AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > AMD Motherboards & CPUs

AMD Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on AMD products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 13th June, 2002, 07:01 PM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

Unlock a Morgan

Well I TRIED to unlock my Morgan last night. They should really make thase bridges a little smaller.

Needless to say I was unsucsessful. After every attempt I came up with a 11.5 mult upon boot up. Cleaned it up and tried again, and again, and again. AAAHHHH.

I don't know what I am doing wrong. I unlocked my Bird first attempt.

I tried defroster kit and a pencil. Any tips here would be great. I am assuming since I kept getting the 11.5 mult I was not making contact on 1 of bridges.

That was way too much fun for one night.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 13th June, 2002, 07:22 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: September 2001
Posts: 5,957

Actually, I think you're crossing a connection.

I've had nothing but problems with unlocking, my duron is a very messy unlock and it doesn't hit all the multipliers, but hits the one I need . My XP1700 unlock attempt failed miserably
__________________

Last edited by Pinky; 13th June, 2002 at 07:26 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 13th June, 2002, 07:40 PM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

Well I'm glad it's not just me.

I am bringing the microscope home from work this weekend. Maybe that will help. If I knoew which ones to cross to get 7.5 I would just do that and leave it,
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 13th June, 2002, 07:50 PM
dimmreaper's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: road to insanity
Posts: 5,347
Send a message via ICQ to dimmreaper Send a message via AIM to dimmreaper

Be sure that you are using a small lead mechanical pencile, be sure that you are getting a lot of graphite on there. If it looks good, but still isn't working, then erase the pencile and ever so lightly sand the bridges with 1000 sand paper so that they turn from gold in color to silver, the bridges are aluminum with some type of gold colored electroplating on them, this removes the electroplating for better contact.
__________________
¤ Jeffery ¤

Wishing you were someone else is a waste of the person you are. - Kurt Cobain

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 13th June, 2002, 07:58 PM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

My xp 1600+ wouldn't unlock either. My cellphone repair kit did nothing... I tried sanding (only had 200 handy, so I was extra careful), now I get the 10x only... So when I have the chance, I'm gonna sand a little more. I know I have 600 around somewhere.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 13th June, 2002, 08:01 PM
Super's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Mississauga, Canada
Posts: 535
Send a message via ICQ to Super Send a message via AIM to Super

I had problems with a Morgan too. I unlocked it second time, and it worked. Don't think first time I crossed some bridges, but that was probably the case.
__________________
!!!!Leafs are still #1!!!!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 13th June, 2002, 08:09 PM
eobard
Guest
 
Posts: n/a

If you're going to paint the bridges, use a spare cat's wisker. Spare as in not attatched to the cat anymore and given up freely by time, not force.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 13th June, 2002, 08:14 PM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

Those dang bridges are too small for me to mess with. Hopefully, raising FSB will do the trick, after I get a 1 Ghz Duron to play with.
I have magnification handy, but the bridges still give me the willies. Duron's rock, in their humble way.
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 14th June, 2002, 12:14 AM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

Well I thought the Tbird was bad. This morgan has 5 bridges and oh so small. I will try again. I am not one to give up so easily.....

I'm off to commit surgery.....ha ha ha haaaaa
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 14th June, 2002, 03:16 AM
whatever's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: moon
Posts: 1,132

Quote:
Originally posted by Samuknow
Well I'm glad it's not just me.

Maybe that will help. If I knoew which ones to cross to get 7.5 I would just do that and leave it,
The purpose of connecting the 5 L1 bridges on the Durons is to allow the motherboard to take control on selecting the multiplier.
Try again and again and again and again. But this time, use the 2B lead mechanical pencil. 2B is some strong stuff. Very dark and soft.

2B worked for me in 1st attemp on the Morgan Duron 1ghz. My Morgan Duron 1.3ghz was unlocked by my 2B mechanical pencil also. The 1.3 Duron is a bit... different. I won't get into that since the topic isn't about Duron 1.3.

Like you said, don't give up and keep trying. You'll feel so good when you succeed. Good luck and have fun penciling! :devil:
__________________
sig
HTPC
Conroe E6600 + stock cooler @ 3.2ghz
ATi X1950XTX 512 CrossFire
Triple WD Raptor 10k HDDs@ raid 0
50" Panasonic Plasma TH50PHD7UY
50" Panasonic Plasma TH50PH9UK
BetterCable SilverSerpent SVGA & DVI-D
Sony BWU-100A Blu-Ray PC Drive

p4 - superPi - 31 sec.
pM - superPi - 28 sec.
conroe - superPi - 14 sec.

Last edited by whatever; 14th June, 2002 at 03:18 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 14th June, 2002, 03:22 AM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

I haven't the will to try it tonight. Perhaps this weekend. And yet the night is still young. Probably not a task for a late night I have to do something frenzy though.

