AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > AMD Motherboards & CPUs

AMD Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on AMD products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 29th March, 2009, 07:45 AM
Member
 
Join Date: March 2009
Posts: 1

EP-9NPA+Ultra DIMMs 1&2 not functional

Hey guys, new user here So I ran into some unexpected problems recently. DIMMs 1 & 2 are not reading my RAM apparently. Why exactly? Don't know. Hope you guys can shed some light on this, so some background info first.

I built this system on '05:
Athlon 64 3200+
Nec DVD Burner
Samsung 120 Gig SATA 150 HD
GF 6600
2x Corsair Valueselect 512Mb DDR 400
Thermaltake 430w PSU

Everything started friday when I installed a new Gf 8600 GTS. Installed, no problems, played a few games so far so good. At first I did not notice significant improvement gaming wise and I noticed my CPU temps were unusually high. 45 degrees after playing and they wouldn't go down (on idle it will run at 34 - 37) GPU temps were fine, even cooler than my old card. So I decided to reapply some arctic silver (2years after first applied). Carefully cleaned Heatsink, CPU, applied thermal paste, reinstalled then NOTHING, my pc wouldn't boot. Got the C1 code and continuous long beeps. Read the manual, it said it was memory related but I kept thinking it was my CPU, thought maybe I didn't clean it right and ****ed up my system.

Long story short I moved my memory modules to DIMMs 3 and 4, booted and everything is fine now and to my surprise everything is running faster than before in particular video games, been getting faster frame rates than when I first installed the 8600, CPU is running cooler than ever before which I found odd.

Are DIMMs 1 and 2 irreparable at this point? Just give me an overall analysis on what just happened. I'll appreciate your replies. BTW my system has NEVER given me any problems. Has been running smoothly since I built it.
__________________

Last edited by ManuelJ; 29th March, 2009 at 07:48 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 29th March, 2009, 08:50 PM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

I'd suspect something with the CPU, except that DIMMs 1&3 are on the same channel and DIMMs 2&4 are on the same channel so that you can run dual channel mode when you have DIMMs in sockets 1&2. That being the case, I've got to be suspicious of your mobo.

As for what EXACTLY has happened? Dunno. Without an oscilloscope or at least a DVM, I don't have enough information to hazard a guess.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 8th April, 2009, 11:33 PM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

"Never any problems." Mongo like machines like that!
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
amd , epox



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
EpoX EP-9NPA Ultra vs EP-9NPA+ Ultra ? Kallikaa EPoX MotherBoards 6 27th January, 2006 07:35 AM
9NPA+ Ultra vs 9NPA+ SLI Klavs EPoX MotherBoards 0 5th September, 2005 09:26 PM
9NPA+ Ultra Not Seeing All RAM? m1mgd00 EPoX MotherBoards 14 16th August, 2005 12:36 PM
Need recommendations for a Multi functional printer offie General Hardware Discussion 3 8th August, 2005 10:14 PM
Dual Core BIOS - 9NPA+ SLI and 9NPA+ Ultra EPoX Tech EPoX MotherBoards 46 1st August, 2005 04:52 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:59 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0