both working. in this case they will be folding.
point me to a fac on dual core or take me thru the steps. I'll pay attention.

Ron
__________________
Folding 24/7 with AMD QuadCore CPU's & nVidia Cuda Powered GPU's

AOA Team fah

Last edited by dabaerman; 24th March, 2007 at 06:04 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 18th June, 2007, 01:28 AM
mookydooky's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: Everywhere you want to be.
Posts: 7,903
Send a message via MSN to mookydooky

Both cores are working all the time. Typically though, since most programs are single threaded, they just use one core. The thing is though you'll have a dozen or two processes running at any given moment with about half a dozen using up CPU power. A good OS will divide these up tasks up evenly between the two cores.

The one thing you have to know is that unless you have Win2K or above, the OS won't be able to run multi-core CPUs properly.

If you're folding with the box, make sure you use the SMP beta of the FAH client.

BTW, maxing out both cores will create some serious heat.....
__________________
Need a laugh? Take a peek at
AOA's Mookydooky's "Just for laughs!" Joke Topic


AOA Team fah

我喜欢大屁股, 我不能骗你..... 他们弟兄不能否认......

Last edited by mookydooky; 18th June, 2007 at 01:30 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 18th June, 2007, 02:40 AM
Member
 
Join Date: October 2004
Posts: 568

Quote:
Originally Posted by mookydooky

BTW, maxing out both cores will create some serious heat.....

But that's what it's all about - getting rid of the heat to go muy fast.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 18th June, 2007, 03:58 AM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

I have mine x2 3800 @ 2700. Running FAH with water it only sees about 33C max.

These little things are quite quick with a little over clock.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 18th June, 2007, 04:10 AM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

A little water never goes astray either. With the Kandalf LCS on it, I couldn't get a 3600+ above room temp +3C. Thats where the fun begins
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 18th June, 2007, 04:16 AM
Member
 
Join Date: October 2004
Posts: 568

Actually, I think we all need to get back to what we like to do best, which is: overclocking the snot out of the chips we can get for least $$. Most of those on the CPU side have been AMD.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 18th June, 2007, 12:38 PM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

I love taking a cheap CPU and driving the crap out of it. This is how I started in this. Never really strayed. I HATE paying a lot of money for a CPU. I would rather cheap it and clock it.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 19th June, 2007, 03:38 AM
dabaerman's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Auburn, WA
Posts: 2,101

when you talk about maxing out both cores, 100% on both cores is still 50/50. stock, on air
they both (boxes) get very hot. my plan is to use my 6 water cooling cases after selling off
the single core boards/cpus. I still believe that a fully integrated micro ATX mb is the way to go.
there are very few of those mb's that offer strong oc'ing features and I
must have them!! the other part of the equation is the cpu. with the 2 gig AM2 with 2X1mbcache reasonably priced.
I just have to be careful with my lunch money and I might just make it
happen.

Ron

Ron
__________________
Folding 24/7 with AMD QuadCore CPU's & nVidia Cuda Powered GPU's

AOA Team fah

Last edited by dabaerman; 19th June, 2007 at 03:38 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 19th June, 2007, 03:45 AM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

Quote:
Originally Posted by mookydooky
The one thing you have to know is that unless you have Win2K or above, the OS won't be able to run multi-core CPUs properly.
Err.......unless I am missing something, ANY NT-based OS should be able to handle multi-core just fine. You have to be running XP or above to take advantage of hyper-threading, though. 2k and NT see a hyper-threaded CPU as multiple CPUs and actually run SLOWER than if you configure the BIOS without hyper-threading support.

None of the DOS-based 9x OSen know how to handle multi-core (or multi-cpu) or hyper-threading, though. You get one CPU, period.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 19th June, 2007, 04:34 AM
mookydooky's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: Everywhere you want to be.
Posts: 7,903
Send a message via MSN to mookydooky

Quote:
Originally Posted by gizmo
Err.......unless I am missing something, ANY NT-based OS should be able to handle multi-core just fine.
You're right of course. Maybe some people are running NT 4. Anything before that would have the the Win 3.11 WFW interface I believe, which was a wicked bad interface...
__________________
Need a laugh? Take a peek at
AOA's Mookydooky's "Just for laughs!" Joke Topic


AOA Team fah

我喜欢大屁股, 我不能骗你..... 他们弟兄不能否认......
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
multi-core processor



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Single core to dual core upgrade problem. Daston AMD Motherboards & CPUs 11 19th September, 2006 12:18 AM
AMD FX-60 Dual Core dsio AMD Motherboards & CPUs 51 19th January, 2006 07:25 PM
dual core or dual xeon? acgraham Intel Motherboards & CPUs 4 16th September, 2005 12:37 PM
dual core overclock tbops AMD Motherboards & CPUs 2 19th July, 2005 01:25 AM
Dual core benchmarks GrahamGarside AMD Motherboards & CPUs 1 13th March, 2005 02:35 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:42 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0