AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > AMD Motherboards & CPUs

AMD Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on AMD products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 24th April, 2002, 05:10 AM
.:N2:.
Guest
 
Posts: n/a

the dilly-0

set up box 1.

Soltek SL-75DRV5 (KT333)
XP-1800+ (Thermaltake Volcano 7)
GeForce 4 MX440 64mb (Chaintech)
512Mb Nanya DDR (thermaltake spread)
and a whole bunch of extra crap, this is a "sold" box.
it has ATA133 80Gb 7200rpm HDD, 6in1 flash reader, Zip, Floppy, Lite-On 40x12x48 CDRW,
and a Thermaltake Hardcano {HDD cooler/temp sensors}

on a stock install (WinME), and stock settings, with supplied drivers,

5270 marks in 3Dmark2001 SE

then i found this bit called "RedStorm" right up in the BIOS

hmm... :nervous:
too ponderous to pass up.

gave me, without trying,

1658Mhz - 5485 marks

and BIOS now reads "XP2000+" as the CPU.

overall, this hardware combo rocks!
i have'nt even installed newer drivers or anything.
this is straight out the box!.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 24th April, 2002, 06:49 AM
mrpcman's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Anchorage, AK
Posts: 2,689
Send a message via AIM to mrpcman

that score still seems kinda week for taht setup..nice setup though...cept i wouldn't go with the mx, but to each their own.
__________________
Alex Worthen
Director Of Web Design for the Allied Sites Support Team
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 24th April, 2002, 07:01 AM
The Spyder's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Oregon
Posts: 4,086
Send a message via AIM to The Spyder Send a message via MSN to The Spyder

What drivers are you running- i would think a setup like that would pull 6000+= be sure to join the 3dmark 2001 team!
Spyder
__________________
~The Spyder~
I7 965, 6gigs, ASUS, 4870 X2, WD640 AALS Lian Li PC65
Nikon D700, 24-70, 70-200 2.8, SB 800x2
1993 Mazda Rx7 R1 345whp. 2008 Mazda 3 Hatch
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 24th April, 2002, 09:22 AM
Lionfish's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: So Cal, near Robbie
Posts: 2,767

The new BETA 28.90 Nvidia drivers are out .
__________________
Ep0x 8K3A, XP1700+ T-bred JIUHB-(310)XPMW,DLT3C,189x12.5=2.36
1 gig mb PC 3200 Corsair .
Swiftech H20 setup with MCW372 block.
eVGA 6800 GT.
350 w Sparkle PS.

XFIRE= rottys
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 24th April, 2002, 07:11 PM
.:N2:.
Guest
 
Posts: n/a

like i said, the whole rig is stock, as it came, out the box...

i have downloaded nothing! not even windoze updates.

the box aint even online yet LMAO

i ran the demo loop all night and now get 5496 marks



so, who does'nt see my point that theres been NO TWEAKING done?

yes, i do full well realize the scores can be better...

this was not what/why i posted. does nobody appreciate a decent score outta a stock rig?
does it not make one think of the potential?

as i said, it's already sold..
if the buyer wants to overclock it to hell and back, it's on them, not on me.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 24th April, 2002, 07:13 PM
.:N2:.
Guest
 
Posts: n/a

and thank you Lionfish
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 25th April, 2002, 06:59 AM
.:N2:.
Guest
 
Posts: n/a

last update?

so i got those beta drivers, and updated windows, took the CPU clocks up a bit, from default 270/405 to 280/420 using powerstrip.

5613 marks

(before the clock adj. and for the record,
the betas were proven to be slower, however better visually,
which for me is the needed improvement anyhow... so i'm just stickin w/ Betas)


after some further tweaking, nothing serious, more burning in etc..

i'm at 5666 :devil:
the devil is in the machine

i can't make it crash yet, so i suppose 2 more nights of Passmark's CPU burn in oughta prove it stable.

i doubt i'll be able to take it further as it's leaving and time remaining won't permit much more testing.

but now on to my GF3 Ti200
whaddya you guys suggest i build it with?

