AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home

Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > AMD Motherboards & CPUs

AMD Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on AMD products?

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 27th June, 2013, 02:39 AM

Build #3 -- an AMD PCIe gamer for me :)!

Actually, not really as simple as that! I've been asked to build a gamer for a friend (my neighbor), and outside of my experience with AGP, my recent build for his daughter, and a fair amount of internet reading, I'm still learning.

Fortunately, one can pickup quite a lot from the net and it's not as if my AGP experience (current gamer) is a discard. So, this build really has three purposes, one being to satisfy my personal curiosity as to the capability of some affordable components I like, two being to evaluate likely core components for an FPS oriented friend (streaming multi-player upper midrange to perhaps lower upper with time), and lastly to construct something that would comfortably satisfy my own single-player not-so-much-FPS interests. Given a basically midrange to plus target, I'm currently viewing AMD as a probably good basis for all of the above, with variations coming down more to clocking and video card selection than anything else. A major AMD advantage being helping keep build cost down.