AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > AMD Motherboards & CPUs

AMD Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on AMD products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 29th June, 2002, 07:55 AM
SiGmA_X's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2002
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 1,529
Send a message via ICQ to SiGmA_X Send a message via AIM to SiGmA_X Send a message via MSN to SiGmA_X Send a message via Yahoo to SiGmA_X

XP1700/AsusA7V333 Problem

I just built this system for a friend of mine. It has the following in it:
Asus A7V333 MB (No RAID)
XP1700+
256MB DDR333 PC-2700
40GB Maxtor 7200RPM "L" HDD
GeForce4MX440
PCI NIC
PCI 56k Modem
No-name 8x CDRW
Floppy
300W AMD PSU

The speaker won't do anything when I boot it up, nor will the power LED on the front signal that it's on. And the GeForce4MX440 doesn't provide the monitor with anything. I tried reseating the Vid and PCI's but that didn't change anything, and I check'd to make sure that the LED/Power/Speaker plugs were in right. And I reseated the floppy and IDE cables.

I need help ASAP! Post here or AIM me at sigma2kx

Thank you in advance!
__________________
"In war, it is not the goal to die for your country, but rather to make the other bastard die for his!"
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 29th June, 2002, 11:23 AM
mookydooky's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: Everywhere you want to be.
Posts: 7,903
Send a message via MSN to mookydooky

Did you try reseating the memory?
__________________
Need a laugh? Take a peek at
AOA's Mookydooky's "Just for laughs!" Joke Topic


AOA Team fah

我喜欢大屁股, 我不能骗你..... 他们弟兄不能否认......
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 29th June, 2002, 12:08 PM
SiGmA_X's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2002
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 1,529
Send a message via ICQ to SiGmA_X Send a message via AIM to SiGmA_X Send a message via MSN to SiGmA_X Send a message via Yahoo to SiGmA_X

Yes. Memory, PCI's, AGP, HDD, CDRW, Floppy... Everything. I think the board is dead, since it won't POST..
__________________
"In war, it is not the goal to die for your country, but rather to make the other bastard die for his!"
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 29th June, 2002, 01:15 PM
mookydooky's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: Everywhere you want to be.
Posts: 7,903
Send a message via MSN to mookydooky

One time I built a machine and it wouldn't post either. It drove me nuts for 8 hours until I noticed that one of the pins on the ATX connector was bent. Try taking a look at that.
__________________
Need a laugh? Take a peek at
AOA's Mookydooky's "Just for laughs!" Joke Topic


AOA Team fah

我喜欢大屁股, 我不能骗你..... 他们弟兄不能否认......
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 29th June, 2002, 08:34 PM
SiGmA_X's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2002
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 1,529
Send a message via ICQ to SiGmA_X Send a message via AIM to SiGmA_X Send a message via MSN to SiGmA_X Send a message via Yahoo to SiGmA_X

Don't know. We are just going to take the MB back, and leave the testing for the store.

The PSU might be the problem - I built a P4 (2GHz Nor'wood, Asus P4B266) with a bad PSU and it wouldn't start up. So we are going to have the store test it with our RAM, CPU, and GeForce4MX440, and their PSU. If it boots, it's our PSU. If not, they can tell us the problem.
__________________
"In war, it is not the goal to die for your country, but rather to make the other bastard die for his!"
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 30th June, 2002, 01:12 AM
SiGmA_X's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2002
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 1,529
Send a message via ICQ to SiGmA_X Send a message via AIM to SiGmA_X Send a message via MSN to SiGmA_X Send a message via Yahoo to SiGmA_X

New Problem!

The computer has a new MB (Same model), and we tested it at the store, but now it won't display video when it's in the case. is there a simple reason?
__________________
"In war, it is not the goal to die for your country, but rather to make the other bastard die for his!"
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 30th June, 2002, 01:55 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: September 2001
Posts: 5,957

Quote:
Originally posted by SiGmA_X
New Problem!

The computer has a new MB (Same model), and we tested it at the store, but now it won't display video when it's in the case. is there a simple reason?
Yikes. My guess would be some part of the case is shorting the motherboard.

The other possibility is the PSU isn't up to running the XP and a GF4.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 1st July, 2002, 12:19 AM
SiGmA_X's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2002
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 1,529
Send a message via ICQ to SiGmA_X Send a message via AIM to SiGmA_X Send a message via MSN to SiGmA_X Send a message via Yahoo to SiGmA_X

Fixed. It was a dip-switch problem. Never tough ANY DIP-SWITCHES OR JUMPERS on the Asus A7V333
__________________
"In war, it is not the goal to die for your country, but rather to make the other bastard die for his!"
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
xp1700 purplemohawkman AMD Motherboards & CPUs 2 14th December, 2003 03:26 PM
xp1700 - 2.82Ghz whatever AMD Motherboards & CPUs 21 6th November, 2003 09:58 AM
temps for xp1700 Sideburns AMD Motherboards & CPUs 3 27th June, 2003 02:21 PM
XP1700/AsusA7V333 Problem SiGmA_X CRASHED! 4 11th July, 2002 05:17 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:24 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0