AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > AMD Motherboards & CPUs

AMD Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on AMD products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 5th October, 2001, 02:15 PM
Hugo 59's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 118

Palominos locked pencil trick wont work.

Take a look at these pictures. There are laser trences in-between the bridges. Probably have to going to use conductive ink if Amd leaves them like that.
__________________
He who establishes his argument by noise and command shows that his reason is weak.
-Michel de Montaigne

Last edited by Hugo 59; 5th October, 2001 at 07:01 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 5th October, 2001, 02:46 PM
wild_andy_c's Avatar
Pixel Slave to Satan
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Back in the UUUK
Posts: 985

The bridges are buried in the urea formaldehyde !!!! This is easy if you're a dremel master, but for the feint hearted this is a locked chip !!!!

I dug channels in mine and laid solder down into them using a flat ended iron - a very skilled job for a very skilled me !!!!
__________________
Macbook 5,2 | GeForce 9400M | 4GB DDR2 667 | Core 2 Duo P7300 | 2.3TB storage | Vestax Spin
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 5th October, 2001, 03:20 PM
dimmreaper's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: road to insanity
Posts: 5,347
Send a message via ICQ to dimmreaper Send a message via AIM to dimmreaper

I bet with some fine sand paper and a lot of time you could expose the bridges and use a regular old coductive pen to get 'em connected.
__________________
¤ Jeffery ¤

Wishing you were someone else is a waste of the person you are. - Kurt Cobain

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 5th October, 2001, 03:27 PM
wild_andy_c's Avatar
Pixel Slave to Satan
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Back in the UUUK
Posts: 985

Quote:
Originally posted by dimmreaper
I bet with some fine sand paper and a lot of time you could expose the bridges and use a regular old coductive pen to get 'em connected.
You know phenol formaldehyde and melamine formaldehyde - otherwise known as bacolite - that's what this stuff is like but lots harder !!!!

The small cutting wheel on a dremel is ideal to just scrape 5 channels and then flux the holes up and melt 5 blobs of solder in. Once the chip is unlocked, smear epoxy on top to keep the solder in place.

Volia - Athlon XP unlocked. 10 minute job. No frills, no fancy work, no risk. Just straight forward bodging !!!
__________________
Macbook 5,2 | GeForce 9400M | 4GB DDR2 667 | Core 2 Duo P7300 | 2.3TB storage | Vestax Spin
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 5th October, 2001, 03:33 PM
dimmreaper's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: road to insanity
Posts: 5,347
Send a message via ICQ to dimmreaper Send a message via AIM to dimmreaper

Quote:
Originally posted by wild_andy_c


You know phenol formaldehyde and melamine formaldehyde - otherwise known as bacolite - that's what this stuff is like but lots harder !!!!

The small cutting wheel on a dremel is ideal to just scrape 5 channels and then flux the holes up and melt 5 blobs of solder in. Once the chip is unlocked, smear epoxy on top to keep the solder in place.

Volia - Athlon XP unlocked. 10 minute job. No frills, no fancy work, no risk. Just straight forward bodging !!!
But my dremel is too big an powerful. It's a pnumatic die grinder, and it spins a 3 inch fiber wheel at 10,000RPMs. Looks like I'd have to go buy one of those lil' electric dremels, or maybe some dental tools, if I ever get a pally.
__________________
¤ Jeffery ¤

Wishing you were someone else is a waste of the person you are. - Kurt Cobain

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 5th October, 2001, 03:51 PM
AmbientFiction's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Posts: 311

This is going to cause AMD to lose cash the thing they had going for them was the overclockers market but I can see this as a dumb move for AMD.
__________________

AMD XP 1700+ @ 1639mhz (Bad vid card can't hold high FSB)
Epox 8hka+
Aska Silver Mtn 40ºC full load folding 24/7
60gb Seagate 7200rpm
60gb Seagate 7200rpm
GF2MX400 w/ updated bios modded with 23cfm fan and AS2 under the heatsink on the GPU
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 5th October, 2001, 03:56 PM
wild_andy_c's Avatar
Pixel Slave to Satan
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Back in the UUUK
Posts: 985

But since no one else supplies chips that are unlocked and the fact that if done carefully these can be unlocked still has it in the favour of AMD.

Intels are completely unlockable. AMD's are unlockable with just a little more care.

