AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > AMD Motherboards & CPUs

AMD Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on AMD products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 6th April, 2002, 03:23 PM
.:N2:.
Guest
 
Posts: n/a

how many XP chips dead so far from unlocking?

seems to be a dangerous task to unlock these...

so i wonder, how many XP's have been eaten by the gods?

post your sacrifices here!
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 6th April, 2002, 03:31 PM
Random Nonsense's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: USS Great Britain, aircraft carrier, moored off the northwest coast of Europe
Posts: 3,340
Send a message via ICQ to Random Nonsense Send a message via Yahoo to Random Nonsense

None here, though me and spode came close..... accidently joined two of the bridges so scratched off the ink in between, and discovered that its not a clever ting to do!!! wore through to a copper underlay!!!! the chip still works, but cant be unlocked now
__________________
Dual XP1600+ AGOIA "Y" @ 1875mhz WATERCOOLED 33C LOAD

Undergoing overhaul. Hard Locking to 13.5X multiplier for theoretical clockrate of 1944mhz 144mhz FSB

1X Duron 1.3 AHCLA "9" @ 1430mhz

1X Celeron 1000mhz

1X Pentium3 450 DECEASED

Folding Under AOA-UK for team 45!



"Mothers should love their babies, because then they grow up, everyone might hate them."
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 6th April, 2002, 03:33 PM
dimmreaper's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: road to insanity
Posts: 5,347
Send a message via ICQ to dimmreaper Send a message via AIM to dimmreaper

Why can't you cover up the underlay with epoxy or something?
__________________
¤ Jeffery ¤

Wishing you were someone else is a waste of the person you are. - Kurt Cobain

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 6th April, 2002, 03:34 PM
.:N2:.
Guest
 
Posts: n/a

w0w!

thin stuff huh!
of all the comments i have read so far, i had'nt noticed this issue.

i'll be keeping that in mind, thanks m8!


could you please possibly post a pic of this?
i'd really like to see where you mean.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 6th April, 2002, 04:22 PM
Random Nonsense's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: USS Great Britain, aircraft carrier, moored off the northwest coast of Europe
Posts: 3,340
Send a message via ICQ to Random Nonsense Send a message via Yahoo to Random Nonsense

jeff, i could attempt it i guess,

.:n2:. the scratch is thinner than a human hair, so extremely hard to see with the naked eye let alone my cheapo digital camera

its between the contacts, i accidently let teh conuctive ink pool togeather you see on a pair of bridges, so rahter than take the isopropaol to it, then have to re do the lot, we decided to scratch away the ink witha needle, just pushed a little to hard, and i noticed a shiny copper coloured scratch. so we cleaned it all off with isopropanol, then sealed em up with superglue and prayed it worked and it did
__________________
Dual XP1600+ AGOIA "Y" @ 1875mhz WATERCOOLED 33C LOAD

Undergoing overhaul. Hard Locking to 13.5X multiplier for theoretical clockrate of 1944mhz 144mhz FSB

1X Duron 1.3 AHCLA "9" @ 1430mhz

1X Celeron 1000mhz

1X Pentium3 450 DECEASED

Folding Under AOA-UK for team 45!



"Mothers should love their babies, because then they grow up, everyone might hate them."
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 6th April, 2002, 06:46 PM
surlyjoe's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: caliland
Posts: 2,723

I almost killed one, wouldnt boot at anything but 6.5 , after spending a couple hours cleanin out the pits real well, it finally came back
__________________
"Many people die at twenty five and aren't buried until they are seventy five"
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 6th April, 2002, 07:09 PM
demonX's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2002
Posts: 229

Whats with amd and locking the chips anyways?
I rember them saying they wouldnt do anything to stop "enuthsist", but it sure seems that way now.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 6th April, 2002, 11:41 PM
Holst's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Leics UK
Posts: 4,528

Mine unlocked fine using the super glue conductive paint method.

Quite a few of the "experimental" first attempts ended in disaster but if you use the method I did and check it carefully before you run it you should have a high sucsess rate.

Id say that voltmodding your motherboard is more dangerous.
__________________
No longer Epox Tech.

