AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > AMD Motherboards & CPUs

AMD Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on AMD products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #21 (permalink)  
Old 3rd December, 2007, 09:39 PM
Wolf2000me's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: Belgium
Posts: 1,238

Regardless. An XP chip really doesn't like high temps even at stock speed. An aftermarket cooling solution will help you. Choose one that is designed for the XP generation or up. A Zalman CNPS7000 CU or AlCu are very cheap and really do the trick.
Having such a high idle temp on the cpu is probably the one and only reason for the instability. My XP-M becomes unstable at little over 50°C, but it's overclocked. I'm pretty certain that an idle temp over 60°C will make it trip up as well.
__________________
Asus Maximus Formula (X38)
Intel Q6600 3720Mhz
TT Mozart Tx
2x WD Raptors 74gb R0
2x Maxtor 300gb
Asus Geforce EN8800GT
Windoors XP Pro sp2

Download here OcBible 1.55 & Guidemania v1.21
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old 4th December, 2007, 04:03 AM
Member
 
Join Date: April 2005
Location: Wesley Chapel, FL
Posts: 315
Send a message via AIM to djXternal Send a message via MSN to djXternal Send a message via Yahoo to djXternal

the temp in my house is around 74F

The issue with finding an aftermarket cooler, is many are made for boards with mounting holes, I have to use a clip for my cooler
__________________
AOA Team fah

Last edited by djXternal; 4th December, 2007 at 04:04 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old 4th December, 2007, 02:43 PM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

Cooler
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old 4th December, 2007, 07:21 PM
Wolf2000me's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: Belgium
Posts: 1,238

Thermalright SLK-900A Copper Heatsink Review - FrostyTech.com

Thermalright SLK-900 series has mounting clips. I have one lying around here. You'd be welcome to get it for free but the US is a bit far. It has to be available somewhere and otherwise somewhere findable on the 2nd hand market.
__________________
Asus Maximus Formula (X38)
Intel Q6600 3720Mhz
TT Mozart Tx
2x WD Raptors 74gb R0
2x Maxtor 300gb
Asus Geforce EN8800GT
Windoors XP Pro sp2

Download here OcBible 1.55 & Guidemania v1.21
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old 4th December, 2007, 08:04 PM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

The heatsink is worth twice as much as the CPU.
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old 4th December, 2007, 09:27 PM
Wolf2000me's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: Belgium
Posts: 1,238

Yeah, maybe I should sell my SLK for its worth in copper. I also have an SP97 lying here, might get profitable
__________________
Asus Maximus Formula (X38)
Intel Q6600 3720Mhz
TT Mozart Tx
2x WD Raptors 74gb R0
2x Maxtor 300gb
Asus Geforce EN8800GT
Windoors XP Pro sp2

Download here OcBible 1.55 & Guidemania v1.21
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old 4th December, 2007, 11:03 PM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

Quote:
Originally Posted by djXternal View Post
the temp in my house is around 74F

The issue with finding an aftermarket cooler, is many are made for boards with mounting holes, I have to use a clip for my cooler
How many people in Calgary can say that with their doors open?
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old 5th December, 2007, 04:34 AM
Member
 
Join Date: April 2005
Location: Wesley Chapel, FL
Posts: 315
Send a message via AIM to djXternal Send a message via MSN to djXternal Send a message via Yahoo to djXternal

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wolf2000me View Post
Thermalright SLK-900A Copper Heatsink Review - FrostyTech.com

Thermalright SLK-900 series has mounting clips. I have one lying around here. You'd be welcome to get it for free but the US is a bit far. It has to be available somewhere and otherwise somewhere findable on the 2nd hand market.
How much would it cost to get it shipped here?
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old 8th December, 2007, 07:42 PM
Member
 
Join Date: April 2005
Location: Wesley Chapel, FL
Posts: 315
Send a message via AIM to djXternal Send a message via MSN to djXternal Send a message via Yahoo to djXternal

I am actually now thinking of purchasing a Socket A ASUS mobo to replace this Epox i am currently running, it would allow me to avoid the pin-mod for ocing purposes, and it would give me the four mounting holes for a cooler enabling me to use a better zalman cooler or something of the sort.... could this possibly be a good solution to my cooling issues?
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #30 (permalink)  
Old 8th December, 2007, 08:23 PM
Wolf2000me's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: Belgium
Posts: 1,238

Quote:
Originally Posted by djXternal View Post
How much would it cost to get it shipped here?
It would cost me 13€.

