AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > AMD Motherboards & CPUs

AMD Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on AMD products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 6th April, 2002, 07:10 PM
demonX's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2002
Posts: 229

How much longer

For the throghbred processors?
I can't take it anymore, I want to do an upgrade to my mobo and cpu and have been waiting on these guys
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 6th April, 2002, 07:33 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: September 2001
Posts: 5,957

Summer
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 6th April, 2002, 07:51 PM
dimmreaper's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: road to insanity
Posts: 5,347
Send a message via ICQ to dimmreaper Send a message via AIM to dimmreaper

Technically, they are being manufactured right now . . .

It's just that manufacturing capacity on the .13u process isn't sufficient to meet demand yet. They will be announced soon, but when they will be widely available is the question we need to be asking . . .

AMD roadmaps say they will be widely available in Q2. We are only 6 days in to Q2, so be patient. They will be widely available before we see July . . .

Given the fact that Intel just undisputedly took the performance lead, I'm sure dem AMD boys in charge of lithography have a nice big fire lit under there collective azz . . .

I'm sure Jerry and Hector have there whips out and are workin' dem boys like dogs . . .

For the overclocker, don't expect miracles from the thoroughbred cores. AMD is moving to .13u more for economic purposes than anything else. Sure they will get a few more speed steps out of the Athlon, but you have to remember that the current XPs are already made on a .18/.13u hybrid process, so AMD already milked most of the speed they could out of the core. It's pretty safe to speculate that AMD is going to have to put some .09u or .06u parts in the .13u core to get much beyond 2GHz(2400+) . . .
__________________
¤ Jeffery ¤

Wishing you were someone else is a waste of the person you are. - Kurt Cobain

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 6th April, 2002, 09:34 PM
demonX's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2002
Posts: 229

Alright thanks for the info
I was thinking that I would just wait mainly because the temps on the breds would be lower, I heard, and also because I did not want to buy a new mobo then they come out and can't fit
But at this rate I might just pick up a Soyo Dragon Plus and a XP proceesor. Actually it might be better for me to wait for the Soyo with the 333 chipset, anyone have any news on this?
__________________

Last edited by demonX; 8th April, 2002 at 08:24 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 8th April, 2002, 07:39 AM
demonX's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2002
Posts: 229

Anyone know if tht t-breds will fit inside current mobos? I want a mobo where I can adjust the pci,agp,memory fsb setting seprate from the cpu fsb setting, anyone know of a mobo that allows this?
Im leaning towards the soyo dragon+ all those options *drools*
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ICANN, can't much longer. EU tries to assert herself... Daniel ~ Data Security 2 3rd October, 2006 01:23 AM
No longer able to backup dvds.. Nate-X General Hardware Discussion 12 28th February, 2005 02:41 AM
Socket A to no longer continue? cadaveca AMD Motherboards & CPUs 8 12th October, 2004 08:57 AM
Will I live longer? mookydooky Mookydooky's Just for laughs! 0 21st September, 2002 04:01 AM
My PC no longer shuts down Pinky OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS 6 24th September, 2001 08:26 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:31 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0