AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > AMD Motherboards & CPUs

AMD Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on AMD products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 11th October, 2001, 02:44 AM
SJAXKINGPIN's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Central IL.
Posts: 149
Send a message via Yahoo to SJAXKINGPIN

Athlon XP M/B Compat.

Can anyone tell me what the rule is for mainboards that will work w/ the AthlonXP's. Will any Tbird board work, only DDR, etc???

I'm likely going to go w/ the new Shuttle board based on the 266A, but I'm curious anyway.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 11th October, 2001, 02:53 AM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

Try asking our resident EPoX Rep. he should give you at lest part of your answer. (EPoX Topic, top of main page":O}
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 11th October, 2001, 03:16 AM
Superman's Avatar
Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: WI
Posts: 4,406
Send a message via ICQ to Superman

Basically anything that supports KT133A or newer should support the XP as KT133A supports a 133mhz FSB. Unfortunantly, not all boards will support the SSE features of the chip. You will have to go to the mb manufactuer's website and see if they issued a BIOS upgrade to support the XP.
__________________
"And, most of all, remember this descendant of David who beat the hell out of death."
-from the book "Six Hours One Friday" by Max Lucado

"You have to go outside the sequence of engines, into the world of men, to find the real originator of the rocket. Is it not equally reasonable to look outside nature for the real Originator of the natural order?
-C.S. Lewis


Director of JavaScript section of the Allied Sites Support Team, web designer and programmer for DaOCPlace, and co-web designer and programmer for AOA Files

Avatar by Epox Tech



<>< I Believe-Do You?
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 11th October, 2001, 04:46 AM
SJAXKINGPIN's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Central IL.
Posts: 149
Send a message via Yahoo to SJAXKINGPIN

Thanks for the info, guys. Big'ups to you both!!!

Athlon XP, here I come!!!
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 11th October, 2001, 03:03 PM
TranceBear's Avatar
Banned
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Denver, CO.
Posts: 290
Send a message via ICQ to TranceBear Send a message via AIM to TranceBear Send a message via Yahoo to TranceBear

I have teasted ALL of the MSI boards at work and they work with BIOS upgrades. As of last night they all have the upgraded BIOS' available. The 2 Asus boards we have do not work all that good. The A7M and the A7V. We have no other boards so that just covers the ones listed. The 2 good ones with massive support is the Turbo and 266Pro from MSI. And y'all wondered why I am MSI crazy!!
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 11th October, 2001, 03:34 PM
Jen Jen is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: September 2001
Posts: 138

I have heard the early revison ABIT KT7A's are not working right with the athlonxp.



Jen
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 13th October, 2001, 09:06 AM
sonny's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Really Hot Place on Earth
Posts: 77

The ABIT KT7A-RAID Version 1.2 and below will not work even with a BIOS update only version 1.3 with a BIOS update. I'm hoping that the KR7-RAID will be XP complient & since it's taking them forever to release I hope they're the 1st ones to read the in die thermo diode.
__________________
¤ABIT KT7A-RAID 3S BIOS
¤1.1GHz 200FSB AXHA-9 1.75V @ 1.434GHz 286FSB 10 X 143 1.93V
¤28°C idle & 44°C load DOrb3 + PC70 w/ 6 X 80mm & 120mm(131CFM)
¤GF2MX 230core/205mem
¤431W Enermax PSU
¤2 X 20Gig Barracuda III RAID0
¤WXP Pro
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 14th October, 2001, 07:15 AM
EPoX Tech's Avatar
EPoX Tech
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Seems not to matter
Posts: 4,720

This is not just a chipset issue. This is also to do with power regulation.

Athlon XP is high voltage, low current design which means a very stable power regulation circuitry will be required.

Boards with 3 phase power are ideal for this. Boards with high current stability requirement will not run Athlon XP.
__________________
If you need EPoX BIOS eeproms in the UK, goto http://www.epox.org.....................
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 14th October, 2001, 08:14 AM
Lionfish's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: So Cal, near Robbie
Posts: 2,767

Quote:
Originally posted by TranceBear
I have teasted ALL of the MSI boards at work and they work with BIOS upgrades. As of last night they all have the upgraded BIOS' available. The 2 Asus boards we have do not work all that good. The A7M and the A7V. We have no other boards so that just covers the ones listed. The 2 good ones with massive support is the Turbo and 266Pro from MSI. And y'all wondered why I am MSI crazy!!
I am happy with my Master

I like the live bios. As I just did it again, now I am ready for a XP.

MS-6341
(K7 Master)

Current BIOS Version: 1.30


Please Select and Click the button at right to download and update the BIOS online.


