AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > AMD Motherboards & CPUs

AMD Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on AMD products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 6th August, 2002, 04:37 AM
nfrenay's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: June 2002
Location: Brazil
Posts: 573
Send a message via ICQ to nfrenay

Unhappy Will it happen ?

Okay... I have to make this public...

I've bought this motherboard expecting top performance with top stability. So far I'm getting what I want with BIOS 2312 and WPCREDIT tweaks. What I and lots of people don't understand is WHY can't we get CPU Command Decode options in BIOS ?
I'm pretty sure it's not difficult to implement and I think everyone here would like to at least test the latest BIOS (with their improvements) and the Fast CPU Command Decode enabled, as this should be very fast. Even if it's unstable I think we have the right to test this right ?

I'm almost loosing hope on Epox.

IF I were able to BUY a BIOS Savior I would surely try to mod the BIOS to enabled the famous feature but as I'm not an expert and I don't have the tools Epox have, it's probable that I will never see the option enabled on newer BIOS.

So: Epox Tech: WHY don't Epox simply add the option in BIOS menu like all the other manufacturers do ?!?!?
Can't you tell them that there is people wanting to see a simple option in BIOS that every other motherboard in middle-high level have ?

What's the point on having BIOS with the feature disabled and then you have to run 200+FSB to compensate the lack of it ? And at 200FSB you face HD corruption, AGP corruption and also extra useless stress on memory (needing more voltage).

Sorry if my post was offensive, but I'm just very disappointed.

Also, as off-topic: what voltages does the KT333 chipset run from ? Are they generated on the mobo ?
__________________
- EPoX 8K3A+ rev 1.2 (BIOS 3414)
- XP 1700+ "JIUGB" @ 1979MHz @ 1.65V
- Home-made WaterCooler
- 512Mb Kingston Hyper-X PC2700 @ 2-2-6-2-1 @ 198MHz @ 2.67V
- MSI GF4 Ti4400 VIVO
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 6th August, 2002, 06:03 AM
retrospooty's Avatar
Banned
 
Join Date: June 2002
Location: Silicon Valley Ca.
Posts: 407
Send a message via Yahoo to retrospooty

Re: Will it happen ?

Quote:
Originally posted by nfrenay

What I and lots of people don't understand is WHY can't we get CPU Command Decode options in BIOS ?
I think everyone here would like to at least test the latest BIOS (with their improvements) and the Fast CPU Command Decode enabled, as this should be very fast. Even if it's unstable I think we have the right to test this right ?
I'll second that , It would be nice if we could at least get an answer. I mean I know why they disabled it (so we could overclock more) but since the function worked in the first place it should not have been taken away, it should have been an OPTION to take it away.

I do Tech support for a software company and it is our biggest gripe too. We change an existing feature in a new version for a few customers request and we piss off the other 90% of the customers for changing a perfectly good thing without asking if it was wanted or not. I am always touting the simple philosopy if you are going to make a change make it an optional change to not alienate your customers.

Its tough to say for sure if I'll buy Epox again next round. If I had the next gen mobo from Epox and the newer bios lowered my performanec I think I would explode ! And I love my motherboard.
__________________

Last edited by retrospooty; 6th August, 2002 at 06:05 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 6th August, 2002, 10:44 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: July 2002
Location: Europe
Posts: 62
Send a message via AIM to Max193 Send a message via Yahoo to Max193

Re: Will it happen ?

Quote:
Originally posted by nfrenay
Okay... I have to make this public...

So: Epox Tech: WHY don't Epox simply add the option in BIOS menu like all the other manufacturers do ?!?!?
Can't you tell them that there is people wanting to see a simple option in BIOS that every other motherboard in middle-high level have ?

You know it's Epox you are talking about and that's why things taking a bit longer than usual

:nervous:
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 6th August, 2002, 03:06 PM
retrospooty's Avatar
Banned
 
Join Date: June 2002
Location: Silicon Valley Ca.
Posts: 407
Send a message via Yahoo to retrospooty

It would at least be nice to know if its coming... like if they are even working on it. Not a release date, but at least an acknowledgement that it is coming or not.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 6th August, 2002, 03:22 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: July 2002
Location: Europe
Posts: 62
Send a message via AIM to Max193 Send a message via Yahoo to Max193

Quote:
Originally posted by retrospooty
It would at least be nice to know if its coming... like if they are even working on it. Not a release date, but at least an acknowledgement that it is coming or not.
You did not see my irony?! - I know as much as you know..
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 7th August, 2002, 06:57 AM
retrospooty's Avatar
Banned
 
Join Date: June 2002
Location: Silicon Valley Ca.
Posts: 407
Send a message via Yahoo to retrospooty

Am i trippin' ? Or was this thread moved to a different forum ? LOL censored again !
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 7th August, 2002, 08:15 AM
whatever's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: moon
Posts: 1,132

nice to see you retrospooty.
hey hey guys don't fight... if ya(not you retrospooty) want fast CPU decode, there is one. It's BIOS 2312. BIOS 2312 is the fast CPU decode. heehee!!.. works for me..
__________________
sig
HTPC
Conroe E6600 + stock cooler @ 3.2ghz
ATi X1950XTX 512 CrossFire
Triple WD Raptor 10k HDDs@ raid 0
50" Panasonic Plasma TH50PHD7UY
50" Panasonic Plasma TH50PH9UK
BetterCable SilverSerpent SVGA & DVI-D
Sony BWU-100A Blu-Ray PC Drive

p4 - superPi - 31 sec.
pM - superPi - 28 sec.
conroe - superPi - 14 sec.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
how does this happen? bonesaw CRASHED! 19 8th December, 2006 10:25 AM
Does this happen often sarwiz100 ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team 6 9th August, 2006 05:28 AM
Will it happen ? nfrenay EPoX MotherBoards 11 7th August, 2002 06:10 PM
what happen?? Phiber Random Nonsense! 170 22nd October, 2001 12:02 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:20 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0