AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > AMD Motherboards & CPUs

AMD Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on AMD products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 30th March, 2002, 01:23 PM
Member
 
Join Date: March 2002
Posts: 5

Abit KT7A-RAID w/Athlon 1700+

Abit KT7A-Raid with an Athlon 1700+
Viper V770
256meg Crucial Memory
2 Maxtor 40gig 7200rpm UDMA 100 (using raid striping)


I have upgraded this system to the latest drivers for the bios and the highpoint controller. It still has periodic lock up issues, I haven't ruled out the video card but I'm hoping it isn't the problem because I spent all my money upgrading the system. The information I have found on this in forums and F.A.Q.s all indicate that its really a hit and miss issue, that I just have to keep messing with it till I figure it out. That worries me so if anyone has any suggestions or a definate fix to this problem I would greatly appreciate the help.

Thanks,
oddicy
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 30th March, 2002, 02:22 PM
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Uptown, MN
Posts: 55
Send a message via ICQ to SickBoy Send a message via AIM to SickBoy

The KT7A is generally incompatible with AthlonXP/MP chips. You might want to check the board revision, if it's not 1.3 or newer you're not going to have much of a leg to stand on with any retailer....
__________________
Member #100

Abit KT7A-Raid----TBird 1 GHz@1333------Alpha PAL8045--------1.8v
MSI K7D Master---2x Duron 1.2@1320-----Glaciator II and SK6----1.75V
Asus A7N266-VM-----XP 1800+----SVC GC12----1.75V

"People want to know what I'm on. What am I on?!? I'm on my bike, six hours a day."

-Lance Armstrong, cancer survivor, father, and four-time Tour de France champion
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 31st March, 2002, 12:31 AM
bigjohnson's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2002
Posts: 396

reply

I have an Abit KT7A Raid (revision 1.2). I got a great price for it and have had it maybe a week. I had thought it would be compatable with an XP. I had no idea that a revision would be an issue. Oh well, The board runs fine.
I have done a lot of reading online about the XP issue on early revision boards. It may work. I have seen post in other forums that even earlier boards work.
It seems to be a matter of luck.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 3rd April, 2002, 07:48 PM
Member/OES
 
Join Date: March 2002
Location: London :)
Posts: 8
Send a message via ICQ to [PCE]Overclocka Send a message via AIM to [PCE]Overclocka

If your KT7A is a version older than 1.3 it will run with an XP CPU but its not guaranteed to by Abit, only 1.3 boards or later are officially supported
__________________


E-mail me

Epox 8KHA+ | Athlon XP 1700+ | DD Maze 2-1 | CoolerCore with 2*170mm Comair Rotron fans | Eheim 1250
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 3rd April, 2002, 09:04 PM
Member/OES
 
Join Date: March 2002
Location: London :)
Posts: 8
Send a message via ICQ to [PCE]Overclocka Send a message via AIM to [PCE]Overclocka

Quote:
Originally posted by Betty
[PCE]Overclocka, welcome to our fair forums I really hope you enjoy your stay here.
Just one little thing though. Only Allied Site owners/editors/writers are allowed to have links in their signatures. I would recommend that you remove the image and link from your signature.
Hi, I hope I'll enjoy my stay here too

As for the image, I'm the webmaster of PC-Extreme , recently became an ally a few days ago.
__________________


E-mail me

Epox 8KHA+ | Athlon XP 1700+ | DD Maze 2-1 | CoolerCore with 2*170mm Comair Rotron fans | Eheim 1250
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 6th April, 2002, 03:32 PM
.:N2:.
Guest
 
Posts: n/a

i would suggest contacting Abit with your slip of purchase as proof...

and basically, raise a little hell. :devil:

as the MFR ought be concerned with the satisfaction of their consumers, you have a really, really good chance of getting the latest revision shipped to you for free.

nonetheless, it's RMA'able as it is..
the thing is unstable and locks up.

don't just "Swallow" under-par quality...

stand up and be heard on it!

i have done just this, many a times, and it rarely ever fails.

when you bought their RAID mobo you did so based on a reputation of a company for quality and performance.
you bought it to have a RAID controller you can rely upon.
this is not the case.

ANY company would recognize this, and satisfy you, the customer.

please give this a shot.
it's very worth any time it will take you to contact them.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
pin mod probs on abit kt7a-raid cjmthsmiths AMD Motherboards & CPUs 5 4th January, 2006 03:44 AM
abit kt7a cpu problem Grunt-XL AMD Motherboards & CPUs 1 20th June, 2003 05:42 PM
Abit Kt7a dolanenwindrift AMD Motherboards & CPUs 5 4th April, 2003 04:25 PM
Abit KT7A Raid bigjohnson AMD Motherboards & CPUs 2 20th March, 2002 07:01 PM
XP 1700+ / KT7A Raid ? Southern Man AMD Motherboards & CPUs 19 12th January, 2002 09:33 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:40 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0