AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > AMD Motherboards & CPUs

AMD Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on AMD products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 13th April, 2002, 08:10 PM
Member
 
Join Date: April 2002
Posts: 47

FSB overclock!- repost

I have a 1700 Athlon (11x133 I think; correct me if im wrong), 256Mb of 2100 ddr, Volcano 7 cooling, shuttle ak31 (with northbridge cooling on it), and 2 case fan's. I don't want to damage my system, or risk damaging it, by unlocking it. What would you reccomend to be a nice and very safe FSB (and only FSB) overclock for me?
__________________

Last edited by Rollydog; 13th April, 2002 at 08:14 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 13th April, 2002, 08:24 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: February 2002
Location: Sioux City, Iowa
Posts: 250

Start out at 140fsb and work your way up. I think you'll max out at 145 or 146, but you never know. It may go higher depending on your cpu's individuality, and that of your RAM.

good luck,

BRUNO
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 13th April, 2002, 08:27 PM
Member
 
Join Date: April 2002
Posts: 47

how do i know if i've reached the limit and what temps should i stop at?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 13th April, 2002, 08:50 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: February 2002
Location: Sioux City, Iowa
Posts: 250

What are your temps now? If they're already in the 50c range, you had better work on cooling. Prepare your machine before you try overclocking it. You'll have to increase the core voltage to oc.

Do some web searching for info on the temp max. I think it's in the 70C + range, I like to keep them below 40C. that's just me.

BRUNO
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 13th April, 2002, 11:37 PM
mrpcman's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Anchorage, AK
Posts: 2,689
Send a message via AIM to mrpcman

you go until it freezes. then you step down. my system handles 165MHz FSB just fine, and that's with crap ram.
__________________
Alex Worthen
Director Of Web Design for the Allied Sites Support Team
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 14th April, 2002, 12:00 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: February 2002
Location: Sioux City, Iowa
Posts: 250

I concur. The fsb may go higher, but you may fry something if the motherboard dividers aren't there. BEEN THERE DONE THAT.

START low and ease it up, is the general consensus. I've ruined drives by getting in a hurry.

No offense to anyone.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 14th April, 2002, 01:18 AM
mrpcman's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Anchorage, AK
Posts: 2,689
Send a message via AIM to mrpcman

Quote:
Originally posted by akaBruno
I concur. The fsb may go higher, but you may fry something if the motherboard dividers aren't there. BEEN THERE DONE THAT.

START low and ease it up, is the general consensus. I've ruined drives by getting in a hurry.

No offense to anyone.
none taken, but things normally won't fry if it's overclocked too far. it will freeze up. As for my FSB, he has no way of hitting something that high because he can't lower themultiplier.
__________________
Alex Worthen
Director Of Web Design for the Allied Sites Support Team
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 14th April, 2002, 01:59 AM
Holst's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Leics UK
Posts: 4,528

The key is to avoid big jumps.

Take it up 1fsb at a time and once you see any sign of problems then go back one and do a full stability test.

If you just pick a outragous overclock out of the blue then your more likely to damage something.
Thats not to say you wont damage something taking it slow but your upping the odds in your favor.

If overclocking a system to perfection was a 5 minute risk free operation then computers would be overclocked from the shop.
__________________
No longer Epox Tech.

Best of luck in the future all my friends.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
overclock colflo AMD Motherboards & CPUs 1 7th January, 2007 09:14 PM
You know you overclock too much when... cadaveca The Chop Shop 6 15th April, 2006 05:27 AM
If I were to overclock... graz EPoX MotherBoards 3 19th November, 2004 04:08 AM
How do i overclock? Iceman Hardware Hacking 12 26th August, 2003 01:03 AM
K6-2 Overclock Mad old tory AMD Motherboards & CPUs 11 28th June, 2003 07:17 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:17 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0