AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > AMD Motherboards & CPUs

AMD Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on AMD products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 13th December, 2007, 04:24 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2003
Location: Buffalo
Posts: 183

Bios setting questions for nForce 570 MB

I have a Foxconn N570SM2AA MB w/ a nForce570SLI chipset.
I haven't kepted up with all the changes in the past 3 or so years and there are plenty of 'new' settings in the Award bios I need an explanation of. Of course the manual is somewhat useless (that hasn't changed over the years).

Ok, what do all of these mean;
1. LDT Voltage Select,
2. PMU function
3. K8<->SB HT Speed (bandspeed of the links xmitter),
4. K8<->MCP55 HT Width (bandwidth of the links xmitter),
5. Onboard Super IO,
6. AC Media Interface,
7. Reset Config Data (whether the system automatically distributes DMA & I/) addresses each time the PC is turned on)
8. Maxium Payload size (max. TLP payload size for PCI-E).

Text in () were taken from the manual. Thanks in advance.
__________________
Copyright protection & Intellectual property my ass. All the studios want is more money & control. Enough is enough!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 13th December, 2007, 09:11 PM
gedon's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2004
Posts: 446

hi bruce,

Quote:
1. LDT Voltage Select
3. K8<->SB HT Speed
4. K8<->MCP55 HT Width
other CPUs has a FSB, the A64 (K8) has a HT-Link, others call it LDT (default: 1000MHz, 16bit up/16bit down)
a good bios contains the following options:
- reference clock htt (default: 200MHz)
- LDT multiplier (default: 5x)
- LDT bandwidth (default: 16/16)
so 5x200MHz=1000MHz
Quote:
6. AC Media Interface
sounds like a realtek audiochip

Quote:
2. PMU function
5. Onboard Super IO
7. Reset Config Data
8. Maxium Payload size
no idea
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 14th December, 2007, 05:08 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2003
Location: Buffalo
Posts: 183

Additional Bios boot screen; Press any key.... Can it be disabled?

Ok, there is a (what I call) a 2nd page that shows the additional IDE controller (nForce5 only has a single controller within the chipset) and the single Optical drive attached. There is also a "Press any key to continue" message with a five (?) second countdown (slowing the boot process up).
Can that be changed?
Attached Thumbnails
Bios setting questions for nForce 570 MB-03-2nd-boot-screen-small.jpg  
__________________
Copyright protection & Intellectual property my ass. All the studios want is more money & control. Enough is enough!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 14th December, 2007, 07:41 PM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

It has two SATA chip controllers.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 14th December, 2007, 11:15 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2003
Location: Buffalo
Posts: 183

But, I'm not using either and they are disabled. That screen is for thew 2nd IDE controler
__________________
Copyright protection & Intellectual property my ass. All the studios want is more money & control. Enough is enough!

Last edited by videobruce; 14th December, 2007 at 11:16 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Questions about setting up 8KDA3J ivanmoe EPoX MotherBoards 19 9th August, 2004 10:40 PM
setting BIOS settings for a XP 2600 AMDPete EPoX MotherBoards 5 17th July, 2003 10:26 PM
Bios APIC setting on 8RDA+ Aristidis EPoX MotherBoards 0 27th February, 2003 04:40 PM
BIOS and Jumper setting help needed staffspeted EPoX MotherBoards 7 10th October, 2002 03:41 PM
8K3A+ BIOS Setting to get 166/166 glee46 EPoX MotherBoards 20 27th May, 2002 07:45 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:40 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0