AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > AMD Motherboards & CPUs

AMD Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on AMD products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 5th November, 2007, 08:26 PM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

AMD Phenom X4 pricing

See front page for prices on the new Phenoms:
http://www.aoaforums.com/frontpage/content/view/3456/1/

Comments?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 6th November, 2007, 01:52 AM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

Haven't been keeping up on the details of this proc. Is this a quad-core family of three new CPU's? Do they fit in AM2 sockets? If so, are current chipsets up to snuff? If they are dual-core, those clock speeds are nothing to write home about.
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 6th November, 2007, 03:55 AM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

The Phenom X4 are quad-core cpus, and yes, they are AM2 sockets. Even so, the clock speeds are nothing to write home about, as Pennryn will launch with speeds up to 3 GHz, and current Core2Quad chips can run 3 GHz as well. The prices aren't great either, as the QX6600 (Kentsfield) is also clocked at 2.4 GHz (the same as the high end Phenom X4 9700) and will probably overclock substantially more for the same price.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 6th November, 2007, 01:34 PM
keithwalton's Avatar
Member/Contributor
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Southampton, UK
Posts: 2,257
Send a message via ICQ to keithwalton Send a message via MSN to keithwalton Send a message via Yahoo to keithwalton

a Penryn chip has already been launched (tho no sign of avaliability just yet) at 3GHz and has been shown to overclock to more than 4GHz with ease.

Either the prices need to be lower or performance much higher than intels for the same clockspeed.

As the Q6600 (2.4GHz) comes in at $266 which puts its price in between the 2.2 and 2.3GHz part ... and we all know the Q6600 can do 3GHz quite easily.
In a few months time we're going to get 2.5 and 2.66GHz quad core parts from intel also priced around the $266 mark.

So amd are attempting to compete with intels entry level quad core.

I wonder how many people have am2 boards to upgrade to quad with.
there only hope is that core 2 duo users cant upgrade to the new quads without a mobo change.
Else no matter how cheap a cpu is, cpu + mobo is going to end up more expensive than just a cpu.
__________________
ASUS P5W DH (i975X) - Core 2 Quad Q6600 (2.40GHz) Currently 3GHz under water hit 3.3GHz so far - 2x 1GB OCZ PC6400's - 2x Seagate 7200.10 320GB's - Sapphire Radeon x1900xt now water cooled
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 6th November, 2007, 08:32 PM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

AMD needs a lot of luck, with the wind behind them at this point.
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 6th November, 2007, 09:10 PM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

Quote:
Originally Posted by keithwalton View Post
Either the prices need to be lower or performance much higher than intels for the same clockspeed.
I wouldn't say that is necessarily true; it would be true for overclockers, certainly, but the average person buying these machines doesn't care about overclocking, and you and I don't make up a large enough segment of the market to really be a factor.

Still, it doesn't help AMD's profit margin when the fastest thing they can make is equivalent to Intel's 'bargain basement' product.

Last edited by Gizmo; 6th November, 2007 at 09:10 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 6th November, 2007, 09:45 PM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

They've got the biggest part of the market covered, with these. Cheap and good performance OEM systems.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 6th November, 2007, 09:50 PM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

Barcelona competes a bit better on the server front, as Clovertown isn't clocking that high, and doesn't scale as well as AMD's Opteron offerings. The price is also brilliant.
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 6th November, 2007, 09:53 PM
Favu's Avatar
AOA's resident barman
 
Join Date: October 2005
Location: /Wales/Abergavenny
Posts: 4,004
Send a message via ICQ to Favu Send a message via AIM to Favu Send a message via MSN to Favu

TBH, as a consumer I will always just buy whatever is the best value for me. But I really hope that AMD do get their act together - more competition means lower prices for consumers!
__________________
AOA Team fah
 

Custom 8-bit Sharp Z80 @ 4.194304 MHz
Reflective LCD @ 160 × 144
8 kByte S-RAM






Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 7th November, 2007, 01:34 AM
keithwalton's Avatar
Member/Contributor
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Southampton, UK
Posts: 2,257
Send a message via ICQ to keithwalton Send a message via MSN to keithwalton Send a message via Yahoo to keithwalton

Quote:
Originally Posted by danrok View Post
They've got the biggest part of the market covered, with these. Cheap and good performance OEM systems.
Do they really ? Q6600 is cheaper than all but the 2.2GHz chip there and is likely to have more performance at stock than most of those chips. Intel has been selling alot of quad cores lately. The Q6600 has been appearing in ~£499 pc's

in my previous post i wasnt really including overclocking in the 'value' of the cpu.

If clock for clock performance was simliar or even slightly in amd's advantage (say the 2.3GHz part was as equal to intels 2.4GHz part which is optimistic), but was in intels favour. (2.4GHz part costs in between the 2.2 and 2.3) the end result would be intel's 2.4GHz part would have more performance per $

Now if you were an oem what would you buy ?
As an end users which would you buy ?
As an overclocker which one would you buy ?

The last question is quite an easy one, unless the amd chips have alot of headroom in them its an easy win for the intel parts.
As i said before the picture is about to get worse for amd, currently there is only one intel chip in the entry level quad core market.
It's about to gain two 45nm brothers (2.5 and 2.66GHz) which intel can easily drop the prices on and clock for clock they are likely to be a match for amd's chip.

It seems to me that amd are in the same place they were a few years ago before they took the performance lead. All they can do is attack intel's mainstream products with a cheaper alternative.
__________________
ASUS P5W DH (i975X) - Core 2 Quad Q6600 (2.40GHz) Currently 3GHz under water hit 3.3GHz so far - 2x 1GB OCZ PC6400's - 2x Seagate 7200.10 320GB's - Sapphire Radeon x1900xt now water cooled
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 7th November, 2007, 03:53 PM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

We don't know what price AMD or Intel would sell their processors at, to OEMs like Dell. But, it's not all about price, when ordering in very large quants. AMD may well struggle to produce enough.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Working Phenom RV670 system spotted danrok AMD Motherboards & CPUs 27 6th December, 2007 05:54 PM
AMD Reveals Phenom Model Numbers Daniel ~ AMD Motherboards & CPUs 14 31st July, 2007 09:24 PM
AMD dishes the dirt on upcoming Phenom products Daniel ~ AMD Motherboards & CPUs 1 28th July, 2007 05:35 PM
Mainboard Makers Expect AMD Phenom in November. Samuknow AMD Motherboards & CPUs 4 26th June, 2007 02:45 PM
AMD gets phenomenal with Phenom processors danrok AMD Motherboards & CPUs 13 17th May, 2007 04:08 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:16 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0