AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > AMD Motherboards & CPUs

AMD Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on AMD products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 14th June, 2002, 02:54 PM
nab572's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 44
Send a message via AIM to nab572 Send a message via Yahoo to nab572

Recently replaced motherboard

I'm hoping someone can offer some insight on this...

Last week, I replaced the motherboard & CPU in a computer. All in all, things are working.... BUT... after about an hour or so working on it, everything locks up & the computer has to be rebooted.

Any suggestions?

Thanks...
__________________
Nicole
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 14th June, 2002, 05:05 PM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

Let's take a few steps back. What were the components you swapped out? What are the new components? Did you reinstall the os? What os are you using.

The lock ups could be a lot of different things. Heck, while your at it, what are your other system specs, including psu?
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 14th June, 2002, 05:07 PM
nab572's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 44
Send a message via AIM to nab572 Send a message via Yahoo to nab572

OK, the new parts are.... AMD Duron 1.0 GHz CPU, motherboard (forget the exact specs on that), 300W PS, 256 MB PC133 SDRAM... I think that was it.

Didn't reinstall the O/S. That was my 1st thought.

Thing is... I let it run for a long time & it was fine, but it locks up while working.
__________________
Nicole
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 14th June, 2002, 07:02 PM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

It could be because your OS had the appropriate drivers loaded for the old board... when you swapped mobos, the os attempted on the fly to identify all the new parts, and replace them with the appropriate drivers. This is not foolproof. Depending on the OS, old drivers, and how close your new parts are, you will have varying degrees of success. Your registry may be all mucked up, so that it loads a lot of stuff that is unnecessary, and then causes conflicts that are not always apparent.

Since you can boot up, I recommend backing up all important data, get all your install and driver disks within arms reach, and start with a clean slate (format c: ). Troubleshooting, driver by driver can be a mess. (Then again, I'm lazy and always look for the easiest way to avoid problems).
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 14th June, 2002, 08:24 PM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

Some folks simply boot into Safe Mode and remove all the drivers, as the last thing before removing the mainboard that will be replaced.

Some people format their c:\ drive right after they install the new mainboard.

Those that want to make sure that the new mainboard works to the best of its ability fdisk their HDD right after installing the new mobo. Then they format the new partition(s). The issue is that the HDD still "thinks" that the old mainboard is still in the box. A new board's new BIOS needs to be acknowledged, IMHO.
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 14th June, 2002, 08:51 PM
nab572's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 44
Send a message via AIM to nab572 Send a message via Yahoo to nab572

Well unfortunately removing all the drivers before removing the old mb wasn't an option... the old mb was fried.


__________________
Nicole
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 18th June, 2002, 04:59 PM
Random Nonsense's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: USS Great Britain, aircraft carrier, moored off the northwest coast of Europe
Posts: 3,340
Send a message via ICQ to Random Nonsense Send a message via Yahoo to Random Nonsense

Can you let us know the temperature its running at? It could be something simple like a heatsink not seated properly!
__________________
Dual XP1600+ AGOIA "Y" @ 1875mhz WATERCOOLED 33C LOAD

Undergoing overhaul. Hard Locking to 13.5X multiplier for theoretical clockrate of 1944mhz 144mhz FSB

1X Duron 1.3 AHCLA "9" @ 1430mhz

1X Celeron 1000mhz

1X Pentium3 450 DECEASED

Folding Under AOA-UK for team 45!



"Mothers should love their babies, because then they grow up, everyone might hate them."
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
laptop hd replaced barneygumble742 CRASHED! 8 5th July, 2006 11:39 PM
Get WinXP to boot on mobo and other hardware thats been replaced. Chesso OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS 4 2nd March, 2005 02:13 PM
8kha+ : processor replaced now hardware failuer ericxv EPoX MotherBoards 11 12th December, 2004 04:22 AM
replaced BIOS...got error message please help, or i might cry Invalid CRASHED! 4 17th March, 2003 08:57 PM
Anyone Seen Kat Recently ? Southern Man ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team 18 20th November, 2001 07:28 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:32 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0