AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > AMD Motherboards & CPUs

AMD Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on AMD products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #81 (permalink)  
Old 23rd July, 2002, 08:42 PM
Uncle Bob's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2002
Location: Blaine, WA
Posts: 3,734

Quote:
Originally posted by mookydooky


They both look good. 2A on the 5Vsb line is usually sufficient. I think though, that I would opt for the Sparkle. I see Willz 5V line dropping to 4.7 and that does not bode well for the 8K3A. It is however, somewhat expected seeing he has his CPU OCed to almost 2Ghz.

SPARKLE 400 WATTS ATX UL APPROVED POWER SUPPLY MODEL # FSP400-60GN(12V) - OEM AMD (Athlon XP 2100+) Approved & Intel Pentium 4 Ready - One Year Warranty Model#: FSP400-60GN(12V) -OEM Special FedEx Saver Shipping $6.00

I have quite a few fans, 5 case fans, and of course, a HS fan, and 3 hard drive coolers. These are all 12 v though. I am running all this on a 350 w (I was mistaken earlier I quoted a 300 w).
__________________
Main Rig: Gigabyte GA-965P-DQ6 (rev. 1.0) cooled by the Monster Water Cooling Setup
HTPC One BIG Case Asus 8 CORE Monster
Current PC Count:
ASROCK: 1 * BIOSTAR: 1 * ASUS: 5 * CHAINTECH: 7 * GIGABYTE: 2 *IWILL: 1 * MSI: 3* TYAN: 2
175+ GHZ total power for PC Perspective Killer Frogs Climate Prediction Team as The Uncle B's!!
and more coming all the time!

I'm the Uncle your Aunt won't talk about. Go ahead and pull my finger!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #82 (permalink)  
Old 23rd July, 2002, 08:55 PM
mookydooky's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: Everywhere you want to be.
Posts: 7,903
Send a message via MSN to mookydooky

Dang! I didn't realize you had that many fans! You're using a total of 9 fans which is probably sucking up somewhere in the neighborhood of 20-30 Watts by themselves, and you have 5 drives. I can't imagine what'll happen if you use all 5 at the same time. It's a good thing you don't have a high powered video card.
__________________
Need a laugh? Take a peek at
AOA's Mookydooky's "Just for laughs!" Joke Topic


AOA Team fah

我喜欢大屁股, 我不能骗你..... 他们弟兄不能否认......
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #83 (permalink)  
Old 23rd July, 2002, 09:04 PM
Uncle Bob's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2002
Location: Blaine, WA
Posts: 3,734

Quote:
Originally posted by mookydooky
Dang! I didn't realize you had that many fans! You're using a total of 9 fans which is probably sucking up somewhere in the neighborhood of 20-30 Watts by themselves, and you have 5 drives. I can't imagine what'll happen if you use all 5 at the same time. It's a good thing you don't have a high powered video card.
Yeah, you know, if one fan is good, two is better, etc, right?
Actually the case came with 3 and they are all 120mm so they are really low wattage.

Me thinks I'll order the sparkle, look ok 2 u?
__________________
Main Rig: Gigabyte GA-965P-DQ6 (rev. 1.0) cooled by the Monster Water Cooling Setup
HTPC One BIG Case Asus 8 CORE Monster
Current PC Count:
ASROCK: 1 * BIOSTAR: 1 * ASUS: 5 * CHAINTECH: 7 * GIGABYTE: 2 *IWILL: 1 * MSI: 3* TYAN: 2
175+ GHZ total power for PC Perspective Killer Frogs Climate Prediction Team as The Uncle B's!!
and more coming all the time!

I'm the Uncle your Aunt won't talk about. Go ahead and pull my finger!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #84 (permalink)  
Old 23rd July, 2002, 09:14 PM
mookydooky's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: Everywhere you want to be.
Posts: 7,903
Send a message via MSN to mookydooky

All the EPoX guys swear by their Sparkles and I really can't argue against it. Holst says it the best PSU for the money so I would go for it. I would be loathe to blow more than 50 bucks on a PSU though. You need it though. My setups are very different than yours. I have a lot of machines with minimal configurations so they don't really need a lot of juice. Typical setup has 3 fans, one HD, GF2 video card, NIC, 256-768MB memory. Most of my machines use the onboard sound. I do have one rig setup so I can watch movies with surround sound, otherwise, most are just bread and butter.
__________________
Need a laugh? Take a peek at
AOA's Mookydooky's "Just for laughs!" Joke Topic