Best of luck in the future all my friends.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 7th April, 2002, 01:10 AM
mrpcman's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Anchorage, AK
Posts: 2,689
Send a message via AIM to mrpcman

Quote:
Originally posted by demonX
Whats with amd and locking the chips anyways?
I rember them saying they wouldnt do anything to stop "enuthsist", but it sure seems that way now.
but theyhaven't made it impossible like intel did.
__________________
Alex Worthen
Director Of Web Design for the Allied Sites Support Team
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 7th April, 2002, 01:41 AM
.:N2:.
Guest
 
Posts: n/a

well the pics of the clawhammer show a slab of something up top, so it sure looks like they're heading the Intel route.

i'll probly always buy AMD regardless, at least from a value standpoint....

but when Intel is same price or cheaper, i'd have to rethink.

i don't see Intel stuff in my future anytime to soon, despite the "Slabbing" or "Capping" of CPU's from AMD.

hopefully we can just "Pop the cap" and be done with it like the olden days
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 7th April, 2002, 01:50 AM
Lionfish's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: So Cal, near Robbie
Posts: 2,767

My unlocked XP is OK.

I just made sure I taped off everything, then retaped as I went along with the Rear window deffoger kit, waited for the material to dry then tape off the next are around the bridge, worked like a charm, did the Duronn 800 & the XP1600+ them amd both are fine.
__________________
Ep0x 8K3A, XP1700+ T-bred JIUHB-(310)XPMW,DLT3C,189x12.5=2.36
1 gig mb PC 3200 Corsair .
Swiftech H20 setup with MCW372 block.
eVGA 6800 GT.
350 w Sparkle PS.

XFIRE= rottys
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 7th April, 2002, 01:57 AM
demonX's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2002
Posts: 229

Quote:
Originally posted by mrpcman


but theyhaven't made it impossible like intel did.
Have you seen how hard it is to unlock a XP 2100+?

http://www.pcstats.com/articleview.cfm?articleID=1009
__________________

Last edited by Daniel ~; 7th April, 2002 at 06:08 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 7th April, 2002, 03:46 AM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: Northern California
Posts: 37

i have been having a hard time unlocking mine too...(xp2000).....and like others ,..i ran into trouble and didnt get a good "unlock" and had to erase the conductive stuff and filler.....after a few times of rubbing with the wrong material you expose the copper underside......it is conductive!!....and now, like someone else said its way harder to unlock without touching these exposed parts....i think now i will try to fill the pits and dots with a crayon ...wax....then with just the pits and dots covered ...put on your nail polish...what ever you use to insulate....then i will try to get the dots cleaned out and then start the unlocking proscess AGAIN....this should work ....dont you think????
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 7th April, 2002, 05:09 PM
.:N2:.
Guest
 
Posts: n/a

the more i dwell on it, the less and less i think i even want to attempt it.

i'll mess with the durons i got.

the XP is twice as fast as what i have now, and so.. FSB will do me fine.

scary these XP chips are, really. i ain't got money to risk like that.


this upgrade is like the best thing thats happened for me in a long time LOL i dont wanna kill it.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 7th April, 2002, 05:38 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: Northern California
Posts: 37

after messing with my chip so much.......i do think now that if i didnt scrap off the surface and expose the copper underside...it would be easy ....yes easy to unlock if you just go at it with a good mag. glass.....and common sence........dont get midevil with it....take your time and you should have no trouble....if you dont get it right you wont ruin the chip ,..you just wont get all the mulitipliers....try again!!
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
All AMD R6xx chips are 65 nanometre chips, now Gizmo Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 12 20th March, 2007 04:10 AM
BIOS chips in the UK EPoX Tech EPoX MotherBoards 1 26th September, 2005 10:07 PM
Look out for stolen AMD chips! danrok AMD Motherboards & CPUs 28 22nd January, 2005 09:44 PM
How do i see if it is winbond chips or not ? Oblic AMD Motherboards & CPUs 1 8th January, 2003 01:23 AM
P4 Chips Muta Intel Motherboards & CPUs 6 15th January, 2002 11:06 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:02 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0