AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > AMD Motherboards & CPUs

AMD Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on AMD products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 20th June, 2002, 10:17 PM
Nate-X's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2002
Location: Maryland..
Posts: 764
Send a message via ICQ to Nate-X Send a message via AIM to Nate-X

Which ram should I stick with?! :) Upgrading tonight.. so need response ASAP! :)

Ordered some ram from mushkin to build up a linux box with my old MSI ddr board.. The price was so good.. I ordered 2 of the PC2100 512 mb sticks ($77.00 ea I might add)..

My question is... What would be better for me to do.. my main gaming rig (Windows XP) will be using my Gigabyte 7V-RXP KT333 mobo.. Should I stick the 1024mb of PC2100 ram on that board.. or should I keep the 2x 256mb (512mb total) pc2700 kingmax ram on it? Would double the pc2100 ram be better than the pc2700 stuff? Thanks.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 20th June, 2002, 11:11 PM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

Talk about a tough question. I read that the difference in performance between PC-266 and PC-333 is quite small. You can test both RAM configurations, then give us the story. Please. TIA!
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 20th June, 2002, 11:36 PM
whatever's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: moon
Posts: 1,132

Re: Which ram should I stick with?! :) Upgrading tonight.. so need response ASAP! :)

Quote:
Originally posted by Nate-X
Ordered some ram from mushkin to build up a linux box with my old MSI ddr board.. The price was so good.. I ordered 2 of the PC2100 512 mb sticks ($77.00 ea I might add)..

My question is... What would be better for me to do.. my main gaming rig (Windows XP) will be using my Gigabyte 7V-RXP KT333 mobo.. Should I stick the 1024mb of PC2100 ram on that board.. or should I keep the 2x 256mb (512mb total) pc2700 kingmax ram on it? Would double the pc2100 ram be better than the pc2700 stuff? Thanks.
You got one of the high performance mobos. Depends how far you are going to overclock it. Till then, I can't give you any advice. Give me some numbers.
__________________
sig
HTPC
Conroe E6600 + stock cooler @ 3.2ghz
ATi X1950XTX 512 CrossFire
Triple WD Raptor 10k HDDs@ raid 0
50" Panasonic Plasma TH50PHD7UY
50" Panasonic Plasma TH50PH9UK
BetterCable SilverSerpent SVGA & DVI-D
Sony BWU-100A Blu-Ray PC Drive

p4 - superPi - 31 sec.
pM - superPi - 28 sec.
conroe - superPi - 14 sec.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 21st June, 2002, 12:32 AM
Allan's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Denmark
Posts: 7,914

I would go with 512 MB fast RAM for the gaming rig..
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 21st June, 2002, 12:42 AM
Holst's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Leics UK
Posts: 4,528

Ill give my usual non-answer

As swapping memory over is so easy try overclocking the new 512mb sticks if theyre overclocked performance beats the PC-2700 then use them in your main rig. If not run the other way around.

If i had to choose then if put the 2700 in your overclocking box, generally higher FSB will give bigger gains than having more than 512mb ram (512mb is plenty for almost all applications)
__________________
No longer Epox Tech.

Best of luck in the future all my friends.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 21st June, 2002, 11:53 PM
reddeathdrinker's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Forres
Posts: 307
Send a message via ICQ to reddeathdrinker Send a message via AIM to reddeathdrinker Send a message via Yahoo to reddeathdrinker

Yup, same here. Swap RAM about, and see what it does for your Sandra memory benchies....


(then come tell us all in Benchmarking!)
__________________
Microsoft doesn't care where you want to go to today, you'll go where Microsoft tells you to.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 22nd June, 2002, 10:40 PM
robbie's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Out in the desert of Ca.
Posts: 12,548
Send a message via AIM to robbie Send a message via MSN to robbie Send a message via Yahoo to robbie Send a message via Skype™ to robbie

Quote:
Originally posted by Allan
I would go with 512 MB fast RAM for the gaming rig..
Come on Allan, for FOLDING you mean!! Right?!?!

Sorry but Allan has been hitting the happy pipe again!!! hahaha
Rob
__________________
Taking each day as it comes
Grow, learn and OVERCLOCK. Need help?? Ask me.
Your Mommy!! (Aug/02) Welcome to the fold.
Buy it, Sell it, or Trade it in the AoA classifieds!!
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I'll be back asap, promise aghastpumpkin AOA's Community Support 17 28th April, 2006 09:46 PM
Weird problem need help asap Daston AMD Motherboards & CPUs 24 9th April, 2006 03:27 PM
MPEG 2 codec ASAP! JC Denton OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS 4 9th November, 2005 11:06 AM
DVD-ROM not working! Need help ASAP!! brunobm CRASHED! 7 23rd July, 2005 02:29 PM
Need help with multipliers ASAP Pinky CRASHED! 12 17th July, 2002 04:33 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:57 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0