AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > AMD Motherboards & CPUs

AMD Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on AMD products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 15th November, 2007, 03:42 PM
kellamne's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 624

939 Am2 Hsf

Can some please confirm whether 939/AM2 HSF's are interchangeable?
My new case is too shallow for my Arctic Cooler - so Im wondering whether I can just swap it with my brothers AM2 cooler or need to get another.
__________________
* Antec Fusion - ALiveNF6G-VSTA - X2/4000 - 2GB - 7800GT - XP
* Asus Eee 4G Surf - 1Gb
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 15th November, 2007, 04:02 PM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

Many of there are. a few are not. I believe if it is a clip type you will be ok.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 2nd December, 2007, 01:26 AM
dabaerman's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Auburn, WA
Posts: 2,101

Quote:
Originally Posted by kellamne View Post
Can some please confirm whether 939/AM2 HSF's are interchangeable?
My new case is too shallow for my Arctic Cooler - so Im wondering whether I can just swap it with my brothers AM2 cooler or need to get another.
all retail 939/940/AM2 HSF from AMD, made by Foxconn, are. the mounting bracket is the same.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Samuknow View Post
Many of there are. a few are not. I believe if it is a clip type you will be ok.
it's the after market HSF that becomes iffy. the exception being the stock or oem clip style.

Ron
__________________
Folding 24/7 with AMD QuadCore CPU's & nVidia Cuda Powered GPU's

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 2nd December, 2007, 01:31 AM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

I think the plug is different on an AM2 style.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 2nd December, 2007, 01:44 AM
dabaerman's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Auburn, WA
Posts: 2,101

Quote:
Originally Posted by Samuknow View Post
I think the plug is different on an AM2 style.
power? yes/no. four pin with three wires. same three as three pin. not sure where/what the fourth is for.

Ron

found it. dark inside the box. yes 4 pin 4 wire. tha AM2 might work on 939. not the other way round.

Ron
__________________
Folding 24/7 with AMD QuadCore CPU's & nVidia Cuda Powered GPU's

AOA Team fah

Last edited by dabaerman; 2nd December, 2007 at 01:47 AM. Reason: wrong again!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 2nd December, 2007, 10:52 AM
kellamne's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 624

So, the AF64 is now on the AM2 chip (totally over kill as the board doesn't like oc'ing[M2NPV i think]) so experimenting with running it passive. The AM2s cooler is on my 939 as a temporary fix until i get hold of a different low profile cooler - having a look around before I commit to anything. Am thinking of getting something decent that I can migrate to 775 or AM2+ in the future.
__________________
* Antec Fusion - ALiveNF6G-VSTA - X2/4000 - 2GB - 7800GT - XP
* Asus Eee 4G Surf - 1Gb
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 2nd December, 2007, 03:07 PM
ThunderRd's Avatar
Irreverent Query Chairman
 
Join Date: June 2007
Location: NYC native in northern Thailand
Posts: 2,241

The ASUS Silent Square coolers are quite good, surprisingly so, and will work easily on 775, 939, or AM2. About 5 5/8" (14.5 cm) from the surface of the cpu to the top of the cooler. $35-$40 depending on which version and composition. Recommended, but not sure if it makes your clearance.

Re: wiring; it's prolly 1 hot, 1 monitor and 2 ground. (R-B-B-Y?) Will work on any 3pin header AFAIK
__________________
#1: Tt Armor, ASUS Maximus Extreme, QX9650@4.1G, 8G Corsair Dominator GT DDR3-2000, Corsair HX1050, H2O-Swiftech, Gigabyte GTX470/Arctic Accelero Xtreme Plus II, Intel 520 SSD, Kingston SSD, 2xRaptor 150G RAID0, Win 7 Pro 64
#2: Tt Shark, ASUS P5Q Pro Turbo, Q6600@3.8G, 4G HyperX-1600, Corsair HX850, CoolerMaster V10, 2xASUS 9600GT, 2xRaptor 74G RAID0, OCZ Vertex 4 SSD, Gentoo/siduction Linux [64-bit]
#3, #4: Opteron 170@2.75G nude, A8N-SLI Deluxe, Gentoo

AOA Folding @HomeOur sister site: www.gamersonlinux.com

Last edited by ThunderRd; 2nd December, 2007 at 03:10 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:27 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0