Does the pencil last or will I have to endure this once again?

I tried the defroster kit and a very sharp probing tool but, well, you already know the rest of the story......
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 14th June, 2002, 03:30 AM
eobard
Guest
 
Posts: n/a

Quote:
Originally posted by Samuknow
I haven't the will to try it tonight. Perhaps this weekend. And yet the night is still young. Probably not a task for a late night I have to do something frenzy though.

Does the pencil last or will I have to endure this once again?

I tried the defroster kit and a very sharp probing tool but, well, you already know the rest of the story......
Many people, myself included, have had their penciling wear out after 3-4 months.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 14th June, 2002, 11:35 AM
Random Nonsense's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: USS Great Britain, aircraft carrier, moored off the northwest coast of Europe
Posts: 3,340
Send a message via ICQ to Random Nonsense Send a message via Yahoo to Random Nonsense

The best way is conductive ink, or defogger, its permanent, if a little more tricky to do (if you use tape to mask it, you can get very neat results.
__________________
Dual XP1600+ AGOIA "Y" @ 1875mhz WATERCOOLED 33C LOAD

Undergoing overhaul. Hard Locking to 13.5X multiplier for theoretical clockrate of 1944mhz 144mhz FSB

1X Duron 1.3 AHCLA "9" @ 1430mhz

1X Celeron 1000mhz

1X Pentium3 450 DECEASED

Folding Under AOA-UK for team 45!



"Mothers should love their babies, because then they grow up, everyone might hate them."
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 19th June, 2002, 02:13 AM
wonko the sane's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: June 2002
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 20
Send a message via ICQ to wonko the sane Send a message via AIM to wonko the sane

are there pits on the morgan that need to be filled like on the palomino XP's? or can i just connect the bridges?
__________________
One of the major problems with time travel is not that of accidentally becoming your own father or mother. There is no problem with changing the course of history-- the course of history does not change because it all fits together like a jigsaw. The major problem is quite simply one of gramar...
--Douglas Adams

My Heatware
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 19th June, 2002, 02:16 AM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

Just play connect the dots. No pits.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 19th June, 2002, 02:26 AM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

Quote:
Originally posted by SteveI
Just play connect the dots. No pits.
Unfortunatly the "dots" are microscopic...
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 19th June, 2002, 03:52 AM
The Spyder's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Oregon
Posts: 4,086
Send a message via AIM to The Spyder Send a message via MSN to The Spyder

With the highspeed pc kit it came with a 6x magnifyer :-D Works great- just have to have steady hands- i dont- i have my bro do it-
SPyder
__________________
~The Spyder~
I7 965, 6gigs, ASUS, 4870 X2, WD640 AALS Lian Li PC65
Nikon D700, 24-70, 70-200 2.8, SB 800x2
1993 Mazda Rx7 R1 345whp. 2008 Mazda 3 Hatch
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 19th June, 2002, 10:11 AM
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Uptown, MN
Posts: 55
Send a message via ICQ to SickBoy Send a message via AIM to SickBoy

I had no issues unlocking both of the 1.2 GHz Durons in my dual system using a good ol' Bic mechanical pencil....
__________________
Member #100

Abit KT7A-Raid----TBird 1 GHz@1333------Alpha PAL8045--------1.8v
MSI K7D Master---2x Duron 1.2@1320-----Glaciator II and SK6----1.75V
Asus A7N266-VM-----XP 1800+----SVC GC12----1.75V

"People want to know what I'm on. What am I on?!? I'm on my bike, six hours a day."

-Lance Armstrong, cancer survivor, father, and four-time Tour de France champion
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 19th June, 2002, 02:31 PM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

Ok I'll take that as a challenge. I will do this if it kills me or that chip...
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old 19th June, 2002, 05:40 PM
The Spyder's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Oregon
Posts: 4,086
Send a message via AIM to The Spyder Send a message via MSN to The Spyder

There not that expensive are they...............
__________________
~The Spyder~
I7 965, 6gigs, ASUS, 4870 X2, WD640 AALS Lian Li PC65
Nikon D700, 24-70, 70-200 2.8, SB 800x2
1993 Mazda Rx7 R1 345whp. 2008 Mazda 3 Hatch
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Spitfire versus Morgan SteveI AMD Motherboards & CPUs 17 10th September, 2003 11:07 AM
Unlocking a 1300 morgan Random Nonsense AMD Motherboards & CPUs 2 10th September, 2002 10:12 PM
1gig morgan AHCLA SteveI AMD Motherboards & CPUs 19 28th July, 2002 09:32 PM
Morgan Core @1.33ghz SteveI ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team 9 28th May, 2002 03:54 AM
1Ghz Duron is a Morgan? Superman AMD Motherboards & CPUs 14 12th April, 2002 03:06 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:16 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0