AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > AMD Motherboards & CPUs

AMD Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on AMD products?


View Poll Results: Which is faster?
multi 13.5 and FSB 260 in DDR2 533 mode= 3.51Ghz 1 50.00%
multi 13.5 and FSB 240 in DDR2 667 mode= 3.24Ghz 1 50.00%
Voters: 2. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 24th September, 2010, 09:56 PM
Member
 
Join Date: November 2006
Posts: 105
Send a message via AIM to Vash

Does having more FSB really make a difference?

Its been a hard time trying to find out whats stable, but it looks like my CPU stables out doing the following: it looks like my ram is my limiting factor. but iam not sure whats faster because in order for me to get a larger CPU OC, i have to slow down my ram.

the problem with me getting to 260 FSB to make 3.5Ghz is that i have to lower my ram to DDR2 533. The second option is done with it in DDR2 667 mode, and my ram is a DDR2 800 natrually but no matter how many volts i send at it, it won't too much past 200 FSB

the first option is technically running at: 650 taking into account of the divider
the second option is techically running at: 800 taking into account of the divider

i guess my real question is if the divider really effects performance enough for me to have a lower clock with a lower divider.
__________________
Epox Nforce 2 + AMD Athlon XP 2800 Barton OCed to a 3200+

Last edited by Vash; 24th September, 2010 at 10:13 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 25th September, 2010, 01:34 AM
bonesaw's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2006
Location: chicago
Posts: 1,271
Send a message via AIM to bonesaw

i would get better ram or lower the multi and see how high you can get your ram stable, work around your weakest component.
__________________
main rig
q9450 under a true 3.5
Gigabyte p45 ud3p F9 bios
g. skill 6400 5-5-5-15-2t 4 gigs
Evga 450 gts
Thermaltake Armor
Ocz700w
300gb Seagate ide + Seagate 750gb sata
Logitech thx 5300 5.1
Acer 19' wide al1916w
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 25th September, 2010, 01:39 AM
Member
 
Join Date: April 2005
Location: AZ
Posts: 2,446

Depends on the system. Northbridge equipped systems benefit significantly from high FSB. AMD and Intel stuff with onboard memory controllers do not actually have a FSB so the number is pretty much mythical and just a means of determining speed.

Go for CPU speed first, use whatever divider necessary, then move onto tweaking memory timings to eliminate wasted ticks.
__________________
Biostar TForce X58 - Core i7 920 - 12GB Corsair Dominator DDR3 - EVGA 560ti - PCP&C 750W - Dual boot, Arch Linux/WinXP
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 25th September, 2010, 07:35 AM
Member
 
Join Date: November 2006
Posts: 105
Send a message via AIM to Vash

Quote:
Originally Posted by bonesaw View Post
i would get better ram or lower the multi and see how high you can get your ram stable, work around your weakest component.
both my CPU and RAM are the weakest parts sadly.. so iam using the dividers to sorta cheat and use a huge divider to gain more FSB.

my limits seem to be around 800Mhz DRAM fequency which seems kinda normal considering iam using DDR2 800 (Patroit Extreme game edition)

so heres what i found to be memtest86+ stable with stable Othros 12 hour:

DDR2 800 mode with 200FSB and 5 divider (400Mhz in CPUZ)
DDR2 667 mode with 240FSB and 6 divider (400Mhz in CPUZ)
DDR2 533 mode with 260FSB and 8 divider (347Mhz in CPUZ)

SO TECHNICALLY with me running it at 260 FSB i have to use a huge divider and my ram does not run at its normal 400Mhz but at 347 instead.

I think i given up on the idea... in order for me to stay at 400 DRAM frequency i think i will need to be able to go higher on the CPU multi =( because i would just do 14.5x240FSB and that would be 3.480 Ghz which is close enough to where iam at right now...


YOUR right about how my ram is mostly my weakest tho.. because I can't go higher in Ghz to really test out this CPU... i have noticed on other forums people are getting 4Ghz with this CPU... but with my ram iam sorta stuck.... because i hit the wall around 260FSB... unsure if its because of the ram OR the CPU. http://www.overclock.net/attachments...32m-wprime.jpg

ahhhh well this build was actually 220 dollars with shipping... so i guess i'll have to leave it at what it is... i'll drop the divider 1 more step tomorrow to see if i can get any higher FSB numbers but from my understanding the bigger the divider the less stable it becomes as well?

heres someone with my exact same clock saying his ram is his limit as well =( http://www.overclock.net/amd-cpus/56...-140-a-11.html
__________________
Epox Nforce 2 + AMD Athlon XP 2800 Barton OCed to a 3200+

Last edited by Vash; 25th September, 2010 at 07:42 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 25th September, 2010, 06:54 PM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

The road to overclocking is sometimes bumpier than we'd like. Best of luck!
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How big a difference will this make? Daston AMD Motherboards & CPUs 1 20th February, 2006 09:11 AM
What a difference decent memory can make! Lazgoat AMD Motherboards & CPUs 9 26th August, 2005 12:04 AM
cache speed make a difference? smiffy ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team 5 24th August, 2003 07:45 AM
You too can make a difference! Allan Random Nonsense! 3 10th August, 2002 09:41 PM
RAD position change make a difference??? chazz469 Cooling & Temperature Monitoring 19 4th June, 2002 07:10 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:44 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0