AOA Team fah

我喜欢大屁股, 我不能骗你..... 他们弟兄不能否认......
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #85 (permalink)  
Old 23rd July, 2002, 10:28 PM
Uncle Bob's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2002
Location: Blaine, WA
Posts: 3,734

Yeah, I know what you mean. It's my only machine, right now. I will use this PSU for another I am working on building. Thanks, I'll order it now. I've heard good things about these Sparkles as well.
__________________
Main Rig: Gigabyte GA-965P-DQ6 (rev. 1.0) cooled by the Monster Water Cooling Setup
HTPC One BIG Case Asus 8 CORE Monster
Current PC Count:
ASROCK: 1 * BIOSTAR: 1 * ASUS: 5 * CHAINTECH: 7 * GIGABYTE: 2 *IWILL: 1 * MSI: 3* TYAN: 2
175+ GHZ total power for PC Perspective Killer Frogs Climate Prediction Team as The Uncle B's!!
and more coming all the time!

I'm the Uncle your Aunt won't talk about. Go ahead and pull my finger!

Last edited by Uncle Bob; 23rd July, 2002 at 10:31 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #86 (permalink)  
Old 24th July, 2002, 04:56 AM
Uncle Bob's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2002
Location: Blaine, WA
Posts: 3,734

Hey, Dook, I was crashed all day, it is over 85 outside and probably 95 inside (office has southern exposure-great for the view of the Puget Sound, bad for temps in Summer!) and so I set it back to Optimized Defaults. Thought I'd show my voltages now!
Attached Images
 
__________________
Main Rig: Gigabyte GA-965P-DQ6 (rev. 1.0) cooled by the Monster Water Cooling Setup
HTPC One BIG Case Asus 8 CORE Monster
Current PC Count:
ASROCK: 1 * BIOSTAR: 1 * ASUS: 5 * CHAINTECH: 7 * GIGABYTE: 2 *IWILL: 1 * MSI: 3* TYAN: 2
175+ GHZ total power for PC Perspective Killer Frogs Climate Prediction Team as The Uncle B's!!
and more coming all the time!

I'm the Uncle your Aunt won't talk about. Go ahead and pull my finger!

Last edited by Uncle Bob; 28th July, 2002 at 04:14 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #87 (permalink)  
Old 26th July, 2002, 02:38 PM
Jen Jen is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: September 2001
Posts: 138

1600+ AGOIA week 13 and letter Y not unlocked at 175 fsb ........it does go into windows at 181 fsb. just needs more testing.


it did 1806mhz at default voltages till it got a bit shakey in games
Attached Thumbnails
Heard of the AGOIA 1600+?-wcpuid51.jpg  
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #88 (permalink)  
Old 26th July, 2002, 03:20 PM
mookydooky's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: Everywhere you want to be.
Posts: 7,903
Send a message via MSN to mookydooky

Excellent OC! I haven't had much time to play around with my rig this past week and it's still stuck at 1837Mhz. I'm gonna try to get at least 1850 out of her.
__________________
Need a laugh? Take a peek at
AOA's Mookydooky's "Just for laughs!" Joke Topic


AOA Team fah

我喜欢大屁股, 我不能骗你..... 他们弟兄不能否认......
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #89 (permalink)  
Old 26th July, 2002, 07:14 PM
The Spyder's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Oregon
Posts: 4,086
Send a message via AIM to The Spyder Send a message via MSN to The Spyder

what motherboad you have jen?
__________________
~The Spyder~
I7 965, 6gigs, ASUS, 4870 X2, WD640 AALS Lian Li PC65
Nikon D700, 24-70, 70-200 2.8, SB 800x2
1993 Mazda Rx7 R1 345whp. 2008 Mazda 3 Hatch
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #90 (permalink)  
Old 26th July, 2002, 10:00 PM
Jen Jen is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: September 2001
Posts: 138

Quote:
Originally posted by The Spyder
what motherboad you have jen?

motherboard is a Abit KX7 333R with full voltage mods


Jen
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #91 (permalink)  
Old 27th July, 2002, 12:32 AM
The Spyder's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Oregon
Posts: 4,086
Send a message via AIM to The Spyder Send a message via MSN to The Spyder

what do you mean full voltage mods? i have the AT7 max- (legacy free-version- same board- no ps2-)
__________________
~The Spyder~
I7 965, 6gigs, ASUS, 4870 X2, WD640 AALS Lian Li PC65
Nikon D700, 24-70, 70-200 2.8, SB 800x2
1993 Mazda Rx7 R1 345whp. 2008 Mazda 3 Hatch
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #92 (permalink)  
Old 27th July, 2002, 04:41 AM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

