AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > AMD Motherboards & CPUs

AMD Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on AMD products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 24th September, 2007, 10:57 PM
booman's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2005
Location: Mesa AZ
Posts: 4,030

$627 new build

What do ya guys think of this setup?

DFI INFINITY NF ULTRAII-M2 AM2 NVIDIA nForce4 Ultra ATX AMD Motherboard - Retail
$69.99

AMD Athlon 64 X2 4400+ Brisbane 2.3GHz Socket AM2 Processor Model ADO4400DDBOX - Retail
$84.99

EVGA 256-P2-N615-TX GeForce 7600GT 256MB 128-bit GDDR3 PCI Express x16 SLI Supported Video Card - Retail
$89.99

CORSAIR ValueSelect 1GB (2 x 512MB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 533 (PC2 4200) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory Model VS1GBKIT533D2
$34.99

COOLER MASTER eXtreme RP-500-PCAR ATX from factor 12V V2.01 500W Power Supply - Retail
$49.99

Western Digital Caviar SE WD1600AAJS 160GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive - OEM
$49.99

Microsoft CA9-00001 Black PS/2 Standard Basic Keyboard and Mouse Mouse Included - OEM
$16.99

Sony NEC Optiarc Black IDE DVD-ROM Drive Model DDU1615/B2s - OEM
$17.99

Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition with SP2 - Retail
$194.99

And a Rosewill case $17.99
__________________
Booman
Mint 17.3 64-bit
Wine 2.0
PlayOnLinux 4.2.10
Linux Guides: PC Games Linux Beginners Tips Linux Games List
Mack Truck Dungeon Of Fire Spray Booth Tutorial
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 24th September, 2007, 11:01 PM
booman's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2005
Location: Mesa AZ
Posts: 4,030

$825 new build

Here is my $825 build also if the customer wants something more upgradable...

ASUS M2A-MVP AM2 AMD 480X CrossFire ATX AMD Motherboard - Retail
$83.99

AMD Athlon 64 X2 5000+ Brisbane 2.6GHz Socket AM2 Processor Model ADO5000DDBOX - Retail
$119.00

SAPPHIRE 100176L Radeon X1950PRO 256MB 256-bit GDDR3 PCI Express x16 HDCP Ready CrossFire Supported Video Card - Retail
$134.99

CORSAIR ValueSelect 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 667 (PC2 5300) Desktop Memory Model VS2GBKIT667D2 - Retail
$73.99

ENERMAX Noisetaker II EG495P-VE ATX12V 485W Power Supply - Retail
$89.99

Western Digital Caviar RE WD2500YS 250GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive - OEM
$74.99

Microsoft Comfort Curve 2000 B2L-00047 Black USB Ergonomics Keyboard Mouse Included - OEM
$21.99

LITE-ON 20X DVD±R DVD Burner With 12X DVD-RAM Write Black SATA Model LH-20A1S OEM BK - OEM
$31.99

Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition with SP2 - Retail
$194.99

And the same Roswill Case $17.99
__________________
Booman
Mint 17.3 64-bit
Wine 2.0
PlayOnLinux 4.2.10
Linux Guides: PC Games Linux Beginners Tips Linux Games List
Mack Truck Dungeon Of Fire Spray Booth Tutorial
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 24th September, 2007, 11:02 PM
Member
 
Join Date: April 2005
Location: AZ
Posts: 2,446

Replace that XP Home with an OEM version and cut $100 off the total for the same software.. Do a little shopping around on the memory too. Seems a little high for 667 value ram. 800 decent ram will cost around the same.

Edit: Sorry thought this was for you..
__________________
Biostar TForce X58 - Core i7 920 - 12GB Corsair Dominator DDR3 - EVGA 560ti - PCP&C 750W - Dual boot, Arch Linux/WinXP

Last edited by ccperf721p; 24th September, 2007 at 11:05 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 24th September, 2007, 11:54 PM
booman's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2005
Location: Mesa AZ
Posts: 4,030

I would buy the OEM's but I'm not a Registered OEM distributer yet. So I'll have to do it the legal way. I would use Linux but these are gaming machines and we all know Linux has a way to go for compatability.
I may look into the RAM. I can't find Dual DDR2 667 on newegg. They have two stick but not dual. The only one I found was the DDR2 533 as Dual. So which is faster?

