AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > AMD Motherboards & CPUs

AMD Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on AMD products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 19th November, 2007, 11:36 AM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

AMD Phenom Released!

Well, launched as it were. A few links to reputable reviewers for the skinny on AMD's new chip:

AnandTech: AMD's Phenom Unveiled: A Somber Farewell to K8
[H] Enthusiast - AMD Phenom & Spider vs Intel QX9770

It appears, clock for clock, to be slower than the Core2 for the most part, and clocked much lower, is not really competitive.

That said, there is always hope, and if AMD can get their 65nm process worked out, and can get chips near 3Ghz, it could keep intel honest, if nothing else.

To Quote Kyle Bennett of HardOCP though:

Quote:
AMD has to scale, and scale quickly. I have seen Phenom processors running at 3.6GHz (air cooled) on the 790FX chipset. AMD needs 3GHz+ to be a retail reality soon, but sadly I simply don’t see it happening.
Kyle says he's seen a Phenom, this early running at 3.6Ghz on the spider platform with air cooling. Which, if true could mean there is at least hope.
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles

Last edited by dsio; 19th November, 2007 at 11:36 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 19th November, 2007, 01:36 PM
Favu's Avatar
AOA's resident barman
 
Join Date: October 2005
Location: /Wales/Abergavenny
Posts: 4,004
Send a message via ICQ to Favu Send a message via AIM to Favu Send a message via MSN to Favu

I'm hoping there is hope!!
__________________
AOA Team fah
 

Custom 8-bit Sharp Z80 @ 4.194304 MHz
Reflective LCD @ 160 × 144
8 kByte S-RAM






Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 19th November, 2007, 02:04 PM
keithwalton's Avatar
Member/Contributor
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Southampton, UK
Posts: 2,257
Send a message via ICQ to keithwalton Send a message via MSN to keithwalton Send a message via Yahoo to keithwalton

The B2 chips are just not going to do that, since they've had to pull the 2.4GHz part because of a bug.

Depending on how long they have known about the bug in the B2 revision, B3 could be upto 3 months away. By that time the phenon will most certainly be facing the penryn based cpu's to which it doesnt stand a chance.

There was hope for amd if the phenon was clock for clock faster than intel's quad. As price wise the Q6600 fits inbetween the two cpu's released today but clocks faster.

Anandtech are kind in that they only ever put the phenom up against the Q6600, tomshardware are not so nice they put it up against the QX9650 (3GHz yorkfield) which obliterates the poor chip, not to mention the QX can be overclocked by nearly 50% quite easily. (4.3GHz on air)

Supreme comander is one of the only quad core games, at least in this test it can beat the A64 (it looses in alot of other tests) 3D-Games - Supreme Commander, Serious Sam 2 : AMD Phenom - The Spider Weaves its Web

And to think intel were worried and rushed out a sample of the QX9770 (3.2GHz 1600fsb) in case amd actually had something up there sleeve
__________________
ASUS P5W DH (i975X) - Core 2 Quad Q6600 (2.40GHz) Currently 3GHz under water hit 3.3GHz so far - 2x 1GB OCZ PC6400's - 2x Seagate 7200.10 320GB's - Sapphire Radeon x1900xt now water cooled
AOA Team fah

Last edited by keithwalton; 19th November, 2007 at 02:05 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 19th November, 2007, 02:21 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

I'm a little confused why the issue supposedly affecting the L3 cache only affects processors that have a speed rating 2.4GHz and above (as opposed to overclocked)?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 19th November, 2007, 03:13 PM
keithwalton's Avatar
Member/Contributor
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Southampton, UK
Posts: 2,257
Send a message via ICQ to keithwalton Send a message via MSN to keithwalton Send a message via Yahoo to keithwalton

I believe its because the L3 cache / northbridge run at 2GHz independant of the cpu core speed I suspect as the speed difference to the cpu cores gets greater the problem gets worse.