Quote:
Originally posted by Uncle Bob
Yeah, I know what you mean. It's my only machine, right now. I will use this PSU for another I am working on building. Thanks, I'll order it now. I've heard good things about these Sparkles as well.
I just got the same Enhance 300wPSU as you, 1125ATX (?). (I already had the other one, 0730). I just put it in K7S5A machine which is also very power sensitive like the 8KHA+. The readings I get are excellent. I'm going by memory but, under load it looked something like this:

CPU: 1.82v (stock 1.75v)
3.3: 3.36v
5.0v: 5.04v
12v: 12.52v

I am using SDR memory, 1 HDD, 1 DVD, and a low end 4xAGP card. Sound and LAN are on board. Save that PSU, it seems to handle the load fine. You're running a lot of HW, but on a less power hungry system, I think it's a fine PSU.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #93 (permalink)  
Old 27th July, 2002, 08:13 AM
Uncle Bob's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2002
Location: Blaine, WA
Posts: 3,734

Quote:
Originally posted by SteveI


I just got the same Enhance 300wPSU as you, 1125ATX (?). (I already had the other one, 0730). I just put it in K7S5A machine which is also very power sensitive like the 8KHA+. The readings I get are excellent. I'm going by memory but, under load it looked something like this:

CPU: 1.82v (stock 1.75v)
3.3: 3.36v
5.0v: 5.04v
12v: 12.52v

I am using SDR memory, 1 HDD, 1 DVD, and a low end 4xAGP card. Sound and LAN are on board. Save that PSU, it seems to handle the load fine. You're running a lot of HW, but on a less power hungry system, I think it's a fine PSU.
I have an Enermax 350 (I'd posted 300 but after looking over invoice, saw it was a 350) and my 5v numbers have been down. I am saving it for a server system I'm building: ABIT KT7A Raid, Duron 1GHz,k will put the SCSI card and drives in it and not sure what else yet. The Enermax would never hit 5.0 even with nothing overclocked. I just got the Sparkle 400w today and put it in. I tried posting at 166 FSB but as soon as Windows booted to the screen with icons, it rebooted everytime. I set it back to Optimim defaults and it ran fine. The 5 v reading was 5.05v so I'm looking good there I think. I had to go take a nap (I'm working 12hr nights all weekend) so I'll fart around with it tomorrow when i awake. I'm wondering what memory timing settings I should use, that perhaps that's part of my problem. Wadda ya think?
__________________
Main Rig: Gigabyte GA-965P-DQ6 (rev. 1.0) cooled by the Monster Water Cooling Setup
HTPC One BIG Case Asus 8 CORE Monster
Current PC Count:
ASROCK: 1 * BIOSTAR: 1 * ASUS: 5 * CHAINTECH: 7 * GIGABYTE: 2 *IWILL: 1 * MSI: 3* TYAN: 2
175+ GHZ total power for PC Perspective Killer Frogs Climate Prediction Team as The Uncle B's!!
and more coming all the time!

I'm the Uncle your Aunt won't talk about. Go ahead and pull my finger!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #94 (permalink)  
Old 27th July, 2002, 01:52 PM
mookydooky's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: Everywhere you want to be.
Posts: 7,903
Send a message via MSN to mookydooky

To start off, set all the memory stuff at SPD. Once your rig is stable, you start pushing it from there.
__________________
Need a laugh? Take a peek at
AOA's Mookydooky's "Just for laughs!" Joke Topic


AOA Team fah

我喜欢大屁股, 我不能骗你..... 他们弟兄不能否认......
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #95 (permalink)  
Old 27th July, 2002, 02:03 PM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

Sorry Uncle Bob, For some reason, I thought you were using an Enhance PSU for some reason.. I got my wires crossed again.

Sounds like you might be pushing it a bit. Try with cpu voltage increased, and memory timings at conservative levels. Also, try increasing the FSB a little at a time. Start at 160 or so, and increase 1FSB at a time.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #96 (permalink)  
Old 27th July, 2002, 02:27 PM
mookydooky's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: Everywhere you want to be.
Posts: 7,903
Send a message via MSN to mookydooky

Finally got my memory to run at sync with the CPU. Here's a Sandra shot.