I did find some Crucial Dual DDR2 667 but I'm a huge fan of Corsair so I'm sticking with it.
__________________
Booman
Mint 17.3 64-bit
Wine 2.0
PlayOnLinux 4.2.10
Linux Guides: PC Games Linux Beginners Tips Linux Games List
Mack Truck Dungeon Of Fire Spray Booth Tutorial

Last edited by booman; 24th September, 2007 at 11:58 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 25th September, 2007, 01:36 AM
noob's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: June 2005
Location: Auckland NZ
Posts: 1,639

If you can find 2 seperate sticks of RAM for cheaper, why not get it.

All they do, is get 2 of the same batch, put them in a flash(er) looking 5c box, stick the name dual on it, and charge you extra.
__________________
AOA Team fah

Corsair AX650
Asus P8H77-M PRO
i7 3770 (non K series)
- Noctua NH-L12 Low Profile CPU Cooler
2x8GB G.Skill Ripjaws X
Sapphire 7970
2 x SanDisk Extreme 120GB RAID 0
Western Digital Green 3TB
Asus Xonar Essence STX
TP Link TL-WN881ND
Fractal Design Arc Mini
- 2x Noctua NF-P12 120mm, 2x Noctua NF-P14 FLX 140mm, NZXT Sentry 2 LCD Fan Controller
Asus ML249H

Last edited by noob; 25th September, 2007 at 01:36 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 25th September, 2007, 02:23 AM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

Quote:
Originally Posted by ccperf721p View Post
Replace that XP Home with an OEM version and cut $100 off the total for the same software.. Do a little shopping around on the memory too. Seems a little high for 667 value ram. 800 decent ram will cost around the same.

Edit: Sorry thought this was for you..
Eep. XP Pro OEM or Retail is available for $149.95 locally. Without a HDD or m'board. $99 for XP Home.
__________________
When the world will be better.

Last edited by cloasters; 25th September, 2007 at 02:24 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 25th September, 2007, 01:01 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

Matched RAM generally means that the two sticks will come with the same timing, and that the manufacturer will bother to help you if they don't work correctly in dual channel mode. Having the same capacity/timing on the two sticks of memory is important.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 25th September, 2007, 01:04 PM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

Is that the same case you used for your dungeon mod?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 25th September, 2007, 03:37 PM
booman's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2005
Location: Mesa AZ
Posts: 4,030

So is Dual RAM faster than two regular sticks or not?
I've read several times that Dual is faster, probably because of the same timing.

That DFI board on newegg.com has a lot of negative reviews because of the BIOS, has anyone had problems with DFI bios?

Quote:
Is that the same case you used for your dungeon mod?
Are you referring to the Rosewill? nope, I bought a super cheap $14 case from Geeks.com the same one that weldzilla bought twice.
__________________
Booman
Mint 17.3 64-bit
Wine 2.0
PlayOnLinux 4.2.10
Linux Guides: PC Games Linux Beginners Tips Linux Games List
Mack Truck Dungeon Of Fire Spray Booth Tutorial
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 25th September, 2007, 04:09 PM
Member
 
Join Date: April 2005
Location: AZ
Posts: 2,446

You will be running your two regular sticks in dual channel. When a manufacturer calls it dual channel they are just stating compatibility between the two modules. Usually will find that dual channel packages are still cheaper than buying them seperate anyway.

I have been a DFI fan for a long time, until recently, but would never use one in a customer build that I would have to answer for.

