AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > AMD Motherboards & CPUs

AMD Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on AMD products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 30th May, 2008, 03:15 AM
timmythemoder's Avatar
Member
Warthog Launch Champion
 
Join Date: February 2008
Location: Bundaberg Australia
Posts: 67

how far can u push a x2 5600+

i have a athlon x2 5600+ @ 3ghz i gust want to know how far u can push it
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 30th May, 2008, 03:35 AM
MUff1N's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2007
Location: Payson/AZ
Posts: 1,905

Posted on xtreview.com
athlon 64 x2 5600+ windsor f3 overclocking

Can the core windsor F3 reach the 3.5 GHz frequency without Freon or liquid nitrogen? As asserts one of participants in xtremeSystems, this is completely accessible result. ....

The author of experiment used the mainboard asus CROSSHAIR , dual core processor athlon 64 X2 5600+ (2.8 GHz) stepping F3. With vcore voltage 1.6 v the system preserved stability at 3304 MHz frequency . Using air cooling, it was possible to take a screen shot at 3400 MHz frequency .

The use of water cooling allowed the processor to overclock up to 3624 MHz with voltage 1.75 v. at this frequency processor executed the tests super PI . 3DMark'06 was executed only at 3542 MHz frequency . Max Screen shot was at 3735 MHz, the system was even able to past CPU- Z validation :
Attached Thumbnails
how far can u push a x2 5600+-amd-5600-windsor-f3-01.png  
__________________



EVGA GTX 470 SC 37% OC (855/1710/2004) 160.5Gbs
3DMark Vantage: P24352
3DMark 11: P5119

Last edited by MUff1N; 30th May, 2008 at 03:36 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 30th May, 2008, 07:01 AM
timmythemoder's Avatar
Member
Warthog Launch Champion
 
Join Date: February 2008
Location: Bundaberg Australia
Posts: 67

thanks

thanks for ur reply i have decided to stay at stock speeds overclocking amd cpus isnt realy worth it 400mhz
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 30th May, 2008, 02:41 PM
dabaerman's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Auburn, WA
Posts: 2,101

Quote:
Originally Posted by timmythemoder View Post
thanks for ur reply i have decided to stay at stock speeds overclocking amd cpus isnt realy worth it 400mhz
gone are the days of 30%-50% overclocks on air. I can be happy with 10%-20%, as long as there is a corresponding increase in performance. I believe that FSB OC's are more productive (not my science) based on what I hear/read. that said I am running my 5000+ Black Edition Brisbane @ 200X15-3.0GHz +400MHz on a multiplier OC. I will mess with it more in the future as I raise the FSB.
also, every AMD cpu I have is OC'd, from 100-700MHz.

Ron
__________________
Folding 24/7 with AMD QuadCore CPU's & nVidia Cuda Powered GPU's

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 3rd June, 2008, 03:17 AM
timmythemoder's Avatar
Member
Warthog Launch Champion
 
Join Date: February 2008
Location: Bundaberg Australia
Posts: 67

i am thinking of upgrading to a AMD Phenom 9850 Quad-Core Black Edition AM2+ 2.5GHz 4MB Cache that would be more than enuf to play games with i reacon and 8gb of ram

or AMD Phenom 8650 Triple Core 2.3GHz AM2+

what should i get
__________________


IPhone 3G 16GB White

Intel C2Q Q6600 2.4GHz EVGA 750i SLI FTW 4GB CORSAIR XMS2 2X2GB 9800GT Stock ZALMAN 9900LED CPU COOLER ASUS vw193t 19' lcd thermaltake 500w psu Windows 7 Rtm 7600
AMD Athlon X2 4000+ @2.1Ghz ASUS M2N 2GB CORSAIR XMS2 1X2GB 7300gt STOCK thermaltake 500W PSU Windows 7 Rtm 7600

Last edited by timmythemoder; 3rd June, 2008 at 03:20 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 24th June, 2008, 03:16 AM
dabaerman's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Auburn, WA
Posts: 2,101

Quote:
Originally Posted by timmythemoder View Post
i am thinking of upgrading to a AMD Phenom 9850 Quad-Core Black Edition AM2+ 2.5GHz 4MB Cache that would be more than enuf to play games with i reacon and 8gb of ram

or AMD Phenom 8650 Triple Core 2.3GHz AM2+

what should i get
Agena 9600 2.3 Black Edition. 95W and multiplier unlocked. more headroom than 9850 @125W.
it would be my first choice for Phenom today. I will wait a little longer for AMD Quads to mature.

Ron
__________________
Folding 24/7 with AMD QuadCore CPU's & nVidia Cuda Powered GPU's

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FX 5600 problem Janus Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 5 10th August, 2005 11:05 AM
Geforce FX 5600 Ultra slayermanny Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 4 6th March, 2004 07:55 PM
overclock help me push it jmurjr AMD Motherboards & CPUs 8 20th December, 2003 01:14 PM
nForce2 and FX 5600 256Mb Review garikfox Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 1 8th May, 2003 07:12 AM
How far can i push it :P graftonater AMD Motherboards & CPUs 2 29th March, 2003 12:23 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:59 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0