Shuttle AK35GTR
or
Gigabyte 7VTXE+ (leaning towards a blue mod showcase)
{why these choices? cuz it's what i got!} :P

got my 512 Nanya DDR, Thermalright AX7,
and XP1600+ AGOGA set and ready to go


umm.. she's at 5755 marks now :-D this is gettin better and better!!
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 25th April, 2002, 08:42 AM
mrpcman's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Anchorage, AK
Posts: 2,689
Send a message via AIM to mrpcman

Quote:
Originally posted by .:N2:.
like i said, the whole rig is stock, as it came, out the box...

i have downloaded nothing! not even windoze updates.

the box aint even online yet LMAO

i ran the demo loop all night and now get 5496 marks



so, who does'nt see my point that theres been NO TWEAKING done?

yes, i do full well realize the scores can be better...

this was not what/why i posted. does nobody appreciate a decent score outta a stock rig?
does it not make one think of the potential?

as i said, it's already sold..
if the buyer wants to overclock it to hell and back, it's on them, not on me.
I realize you said stock, and even for stock that seemed low to me..although it is an mx.
__________________
Alex Worthen
Director Of Web Design for the Allied Sites Support Team
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 25th April, 2002, 09:55 AM
Lionfish's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: So Cal, near Robbie
Posts: 2,767

Re: last update?

Quote:
Originally posted by .:N2:.
after some further tweaking, nothing serious, more burning in etc..
but now on to my GF3 Ti200
whaddya you guys suggest i build it with?

Shuttle AK35GTR
or
Gigabyte 7VTXE+ (leaning towards a blue mod showcase)
{why these choices? cuz it's what i got!} :P

got my 512 Nanya DDR, Thermalright AX7,
and XP1600+ AGOGA set and ready to go
Why not an E-pox ?

I would take the 1800+ out of what you have now and put the 1600+ in.
__________________
Ep0x 8K3A, XP1700+ T-bred JIUHB-(310)XPMW,DLT3C,189x12.5=2.36
1 gig mb PC 3200 Corsair .
Swiftech H20 setup with MCW372 block.
eVGA 6800 GT.
350 w Sparkle PS.

XFIRE= rottys
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 25th April, 2002, 04:44 PM
The Spyder's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Oregon
Posts: 4,086
Send a message via AIM to The Spyder Send a message via MSN to The Spyder

I have had realy good luck w/ the gigabyte myself- i got my 1600 to 1668 last night- AGOIA stepping- needs to be unlocked and better ram-
Spyder
__________________
~The Spyder~
I7 965, 6gigs, ASUS, 4870 X2, WD640 AALS Lian Li PC65
Nikon D700, 24-70, 70-200 2.8, SB 800x2
1993 Mazda Rx7 R1 345whp. 2008 Mazda 3 Hatch
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 26th April, 2002, 12:06 AM
SiGmA_X's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2002
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 1,529
Send a message via ICQ to SiGmA_X Send a message via AIM to SiGmA_X Send a message via MSN to SiGmA_X Send a message via Yahoo to SiGmA_X

Re: the dilly-0

I hate to be rude, but those scores seem a little low to me. Maybe I am spoiled with my GeForce4Ti4400, but here's my rig, and the 3DMark2001SE scores. XP1900+ is OC'd to 1.68GHz, GF4 is not OC'd.

Soyo Dragon Plus!
XP1900+ (Cooled with Thermaltake Volcano 7 @ 300RPM)
GeForce4Ti4400 (PNY)
512MB PC2100 DDR
2xSeagate 60GB HD
1xIBM 80GB HD
Plextor 12x10x32x CDRW
Off-brand 16x DVD-ROM

3DMark2001 Score: 9815

That is my lowest score EVER. My best is with the GF4 OC'd to 300/600 and the XP1900 OC'd to 1716GHz. The score for that was 10639. I am trying to break 11,000 now.
__________________
"In war, it is not the goal to die for your country, but rather to make the other bastard die for his!"
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 26th April, 2002, 12:33 AM
dimmreaper's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: road to insanity
Posts: 5,347
Send a message via ICQ to dimmreaper Send a message via AIM to dimmreaper

Yo SiGma,

He's got the GF4MX. The MX versions of the GF4s do not support DirectX 8.0(really they are a GF2MX with a more efficient memory controller, faster memory, and faster core), so they don't provide very nice 3Dmark scores. Considering the parts he has, and the money he put in to his rig, that is a damn respectable score IMHO.
__________________
¤ Jeffery ¤

Wishing you were someone else is a waste of the person you are. - Kurt Cobain

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 26th April, 2002, 04:01 AM
SiGmA_X's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2002
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 1,529
Send a message via ICQ to SiGmA_X Send a message via AIM to SiGmA_X Send a message via MSN to SiGmA_X Send a message via Yahoo to SiGmA_X