I prefer Asus or Foxconn for builds I am going to sell..
__________________
Biostar TForce X58 - Core i7 920 - 12GB Corsair Dominator DDR3 - EVGA 560ti - PCP&C 750W - Dual boot, Arch Linux/WinXP
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 25th September, 2007, 05:14 PM
booman's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2005
Location: Mesa AZ
Posts: 4,030

So if I buy two sticks of RAM that came together in the same package then I can run them in motherboard slots as Dual? If they have the same timing though...
I'll us CPUZ to see if mine have the same timing.

What hapened with DFI that you are not so fond of them anymore?

I've only purchased one Asus board and its my current build. I spent a lot of money for 3 PCI-E slots, 2-GB networking ports, audio card, and it works great. I don't even overclock.
__________________
Booman
Mint 17.3 64-bit
Wine 2.0
PlayOnLinux 4.2.10
Linux Guides: PC Games Linux Beginners Tips Linux Games List
Mack Truck Dungeon Of Fire Spray Booth Tutorial
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 25th September, 2007, 05:17 PM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

DFI is great. They have the tendency to have bios issues. My NF2 board had to be sent back twice to have the bios flashed after it randomly died. My current one, who knows. I will be switching over to Asus. I have used them for a long time in builds as well as Biostar. Never a problem with either.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 25th September, 2007, 05:26 PM
booman's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2005
Location: Mesa AZ
Posts: 4,030

Why do you have to send the board back to get the bios flashed?
Don't they have a flash utility that you can download and flash it yourself?
__________________
Booman
Mint 17.3 64-bit
Wine 2.0
PlayOnLinux 4.2.10
Linux Guides: PC Games Linux Beginners Tips Linux Games List
Mack Truck Dungeon Of Fire Spray Booth Tutorial
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 25th September, 2007, 06:01 PM
Member
 
Join Date: April 2005
Location: AZ
Posts: 2,446

DFI NF2's had a tendency to corrupt the bios if pushed too far and sometimes for no reason at all.. It would leave the board in a non-boot situation. Options were send it back, get a new bios chip or hot-flash.. I got used to hot-flashing..
__________________
Biostar TForce X58 - Core i7 920 - 12GB Corsair Dominator DDR3 - EVGA 560ti - PCP&C 750W - Dual boot, Arch Linux/WinXP
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 27th September, 2007, 09:34 AM
funnyperson1's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2002
Location: Blacksburg, VA aka Vtech
Posts: 592
Send a message via AIM to funnyperson1

That Ultra MII is a decent board for ocing non Brisbanes, but imho I would go for another board if you just want a stable system for a customer. My friend built a system around it (with my advice), and the NB fan was out in a matter of 2 months and we replaced it with a Zalman passive cooler (but then we needed to get a front fan for his case to keep temps below 50C).

I would suggest the Biostar 690G, it has low power consumption, good performance, and all solid caps.

There are a bunch of good Nforce500 series boards from Biostar and Gigabyte for around $80 and these oc like crazy.

The Asus M2A-VM is a nice system builders board but not much of an ocer.
__________________
Biostar TForce550
A64 X2 3600+ (65nm)@2.9 (1.4V)
TR Ultra 90
2GB Crucial Ballistix 6400@ DDR2 1000 C5
Geforce 7900GS
2x160gig hdd with WinXP, Vista, and Ubuntu
member of FOLDING@HOME team 32
Latitude D620 with XP, Ubuntu Gutsy Gibbon
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 28th September, 2007, 12:07 AM
booman's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2005
Location: Mesa AZ
Posts: 4,030

I'm not going to overclock at all.
I looked at the Biostar 690G on new egg and they are both micro ATX.
I need a full ATX for more expansion.
I'll do some more research and see what I find. I've never used a Gigabyte or Biostar board yet...
__________________
Booman
Mint 17.3 64-bit
Wine 2.0
PlayOnLinux 4.2.10
Linux Guides: PC Games Linux Beginners Tips Linux Games List
Mack Truck Dungeon Of Fire Spray Booth Tutorial
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 28th September, 2007, 12:10 AM
booman's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2005
Location: Mesa AZ
Posts: 4,030

How about this Biostar? I like what its got and its even a few dollars cheaper.