Quote:
Originally Posted by djXternal View Post
I am actually now thinking of purchasing a Socket A ASUS mobo to replace this Epox i am currently running, it would allow me to avoid the pin-mod for ocing purposes, and it would give me the four mounting holes for a cooler enabling me to use a better zalman cooler or something of the sort.... could this possibly be a good solution to my cooling issues?
It might, depends on the price of the asus board i'd say.
__________________
Asus Maximus Formula (X38)
Intel Q6600 3720Mhz
TT Mozart Tx
2x WD Raptors 74gb R0
2x Maxtor 300gb
Asus Geforce EN8800GT
Windoors XP Pro sp2

Download here OcBible 1.55 & Guidemania v1.21

Last edited by Wolf2000me; 8th December, 2007 at 08:24 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #31 (permalink)  
Old 8th December, 2007, 08:56 PM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

If money is too tight to buy a more up to date mainboard, maybe Wolf2000me's solution is a good one? 13 Euros hmm, that's about $19.05 at the moment.
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #32 (permalink)  
Old 8th December, 2007, 09:12 PM
Member
 
Join Date: April 2005
Location: Wesley Chapel, FL
Posts: 315
Send a message via AIM to djXternal Send a message via MSN to djXternal Send a message via Yahoo to djXternal

which happens to be about the price of the asus board on ebay.... and I havent completely ruled out a new 64bit system, but in about a month ill be moving into a dorm and this pc will be my tv as well as my main pc, so i need it stable enough so i can rely on it to record my tv programs

edit:
if I was to get a new 64bit system.... would you recommend a socket 939 or am2?
__________________
AOA Team fah

Last edited by djXternal; 8th December, 2007 at 09:13 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #33 (permalink)  
Old 8th December, 2007, 11:23 PM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

If you're going AMD the AM2 is the only one to get (IMO) simply because socket 939 support has been discontinued by AMD and 939 chips are going to be getting harder and harder to find.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #34 (permalink)  
Old 8th December, 2007, 11:41 PM
Member
 
Join Date: April 2005
Location: Wesley Chapel, FL
Posts: 315
Send a message via AIM to djXternal Send a message via MSN to djXternal Send a message via Yahoo to djXternal

ok its been so long since Ive done any research I wasnt sure, but it looked like the 939's were becoming fewer and fewer at places like newegg and tigerdirect
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #35 (permalink)  
Old 9th December, 2007, 05:10 AM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

I just put together a AM2 system on the cheap for 240 all new stuff. It was quite quick.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #36 (permalink)  
Old 9th December, 2007, 02:27 PM
Wolf2000me's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: Belgium
Posts: 1,238

I don't know.. I wouldn't recommend any AMD system at this point in time. There are cheap Core2 (Q or D) system options as well. All of them pretty much beating any equally priced AMD counterpart. Of course you won't find an Intel Core 2 processor below 60$ but you can find the cheapest one at around 110$. Those are still effortlessly overclocked to reasonable frequencies beating pretty much even a Phenom.
Anyone correct me if I'm being to harsh on AMD
__________________
Asus Maximus Formula (X38)
Intel Q6600 3720Mhz
TT Mozart Tx
2x WD Raptors 74gb R0
2x Maxtor 300gb
Asus Geforce EN8800GT
Windoors XP Pro sp2

Download here OcBible 1.55 & Guidemania v1.21
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #37 (permalink)  
Old 9th December, 2007, 03:45 PM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

The only reason I still use them is they are uber cheap. For a basic desktop ( web, email and so on) they can't be beat for a sub 300 dollar setup....
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #38 (permalink)  
Old 14th December, 2007, 02:44 AM
dabaerman's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Auburn, WA
Posts: 2,101

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wolf2000me View Post
I don't know.. I wouldn't recommend any AMD system at this point in time. There are cheap Core2 (Q or D) system options as well. All of them pretty much beating any equally priced AMD counterpart. Of course you won't find an Intel Core 2 processor below 60$ but you can find the cheapest one at around 110$. Those are still effortlessly overclocked to reasonable frequencies beating pretty much even a Phenom.
Anyone correct me if I'm being to harsh on AMD
I don't think you are being particularly hard on AMD. it is still a matter of personal preference. every now and
then, I get the urge to fire up my Win3.1, DX4-100, 16mb mem and 10mb hdd. I bought it in 1990 for $2,400.00
with 4mb of ram. the 16mb 72 pin EDO cost $500.00. and it was an AMD cpu made for Intel. I have had only
one computer with an Intel cpu in it. was a celeron 900 that I got to 1+ gHZ. my first oc success story. it has
been AMD ever since. price driven in the beginning, I continue to buy AMD for other reasons now.

Ron
__________________
Folding 24/7 with AMD QuadCore CPU's & nVidia Cuda Powered GPU's

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HIS Radeon HD 2900 Pro 512MB Gizmo Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 0 24th October, 2007 02:54 AM
Ati Radeon Hd 2900 Xt 1024mb Gizmo Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 4 23rd October, 2007 12:54 PM
XP 2900+ Barton Multi djXternal AMD Motherboards & CPUs 15 5th February, 2006 10:37 PM
Looks like running my athlon xp at 60*c finally did some damage... Chaz CRASHED! 37 22nd November, 2005 06:21 PM
The Athlon XP 2600 is released and running great on the 8k3a retrospooty EPoX MotherBoards 8 23rd August, 2002 09:45 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:16 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0