Jeff's tip of sandpaper and pencil also works - I've just done it on the voltage bridges.
__________________
Macbook 5,2 | GeForce 9400M | 4GB DDR2 667 | Core 2 Duo P7300 | 2.3TB storage | Vestax Spin
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 5th October, 2001, 03:59 PM
AmbientFiction's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Posts: 311

Yes but why in the hell are the locking them in the first place. Its BS they had a good product and now their making it better but not allowing you to have the same amount of fun with the same amount of ease
__________________

AMD XP 1700+ @ 1639mhz (Bad vid card can't hold high FSB)
Epox 8hka+
Aska Silver Mtn 40ºC full load folding 24/7
60gb Seagate 7200rpm
60gb Seagate 7200rpm
GF2MX400 w/ updated bios modded with 23cfm fan and AS2 under the heatsink on the GPU
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 5th October, 2001, 04:09 PM
wild_andy_c's Avatar
Pixel Slave to Satan
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Back in the UUUK
Posts: 985

I can understand from my past experience in the Plastics industry the reasons for embedding the tracks under the surface - this allows the mould cavity closure to be more complete - thus creating a better surface finish on the top of the chip.

Whilst covering the tracks this also protects the chips from the problems experienced by many people before - many people had silicon or AS on top of the chips crossing bridges causing damage - that effect is now eleviated. Hence this is a good move from AMD - the pitfalls of designing a chip based on a thermoset are the advantages to the average end user who gets a little messy with thermal compounds.

Although this is not the ideal situation for the overclocker, you have to realise that we are the minority and the general silicon spreading bridge shorting public are the majority.

It isn't very often that I express myself in so many words, however it is at this point on this Friday afternoon that I can announce that someone has gotten my back up.
__________________
Macbook 5,2 | GeForce 9400M | 4GB DDR2 667 | Core 2 Duo P7300 | 2.3TB storage | Vestax Spin
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 5th October, 2001, 04:16 PM
Hugo 59's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 118

Hay Andy I agree with you that we as overclockers are not amd's first concern and see where they are coming from.

By the way how much sanding did you have to do to expose the bridges?
__________________
He who establishes his argument by noise and command shows that his reason is weak.
-Michel de Montaigne

Last edited by Hugo 59; 5th October, 2001 at 04:36 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 5th October, 2001, 04:34 PM
dimmreaper's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: road to insanity
Posts: 5,347
Send a message via ICQ to dimmreaper Send a message via AIM to dimmreaper

Quote:
Originally posted by wild_andy_c
Jeff's tip of sandpaper and pencil also works - I've just done it on the voltage bridges.
In the words of Boris, The russian computer hacker from that one 007 movie(you know the one, too bad I forgot), "Yes! I am invincible!"
__________________
¤ Jeffery ¤

Wishing you were someone else is a waste of the person you are. - Kurt Cobain

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 5th October, 2001, 04:50 PM
wild_andy_c's Avatar
Pixel Slave to Satan
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Back in the UUUK
Posts: 985

Quote:
Originally posted by Hugo 59
Hay Andy I agree with you that we as overclockers are not amd's first concern and see where they are coming from.

By the way how much sanding did you have to do to expose the bridges?
Enough to make my fingers sore !!! And enough to scare most !!!
__________________
Macbook 5,2 | GeForce 9400M | 4GB DDR2 667 | Core 2 Duo P7300 | 2.3TB storage | Vestax Spin
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 5th October, 2001, 05:10 PM
Wa11y's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Right behind you.
Posts: 1,358

Quote:
Originally posted by wild_andy_c


Enough to make my fingers sore !!! And enough to scare most !!!
The price you pay for OC. But it's easier with the dremel, right?