EDIT: BTW, I'm currently running my memory at 3.2V. Let's see how long it survives the heat.
Attached Thumbnails
Heard of the AGOIA 1600+?-sandra-mem.jpg  
__________________
Need a laugh? Take a peek at
AOA's Mookydooky's "Just for laughs!" Joke Topic


AOA Team fah

我喜欢大屁股, 我不能骗你..... 他们弟兄不能否认......
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #97 (permalink)  
Old 27th July, 2002, 02:31 PM
Jen Jen is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: September 2001
Posts: 138

Quote:
Originally posted by The Spyder
what do you mean full voltage mods? i have the AT7 max- (legacy free-version- same board- no ps2-)


the motherboard has been modified


now cpu can go to 2.08 volts


the DDR memory lowest is 2.83 goes to 3.2 volts


Jen
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #98 (permalink)  
Old 27th July, 2002, 02:39 PM
Uncle Bob's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2002
Location: Blaine, WA
Posts: 3,734

Quote:
Originally posted by mookydooky
To start off, set all the memory stuff at SPD. Once your rig is stable, you start pushing it from there.
Here are a couple of shots, I just got off work and am heading to bed. The 5v line looks a lot better.
Bob edited:V Core is 1.90v, Dimm is 2.8v. I'll let it run Seti for 5 hours while I sleep.
Attached Thumbnails
Heard of the AGOIA 1600+?-volts-after-sparkle-png.png  
__________________
Main Rig: Gigabyte GA-965P-DQ6 (rev. 1.0) cooled by the Monster Water Cooling Setup
HTPC One BIG Case Asus 8 CORE Monster
Current PC Count:
ASROCK: 1 * BIOSTAR: 1 * ASUS: 5 * CHAINTECH: 7 * GIGABYTE: 2 *IWILL: 1 * MSI: 3* TYAN: 2
175+ GHZ total power for PC Perspective Killer Frogs Climate Prediction Team as The Uncle B's!!
and more coming all the time!

I'm the Uncle your Aunt won't talk about. Go ahead and pull my finger!

Last edited by Uncle Bob; 27th July, 2002 at 02:44 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #99 (permalink)  
Old 27th July, 2002, 02:42 PM
Uncle Bob's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2002
Location: Blaine, WA
Posts: 3,734

here is WCPUID
Attached Thumbnails
Heard of the AGOIA 1600+?-after-sparkle-png.png  
__________________
Main Rig: Gigabyte GA-965P-DQ6 (rev. 1.0) cooled by the Monster Water Cooling Setup
HTPC One BIG Case Asus 8 CORE Monster
Current PC Count:
ASROCK: 1 * BIOSTAR: 1 * ASUS: 5 * CHAINTECH: 7 * GIGABYTE: 2 *IWILL: 1 * MSI: 3* TYAN: 2
175+ GHZ total power for PC Perspective Killer Frogs Climate Prediction Team as The Uncle B's!!
and more coming all the time!

I'm the Uncle your Aunt won't talk about. Go ahead and pull my finger!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #100 (permalink)  
Old 27th July, 2002, 07:03 PM
Kreator's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2002
Posts: 7

Hey mooky a friend is sayin that my temps being at 35 cpu and 33 ambient at full load are TOO low, im afraid im gettin a bad read from my KT3 ultra aru, how do i know if im gettin the readings from the in-die thermistor of the AXP and not from another sensor ? no theres no sensor under the cpu =)
and at 35 celcius my volcano 7 is at 4000 RPM (i modded the volcano thermistor so it reads from the heatsink not from the air inside the case) so i dunno my friend said the cpu temps are aways 10C higher on the cpu than on the heatsink....so my readings are 35 but im at 45 !?!?! im scared to oc it....thnx for you help
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Have you Heard... gryphyn EPoX MotherBoards 2 17th April, 2003 07:37 AM
Xp 1600+ Agoia 0204 K ronin1967 AMD Motherboards & CPUs 25 11th November, 2002 03:29 PM
Xp 1600+ Agoia 0226 Z ronin1967 AMD Motherboards & CPUs 6 10th November, 2002 07:31 PM
Please help.....How do I tell whether or not a 1600+ is an agoia or not? Alphawolf829 EPoX MotherBoards 7 3rd September, 2002 05:26 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:13 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0