Its quite a rare failure to have but none the less it does exist and is reproducable, which makes the cpu unfit for sale.
So overclocking is possible as long as you dont attempt to run the combination of programs which is known to cause it to crash!
__________________
ASUS P5W DH (i975X) - Core 2 Quad Q6600 (2.40GHz) Currently 3GHz under water hit 3.3GHz so far - 2x 1GB OCZ PC6400's - 2x Seagate 7200.10 320GB's - Sapphire Radeon x1900xt now water cooled
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 19th November, 2007, 04:37 PM
Pitch's Avatar
AOA Staff
Asteroids Champion, Maeda Path Champion, Disco Racer Champion, Alpha Bravo Charlie Champion, Van Champion
 
Join Date: February 2004
Location: The cake is a lie.
Posts: 5,025
Send a message via MSN to Pitch

Quote:
Originally Posted by keithwalton View Post
Anandtech are kind in that they only ever put the phenom up against the Q6600, tomshardware are not so nice they put it up against the QX9650 (3GHz yorkfield) which obliterates the poor chip, not to mention the QX can be overclocked by nearly 50% quite easily. (4.3GHz on air)
I would certainly hope that a $1100 chip beats it.
__________________


XBL/PNS = neolad
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 19th November, 2007, 04:49 PM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

I'm still heading for a January upgrade... If Phenom is up to par by then, I'll buy it, with the associated AMD 7 series motherboard, and an 8800GT.

If not... much as it sickens me to say it... I'll get a Yorkfield under my waterblock and see if I can't sweat 4Ghz out of it.
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 19th November, 2007, 05:43 PM
keithwalton's Avatar
Member/Contributor
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Southampton, UK
Posts: 2,257
Send a message via ICQ to keithwalton Send a message via MSN to keithwalton Send a message via Yahoo to keithwalton

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pitch View Post
I would certainly hope that a $1100 chip beats it.
A chip that has been $266 (Q6600) for the last 4 months and has been out 9 months or so (its bigger brother has been with us a year now) also gives the phenom a good thrashing.
The now non existant 2.4GHz Phenom at best could match the Q6600 in some tests, even an overclocked 2.6GHz version very rarely gets ahead.

And considering most Q6600's can do 3GHz (stock vcore on mine) out of the box in a decent mobo...

I was really hoping that the phenom could at least clock for clock beat the kentsfield.

But clock for clock its slower,
clock for clock its more expensive,
clock for clock it needs more power.
(though there isnt a direct clock for clock comparison anymore).

In quad core optimised aps it does ok against the A64 X2, in single / dual core aps, the x2 is faster.

to AMD for at least trying, but the 'B2' gamble looks like it hasn't paid off.

Looking at UK suppliers a Phenom 9500 (2.2GHz) will set you back £170, a 9600 (2.3GHz) £200,
A Q6600 (2.4GHz) on the other hand will set you back £156 (oem) or £160 (retail)
Intel have also mentioned that they will be drastically dropping there prices shortly on the arrival of the Q9000 series, in which a 2.5GHz Yorkfield will cost the same as a Q6600 does now
__________________
ASUS P5W DH (i975X) - Core 2 Quad Q6600 (2.40GHz) Currently 3GHz under water hit 3.3GHz so far - 2x 1GB OCZ PC6400's - 2x Seagate 7200.10 320GB's - Sapphire Radeon x1900xt now water cooled
AOA Team fah

Last edited by keithwalton; 19th November, 2007 at 05:56 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 19th November, 2007, 05:56 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

This is the point in a prize fight where everyone starts looking for the ref to step in to keep it from getting really ugly...We are so much better off with AMD than without her. Even Intel is better off with real competition than without it...
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic


Last edited by Daniel ~; 19th November, 2007 at 05:58 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 6th December, 2007, 10:29 AM
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Posts: 964

Fascinating write up on Barcelona Vs K8 and Core-Duo linked in that article. It looked like exciting stuff and times, but I guess the reality, at least for now, is falling a little short. I pretty much surrounded myself with K8's a couple or so years ago (three Manchesters and one Venice) and they are easily meeting my needs. As long as AMD gets back on the horse eventually, I doubt I'll need to take the Intel route!
__________________
FIC VA-503+
K6-III+/450@550
256MB PC133Turbo
Abit Rocket 100
WinXPsp2/Win98SE

Last edited by TrevorS; 6th December, 2007 at 10:34 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AMD Phenom X4 pricing danrok AMD Motherboards & CPUs 10 7th November, 2007 03:53 PM
AMD Reveals Phenom Model Numbers Daniel ~ AMD Motherboards & CPUs 14 31st July, 2007 09:24 PM
AMD dishes the dirt on upcoming Phenom products Daniel ~ AMD Motherboards & CPUs 1 28th July, 2007 05:35 PM
Mainboard Makers Expect AMD Phenom in November. Samuknow AMD Motherboards & CPUs 4 26th June, 2007 02:45 PM
AMD gets phenomenal with Phenom processors danrok AMD Motherboards & CPUs 13 17th May, 2007 04:08 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:50 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0