AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > AMD Motherboards & CPUs

AMD Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on AMD products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 22nd October, 2009, 05:31 PM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

A Glance into the Future: Six-Core AMD Istanbul in a Desktop Platform

See the front page:
http://www.aoaforums.com/frontpage/c...-platform.html

Comments?
__________________
Desktop PC: AMD FX-8370E / Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard / 16GB DDR3 RAM / GeForce GTX 970
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 23rd October, 2009, 08:42 PM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

But... Istanbul? That sounds mighty strange and foreign to our ears here in the holler. Looks like we'll have 12 cores before too long--but do we need them?
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 3rd November, 2009, 08:39 AM
chrisbard's Avatar
Benchmarker
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Earth
Posts: 8,252
Send a message via Yahoo to chrisbard

Istambul not far from here but the point is that you can have 16 core if its a math thing you need the pc for. Otherwise its a waste unless you get real fast hdrives/memory and increased bandwidth allaround.
Opera/8.01 (J2ME/MIDP; Opera Mini/3.1.10423/1724; en; U; ssr)
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 3rd November, 2009, 09:34 PM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

Does this mean that you live in a strange and foreign land? I thought you hailed from New Jersey, that's far east from here. Signed, confused about maps. And what happened to Constantinople, it's missing!
A local politician has the last name of Constantine, bet his family had to reach pretty far for that one!
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 4th November, 2009, 03:47 AM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

Quote:
Originally Posted by chrisbard View Post
Istambul not far from here but the point is that you can have 16 core if its a math thing you need the pc for. Otherwise its a waste unless you get real fast hdrives/memory and increased bandwidth allaround.
Opera/8.01 (J2ME/MIDP; Opera Mini/3.1.10423/1724; en; U; ssr)
Unless you're running Windows 7.........sorry, couldn't resist.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 4th November, 2009, 03:46 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: Lima, OH
Posts: 137

Quote:
Originally Posted by chrisbard View Post
Istambul not far from here but the point is that you can have 16 core if its a math thing you need the pc for. Otherwise its a waste unless you get real fast hdrives/memory and increased bandwidth allaround.
Opera/8.01 (J2ME/MIDP; Opera Mini/3.1.10423/1724; en; U; ssr)
Define "need"
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 4th November, 2009, 04:18 PM
chrisbard's Avatar
Benchmarker
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Earth
Posts: 8,252
Send a message via Yahoo to chrisbard

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gizmo View Post
Unless you're running Windows 7.........sorry, couldn't resist.
Now I will let this one go with no punishment. Next mistake and you gotta do the upload bar in 24 hours you hear me bwoy?
__________________
I've heard that linux community came up with better implemented security in it's latest Linux Mint Gold version, it's actually preventing the user to log in, thus posing 0 risk in contamining the computer with malware! Well done to the open source community!

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 4th November, 2009, 04:21 PM
chrisbard's Avatar
Benchmarker
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Earth
Posts: 8,252
Send a message via Yahoo to chrisbard

Quote:
Originally Posted by cw823 View Post
Define "need"
Sorry perhaps my bad english caused this, say you need to do fast computation or F@H or video encoding that requires all those powerhorses, this is what I ment.
__________________
I've heard that linux community came up with better implemented security in it's latest Linux Mint Gold version, it's actually preventing the user to log in, thus posing 0 risk in contamining the computer with malware! Well done to the open source community!

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 4th November, 2009, 04:39 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: Lima, OH
Posts: 137

Quote:
Originally Posted by chrisbard View Post
Sorry perhaps my bad english caused this, say you need to do fast computation or F@H or video encoding that requires all those powerhorses, this is what I ment.
Not your English, just saying I'm sure we could all come up with reason that we "need" a 6-12 core system, but in reality it's more of a "want".
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 5th November, 2009, 07:40 PM
jacksonwalters's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2008
Posts: 85

Tilera's making a 100 core processor.

Interesting to compare to the neocortical columns of the brain. Turns out the brain uses millions of processors in parallel.
__________________
  • ASUS P6T SE
  • Intel 920 i7 @ 21x171=3.6
  • 6GB G.Skill DDR3 @ 1333
  • Seagate 1TB 5900RPM
  • ASUS GTS250 512MB
  • 600W Silverstone ST60F
  • Hauppauge Win-TV 1600
  • Windows 7 Professional 64-Bit
  • 14" HP DV-2416US Laptop
  • AMD Turion X2 1.8Ghz
  • 120Gb
  • 2Gb
  • Windows 7 Professional 64 Bit
  • *Soon*
  • Verizon/Motorola/Google DROID
  • Google Voice
  • Android 2.0
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 6th November, 2009, 04:08 AM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

My processor is bigger than your processor.
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 6th November, 2009, 04:26 AM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: Lima, OH
Posts: 137

Quote:
Originally Posted by dsio View Post
My processor is bigger than your processor.
My processor has wider lanes.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 6th November, 2009, 07:43 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

I want a processor that needs a processor to count it's cores... or I won't play with infinity anymore!! ":O}
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 9th November, 2009, 07:51 AM
candle_86's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2009
Posts: 53
Send a message via MSN to candle_86 Send a message via Yahoo to candle_86

Quote:
Originally Posted by chrisbard View Post
Istambul not far from here but the point is that you can have 16 core if its a math thing you need the pc for. Otherwise its a waste unless you get real fast hdrives/memory and increased bandwidth allaround.
Opera/8.01 (J2ME/MIDP; Opera Mini/3.1.10423/1724; en; U; ssr)
Im looking forward to it myself, this P4 is killing me compared to my quad specificly for what I spend a great deal of free time doing, which is work with 3ds Max 9, building models, the more cores the happier I am honestly. GAmers dont need it, and If i wasnt doing 3ds max I would have gone dual core to save money, but this 6 core excites me alot, and what im doing isnt math
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
amd , processor , six-core



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AMD brings forward Neo and Istanbul chips danrok AMD Motherboards & CPUs 3 23rd April, 2009 10:37 PM
Intel Shifts Future Coreā„¢ Processors Into Turbo Mode HellasVagabond AMD Motherboards & CPUs 1 25th August, 2008 07:49 PM
Intel Core 2 Duo E6750 2.67GHz desktop processor Daniel ~ Intel Motherboards & CPUs 0 20th July, 2007 07:16 PM
AMD showcases eight-core platform!!!!!!!!! MrSeanKon AMD Motherboards & CPUs 4 10th June, 2007 01:54 AM
Athlon 64 X2 4800+ Review: Dual Core Hits The Desktop danrok 64 Bit computing 8 10th May, 2005 07:38 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:53 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0