Supported BIOS:
Version Bios Revision History Size Update
1.30 1. This is the AWARD(r) BIOS release.
2. This BIOS fixes the following problems of the previous version:
-Update AMD recommended CPU string for Athlon XP CPU.
3. 2001/10/04
__________________
Ep0x 8K3A, XP1700+ T-bred JIUHB-(310)XPMW,DLT3C,189x12.5=2.36
1 gig mb PC 3200 Corsair .
Swiftech H20 setup with MCW372 block.
eVGA 6800 GT.
350 w Sparkle PS.

XFIRE= rottys
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 15th October, 2001, 12:00 AM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

It seems to me that high voltage at low current is definitely a design improvement! Voltage is "cheap," while current is not.

Wouldn't the quality of the PS be more important than the mainboard's voltage regulation ability? If the PS supplies accurate voltage you'd think that the mobo's VR ability becomes more of a secondary concern.

Don't ask me, I'm not an EE!
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 15th October, 2001, 03:49 AM
William's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Birmingham, AL
Posts: 371
Send a message via ICQ to William Send a message via AIM to William

the new ECS board is supposed to support it which is good since I got one .
__________________





Allied Sites Support Team - Content/Design (director)
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 15th October, 2001, 05:18 AM
LinkStatic's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Arreat Plateau, Barbarian Highlands
Posts: 19

wow.... This means that my Iwill KK266 will work with XP. KT133a... 3-phase power supply.... Great!!!!
__________________
"It's fine to believe in ourselves, but we mustn't be too easily
convinced." -- - Burton Hillis


~>Powered by AMD Duron Processor<~
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 15th October, 2001, 05:21 AM
dimmreaper's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: road to insanity
Posts: 5,347
Send a message via ICQ to dimmreaper Send a message via AIM to dimmreaper

Quote:
Originally posted by cloasters
Wouldn't the quality of the PS be more important than the mainboard's voltage regulation ability? If the PS supplies accurate voltage you'd think that the mobo's VR ability becomes more of a secondary concern.
Nope its the other way round. Remember that the CPU does not draw a constant current(it varies with load), that makes high quality Vcore voltage regulation a must. Once high quality onboard voltage regulation is in place, the PSU's current quality becomes less of an issue. The onboard step down switching supply will keep the Vcore constant as CPU load varies, and as source current from the ATX PSU's 5v rail varies.
__________________
¤ Jeffery ¤

Wishing you were someone else is a waste of the person you are. - Kurt Cobain

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 15th October, 2001, 06:04 AM
EPoX Tech's Avatar
EPoX Tech
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Seems not to matter
Posts: 4,720

Quote:
Originally posted by dimmreaper
Nope its the other way round. Remember that the CPU does not draw a constant current(it varies with load), that makes high quality Vcore voltage regulation a must. Once high quality onboard voltage regulation is in place, the PSU's current quality becomes less of an issue. The onboard step down switching supply will keep the Vcore constant as CPU load varies, and as source current from the ATX PSU's 5v rail varies.
Very true and very well worded.
__________________
If you need EPoX BIOS eeproms in the UK, goto http://www.epox.org.....................
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 24th June, 2003, 12:32 PM
Member
 
Join Date: June 2003
Posts: 1

More compatability

Quote:
Originally Posted by EPoX Tech
This is not just a chipset issue. This is also to do with power regulation.

Athlon XP is high voltage, low current design which means a very stable power regulation circuitry will be required.

Boards with 3 phase power are ideal for this. Boards with high current stability requirement will not run Athlon XP.
Is this why the Epox EP-8KTA3 won't run Athlon XP chips?

Bought the M/B 2 years ago, has been running my 1Ghz (AXIA) Athlon overclocked to 1.33 GHz flawlessly for that time. I am not entirely sure it it is a 8KTA3 and not a KTA3 Pro- is there any way of telling (e.g. would it say 'EP-8KTA3pro' on the board rather than 'EP-8KTA3'? The pictures of the 'pro' board on the website don't say 'pro' though).

Any advice would be great! Can't afford more than a processor upgrade @ moment.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
S754 Sempron VS S754 Athlon 64 VS Athlon Xp-M Rondog AMD Motherboards & CPUs 24 24th August, 2005 09:18 PM
Athlon 64 GrahamGarside ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team 0 13th January, 2005 01:38 AM
Athlon 64, Athlon 64 FX and Pentium 4 Benchmarks @ Acehardware! :) Nate-X AMD Motherboards & CPUs 2 23rd September, 2003 10:07 PM
Soundblaster compat /w 8KHA+ ?????? Feathers EPoX MotherBoards 5 25th November, 2001 05:02 PM
Athlon XP M/B Compat. SJAXKINGPIN EPoX MotherBoards 5 6th November, 2001 11:34 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:15 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0