And what got you so excited, Andy? Do your fingers hurt from all that typing, too?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 5th October, 2001, 05:42 PM
dimmreaper's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: road to insanity
Posts: 5,347
Send a message via ICQ to dimmreaper Send a message via AIM to dimmreaper

Just wondering Andy, but do you and Hugo visit the same barber by chance?
__________________
¤ Jeffery ¤

Wishing you were someone else is a waste of the person you are. - Kurt Cobain

AOA Team fah

Last edited by dimmreaper; 5th October, 2001 at 08:41 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 5th October, 2001, 06:39 PM
Random Nonsense's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: USS Great Britain, aircraft carrier, moored off the northwest coast of Europe
Posts: 3,340
Send a message via ICQ to Random Nonsense Send a message via Yahoo to Random Nonsense

hey guys, how deep into the thing are the bridges? as if i get one i dont wanna accidently grind em away entirely! also is the surface of the Chip like an intel one now? if you get a bit messy with thermal compound it wipes off easy? or still like the old ceramic AMD ones.... nasty stains etc
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 5th October, 2001, 11:49 PM
AmbientFiction's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Posts: 311

Quote:
Originally posted by wild_andy_c
I can understand from my past experience in the Plastics industry the reasons for embedding the tracks under the surface - this allows the mould cavity closure to be more complete - thus creating a better surface finish on the top of the chip.

Whilst covering the tracks this also protects the chips from the problems experienced by many people before - many people had silicon or AS on top of the chips crossing bridges causing damage - that effect is now eleviated. Hence this is a good move from AMD - the pitfalls of designing a chip based on a thermoset are the advantages to the average end user who gets a little messy with thermal compounds.

Although this is not the ideal situation for the overclocker, you have to realise that we are the minority and the general silicon spreading bridge shorting public are the majority.

It isn't very often that I express myself in so many words, however it is at this point on this Friday afternoon that I can announce that someone has gotten my back up.
I see where your coming from andy and I am sorry if I am the one that made you mad. Thank you for the lesson in the new CPU
__________________

AMD XP 1700+ @ 1639mhz (Bad vid card can't hold high FSB)
Epox 8hka+
Aska Silver Mtn 40ºC full load folding 24/7
60gb Seagate 7200rpm
60gb Seagate 7200rpm
GF2MX400 w/ updated bios modded with 23cfm fan and AS2 under the heatsink on the GPU
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 6th October, 2001, 03:28 AM
Phil's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Bolton, UK
Posts: 1,338
Send a message via ICQ to Phil

The reason amd locked them in the first place was so novice users wouldn't fry their chips or overclock them unstabally and have problems whilest still keeping the market open to the more advanced user.
And I think the reason they have embedded them is so that you can't unlock them without voiding the warranty, as I wonder how many people messed up with their cpu's and simply used a rubber to get rid of the pencil marks, the way they've done it now you can still unlock them but you can hardly just undo what you've done in the event something goes wrong.
__________________
"Let's Blow This Facist Popsicle Stand!"



Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 6th October, 2001, 03:42 AM
AmbientFiction's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Posts: 311

The palindrome for Bolton is Notlob
__________________

AMD XP 1700+ @ 1639mhz (Bad vid card can't hold high FSB)
Epox 8hka+
Aska Silver Mtn 40ºC full load folding 24/7
60gb Seagate 7200rpm
60gb Seagate 7200rpm
GF2MX400 w/ updated bios modded with 23cfm fan and AS2 under the heatsink on the GPU
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 6th October, 2001, 03:45 AM
Phil's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Bolton, UK
Posts: 1,338
Send a message via ICQ to Phil

Quote:
Originally posted by AmbientFiction
The palindrome for Bolton is Notlob
I can't argue with that, any reason for it though?????
__________________
"Let's Blow This Facist Popsicle Stand!"



Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old 6th October, 2001, 03:52 AM
AmbientFiction's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Posts: 311

Old Monty Python skit you know the one with the dead parrot
__________________

AMD XP 1700+ @ 1639mhz (Bad vid card can't hold high FSB)
Epox 8hka+
Aska Silver Mtn 40ºC full load folding 24/7
60gb Seagate 7200rpm
60gb Seagate 7200rpm
GF2MX400 w/ updated bios modded with 23cfm fan and AS2 under the heatsink on the GPU
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Any trick to getting Prime 95 to put both cores to work on my 165? Nate-X General Hardware Discussion 7 1st June, 2006 03:43 PM
Ram Wont Work ferret40 Random Nonsense! 6 12th March, 2006 12:54 AM
Does the "Wire Trick" work on Palominos? Liquid3D AMD Motherboards & CPUs 5 3rd March, 2003 07:03 PM
pencil trick?? robbie AMD Motherboards & CPUs 17 26th December, 2001 01:26 AM
what is this pencil trick silent bob AMD Motherboards & CPUs 19 22nd October, 2001 03:27 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:47 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0