AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > AMD Motherboards & CPUs

AMD Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on AMD products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 13th May, 2002, 02:47 AM
.:N2:.
Guest
 
Posts: n/a

raising voltages?

the board allows for a raise in DDR and AGP voltage.

i have the RAM slightly pushed, same as the GF3, and i already have CPU vcore at 1.85 just cuz LOL

so the question is,

do you guys "Unofficially" recommend bumping the AGP/DIMM voltages a notch?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 13th May, 2002, 03:10 AM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

Different strokes for different folks. If you are not OCing the mobo, I suggest backing down to spec voltage values. No point in making life hotter for the components without good reason.

An extra notch for the RAM is often a must for a stable OC. This is true if you want to lean on your Vidcard hard, too. Summer is coming, so thermal choices become more critical.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 13th May, 2002, 05:23 AM
.:N2:.
Guest
 
Posts: n/a

well, i could'nt wait on responses... i had the bug up my butt to give it more juice so i posted, then shut down and raised it.

see, everythings fine, but after like 7-8 rounds of CS i just up and reboot.

i can run passmarks burn-in and 3Dmark 2001SE all day no probs.
the only issue has been CS. even max payne w/ all settings maxxed was lovely!

the CPU is at 140, the RAM at 166 CL2, the vid at 240/540

CPU 1.85v, DIMM 1.6v, AGP 1.7v

possibly will go to 1.7 for the ram. i have a heatspreader on it.
i'll do some better cooling soon,
not sure what's better than Gainwards GPU cooler tho? the ramsinks are sucky..

and i removed the hsk/fan off the Northbridge also, i'm sure that's not helping.

and Edit:
i'll be giving it another go, with the higher voltage now.. hoping the lack of voltage was all the rebooting was.
also this is a lousy PSU (also possible issue-maker) but new units will be in any day
__________________

Last edited by .:N2:.; 13th May, 2002 at 05:31 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 13th May, 2002, 01:18 PM
Holst's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Leics UK
Posts: 4,528

Ive been running my Crucial PC-2100 at 3.2v for six months with no problems so far.

Running increased voltage will reduce component life .. FACT

With a fan blowing over my memory temperatures are fine and I dont think im in any emmediate danger. I have two sticks, hopefully one will die beofre the other and Ill be able to drop the voltage and save the other.

Diferent memory brands may react in diferent ways to higher voltage, it seems Micron chips can stand it, samsung may react diferently.

As for AGP voltage ive never had that option with my motherboards.

The main advice I can give is be carefull, watch your memory temperatures and dont ever run your memory in an unstable state, if your getting artifacts or crashes then thats a good indication that your pushing too hard.
__________________
No longer Epox Tech.

Best of luck in the future all my friends.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 13th May, 2002, 01:19 PM
mookydooky's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: Everywhere you want to be.
Posts: 7,903
Send a message via MSN to mookydooky

You probably got it right. You're most likely having a power issue. Spontaneous reboots tend to be most indicative of a poor PSU.
__________________
Need a laugh? Take a peek at
AOA's Mookydooky's "Just for laughs!" Joke Topic


AOA Team fah

我喜欢大屁股, 我不能骗你..... 他们弟兄不能否认......
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 13th May, 2002, 09:47 PM
.:N2:.
Guest
 
Posts: n/a

well, i have had no reboots after raising the voltages. i played CS for like 6hrs straight and it was, well, amazing compared to my old rig, which was a stock system running:

800mhz duron
512 PC133 DDR CL2
ECS K7VZA KT133a chipset
GF2 MX 32Mb

while i got around 2800 marks with it, and could play any game at all, just fine...

this new box is definitely a big visual difference!

now i'm doing copper cooling for the NB/SB on the mobo.

is it just me, or is the KT333 Not a flat chipset??
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fund raising! ajopz Random Nonsense! 7 16th August, 2005 11:33 AM
AOA Fund raising? MONKEYMAN Forum Feedback and Suggestion Box 18 16th July, 2005 08:05 PM
RAM Voltages Gizmo Hardware Hacking 0 14th May, 2004 11:03 PM
Voltages???? Postaldave CRASHED! 11 3rd June, 2003 04:28 AM
Raising the AGP voltage...? proze Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 0 5th November, 2002 10:10 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:25 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0