Biostar
__________________
Booman
Mint 17.3 64-bit
Wine 2.0
PlayOnLinux 4.2.10
Linux Guides: PC Games Linux Beginners Tips Linux Games List
Mack Truck Dungeon Of Fire Spray Booth Tutorial
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 28th September, 2007, 01:37 AM
noob's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: June 2005
Location: Auckland NZ
Posts: 1,639

If you asked me 3 months ago I would say for non -> light overclocking gigabyte is rock stable, and some of their boards have dual bios chips, and mine came with dual Gb LAN.

But lets see - mine hangs on boot if there is an iPod attached (minus the shuffle), its fussy about all RAM slots being filled if the timings don't match exactly (wont use the loosest / slowest timings) - and I had to manually select options that should've been selected automatically when they were identical, the DPS card is annoying, and the SATA II chip can cause problems. You need to turn off raid in bios as its automatically selected, meaning you are unable to load an OS normally.

The newer ones or ones with less features may have less problems.

I know a couple of people who have used Biostar for years, and refuse to use anything else - never had a problem, or even had to RMA a board. That one does look quite good as well.
__________________
AOA Team fah

Corsair AX650
Asus P8H77-M PRO
i7 3770 (non K series)
- Noctua NH-L12 Low Profile CPU Cooler
2x8GB G.Skill Ripjaws X
Sapphire 7970
2 x SanDisk Extreme 120GB RAID 0
Western Digital Green 3TB
Asus Xonar Essence STX
TP Link TL-WN881ND
Fractal Design Arc Mini
- 2x Noctua NF-P12 120mm, 2x Noctua NF-P14 FLX 140mm, NZXT Sentry 2 LCD Fan Controller
Asus ML249H
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 28th September, 2007, 09:01 AM
funnyperson1's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2002
Location: Blacksburg, VA aka Vtech
Posts: 592
Send a message via AIM to funnyperson1

Quote:
Originally Posted by booman View Post
How about this Biostar? I like what its got and its even a few dollars cheaper.

Biostar
For the most part the TForce series have been excellent boards. I haven't heard much about the 520, but I believe the layout is pretty much identical to the 560+ which has been getting rave reviews from people over at XS, I believe the only difference is that the chipset on the 520 probably has some features disable over the 560+.

The TF570SLI is also a great choice considering its $68 after rebate on newegg. The people who have it seem to love it.

I've heard mostly good things about the Gigabyte 690 S3H board which is full ATX with the 690g chipset.
__________________
Biostar TForce550
A64 X2 3600+ (65nm)@2.9 (1.4V)
TR Ultra 90
2GB Crucial Ballistix 6400@ DDR2 1000 C5
Geforce 7900GS
2x160gig hdd with WinXP, Vista, and Ubuntu
member of FOLDING@HOME team 32
Latitude D620 with XP, Ubuntu Gutsy Gibbon
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old 28th September, 2007, 03:38 PM
booman's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2005
Location: Mesa AZ
Posts: 4,030

I looked up the Gigabyte S3H and it looks good.
Gigabyte S3H
You can see why I want the DFI though, its cheaper and has SLI. But for a budget rig expandability isn't as much of a concern. I'd rather have a decent reliable board instead.
I think I'm going to go with the Biostar
__________________
Booman
Mint 17.3 64-bit
Wine 2.0
PlayOnLinux 4.2.10
Linux Guides: PC Games Linux Beginners Tips Linux Games List
Mack Truck Dungeon Of Fire Spray Booth Tutorial
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Build Exile69 General Hardware Discussion 9 24th January, 2007 11:02 PM
help with new build! JackAshley CRASHED! 6 4th October, 2006 02:32 AM
New PC Build calhoun General Hardware Discussion 10 31st December, 2005 12:18 PM
New build for my pop cadaveca Case Modifications 6 2nd November, 2005 07:23 PM
How should I set up my next build? Nate-X General Hardware Discussion 0 9th December, 2003 04:47 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:38 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0