AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > AMD Motherboards & CPUs

AMD Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on AMD products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 26th February, 2009, 11:20 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Montreal,Quebec
Posts: 27

Unlocking the 4 core on a am3

Hi folk, as you probably know the triple core as goes out from Amd.

But, it is said that we could unlock all the 4 core on the am3 phemnom 2.

Board Makers Confirmed Phenom II X3 Unlocking - VR-Zone.com: News and Reviews

AMD PhenomII X3 710(720BE) 3core --> 4core PhenomII X4 920

have fun!
__________________

Last edited by Mavhenz; 26th February, 2009 at 11:39 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 27th February, 2009, 09:03 PM
MUff1N's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2007
Location: Payson/AZ
Posts: 1,905

Arrow

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mavhenz View Post
Hi folk, as you probably know the triple core as goes out from Amd.

But, it is said that we could unlock all the 4 core on the am3 phemnom 2.

Board Makers Confirmed Phenom II X3 Unlocking - VR-Zone.com: News and Reviews

AMD PhenomII X3 710(720BE) 3core --> 4core PhenomII X4 920

have fun!
Good AMD tactic to get some sales of the Phenom Processor!
I'm just about positive this was done on purpose to get some buzz going on this...
__________________



EVGA GTX 470 SC 37% OC (855/1710/2004) 160.5Gbs
3DMark Vantage: P24352
3DMark 11: P5119
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 27th February, 2009, 09:07 PM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

The question is, was that unlocked fourth core really reliable or not?

It's not uncommon for manufacturers to 'bin' high-end parts into lower segments. There's only so much market for the high-end stuff, after all, and Intel and AMD have been doing that sort of thing for years; indeed, overclockers THRIVE on exactly that sort of thing.

But that doesn't mean that just because you can unlock that fourth core that it wasn't really a bad core to start with.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 28th February, 2009, 05:09 AM
ThunderRd's Avatar
Irreverent Query Chairman
 
Join Date: June 2007
Location: NYC native in northern Thailand
Posts: 2,241

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gizmo View Post
The question is, was that unlocked fourth core really reliable or not?
That's exactly right. I wish that I could find the news release that I read some time ago; in it it stated that because it was difficult to get all 4 cores to test reliably, AMD would bin them in exactly that way - as 3-core processors.

If I ever find the article, I'll post it.
__________________
#1: Tt Armor, ASUS Maximus Extreme, QX9650@4.1G, 8G Corsair Dominator GT DDR3-2000, Corsair HX1050, H2O-Swiftech, Gigabyte GTX470/Arctic Accelero Xtreme Plus II, Intel 520 SSD, Kingston SSD, 2xRaptor 150G RAID0, Win 7 Pro 64
#2: Tt Shark, ASUS P5Q Pro Turbo, Q6600@3.8G, 4G HyperX-1600, Corsair HX850, CoolerMaster V10, 2xASUS 9600GT, 2xRaptor 74G RAID0, OCZ Vertex 4 SSD, Gentoo/siduction Linux [64-bit]
#3, #4: Opteron 170@2.75G nude, A8N-SLI Deluxe, Gentoo

AOA Folding @HomeOur sister site: www.gamersonlinux.com
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 28th February, 2009, 12:36 PM
MUff1N's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2007
Location: Payson/AZ
Posts: 1,905

Arrow

I did read onward on this an that was the question everyone was asking...Even if you could activate the forth core, was it going to cause file corruptions because of errors.

From what I read, these where a select batch that did have a good forth core that were just binned in with the other 3 core processors but getting that batch was the hard part as not many were binned that had a good forth core.
__________________



EVGA GTX 470 SC 37% OC (855/1710/2004) 160.5Gbs
3DMark Vantage: P24352
3DMark 11: P5119

Last edited by MUff1N; 28th February, 2009 at 12:37 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 28th February, 2009, 01:11 PM
chrisbard's Avatar
Benchmarker
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Earth
Posts: 8,252
Send a message via Yahoo to chrisbard

Talking

I was a big AMD fan back in the days. Now I see no reason to buy a tri core AMD to make it 4 core (if ever the fourth would behave normally) while running a modest Q6600 at 3,8 Ghz on air. GTA4 loves the Q6600 !!!
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Amber core 1809 and Core 2 Duo? Necorum ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team 8 16th December, 2006 05:33 PM
Single core to dual core upgrade problem. Daston AMD Motherboards & CPUs 11 19th September, 2006 12:18 AM
NewCastle core vs. Clawhammer Core Overclockling bisonator 64 Bit computing 11 23rd July, 2004 09:26 PM
AMD XP 1700+ TBred-B Core DLT3C JIUHB 1.5V Core any good? Cali3350 AMD Motherboards & CPUs 4 1st June, 2003 06:44 PM
morgan core duron unlocking dsio AMD Motherboards & CPUs 9 8th November, 2002 03:56 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:40 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0