I know that the GeForce4MX is just a little bit better then the GeForce2MX, but I still think it should get a higher score. Maybe not. I am really new to PC’s, but I have only gotten great scores. And I only put $1,300USD in to my computer (That’s including the Lian Li case that I got for $150USD)

Sorry for putting the score down, I guess.
__________________
"In war, it is not the goal to die for your country, but rather to make the other bastard die for his!"
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 26th April, 2002, 05:07 PM
.:N2:.
Guest
 
Posts: n/a

well this box cost, to build, well under $800 LMAO

5851 marks now, #1 in the same class, i'm also in the #2 spot LOL!!
(and #4) based on OS/GFX/and CPU speed from 1600-1650

thanks for seeing it Dimmreaper
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 26th April, 2002, 05:09 PM
.:N2:.
Guest
 
Posts: n/a

Sigma, i could build a whole nother box off the difference LMAO
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 26th April, 2002, 06:46 PM
SiGmA_X's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2002
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 1,529
Send a message via ICQ to SiGmA_X Send a message via AIM to SiGmA_X Send a message via MSN to SiGmA_X Send a message via Yahoo to SiGmA_X

That's true.
__________________
"In war, it is not the goal to die for your country, but rather to make the other bastard die for his!"
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 26th April, 2002, 07:56 PM
.:N2:.
Guest
 
Posts: n/a

to be honest, this box is mainly for 2D design..
which is why i went GF4MX..
it's fast, affordable, and should do about anything ya need it to, in a rapid fashion.

the CPU (XP1800) is capable of handling a workload, and backed up by 512Mb PC2100 DDR.

there won't ever be a game played on this box.

i've just pushed it a little to get it to perform well, but stability is the main goal.

why the Soltek mobo?
for ATA133 capabilities, and DDR333 capabilities, which ensures the box will be upgradeable (cost effectively) at least until 64bit O/S's and new fangled non-legacy boards and such become mainstream.

when that happens, all the high end printing gear these guys invested in probly won't work at all...
and so as far as i can see, this oughta carry them over till then.

and costwise- here's a breakdown.
(prices rounded up)

cpu $110
mobo $100
RAM $124
HDD $122
Cooler $22
case + 400wt PSU $50
vid card $85
___________
Total. $615

there are some extras like RAM heatspread and 6in1 card reader, but basically this box is really nice, and Very reasonably priced!

yea i know this could be seriously overclocked and all, but i can't sell it that way, just "Tweaked" is all i can really do.


EDIT: i spose my point is....

WHY BUY DELL??????
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 29th April, 2002, 04:59 AM
SiGmA_X's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2002
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 1,529
Send a message via ICQ to SiGmA_X Send a message via AIM to SiGmA_X Send a message via MSN to SiGmA_X Send a message via Yahoo to SiGmA_X

Ah. I understand now. And that price can't be beat for speed and performance (XP1800).

Heres a break down on my PC:

CPU - XP1900+ - $240
Mobo - Soyo Dragon+ - $150
RAM - PC2100, 512MB - $150
HDD - 2x60GB Seagate- $150 (2x75)
Vid - GeForce4Ti4400 - $300
Case & PS - Lian Li PC07 & Entermax 431W - $260
DVD-ROM - $70


That is the basics of my computer.
__________________
"In war, it is not the goal to die for your country, but rather to make the other bastard die for his!"
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 29th April, 2002, 02:16 PM
sar's Avatar
sar sar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: April 2002
Location: WünderLånd
Posts: 11

Hey Sigma_X, may I call ya Sig for short? Well it looks like you have a pretty SWëëT set up. How do ya like the Soyo mbd's? My bro is asking me to put a rig together for him and I'm researching several hardware possibilities.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old 29th April, 2002, 11:45 PM
.:N2:.
Guest
 
Posts: n/a

i've found Soyo to be of good quality, nice boards.

just price vs. features has'nt done much for me lately.

IMO, it seems like since the first Dragon mobo came out, which if i remember correctly, was a KT133, or 133A...
the popularity of their mobos went insane, (purple PCI slots and black PCB which was like the first "kool looking" mobo we saw) and in accordance, Soyo went the way of Asus and Abit and charged a whole lot for nuthin much extra, and sometimes less than you find in mobos for $50 cheaper.

that said, i'd definitely buy Soyo over Asus or Abit, in a heartbeat (based on MFR)



Oh, and from the looks of Sig's sig ( :clown: ) they seem to be really nice performers (O/C'ers) nowadays
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:05 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0