AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > AMD Motherboards & CPUs

AMD Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on AMD products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 8th August, 2002, 07:59 PM
mASh_TiL_DeAD's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2002
Location: Sandy, UT
Posts: 22
Send a message via AIM to mASh_TiL_DeAD

Question 8k3a+ & o/c'ing

I'm interested in o/c'ing my 1800+. I've heard about the lead pencil and conductive ink tricks, but i'm alittle hesitant to do something that might fry my cpu. Of the 2 tricks, which is the safest first and easiest second. I've done alittle reading on the ink trick and it seems fairly easy and there's a complete kit to do this for a reasonable price. If you have a link to a site that sells the kit i would appreciate it. Also, is this best trick to allow you to change the multiplier so o/c'ing the FSB won't effect the AGP/PCI bus. THX.:nervous:
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 8th August, 2002, 08:03 PM
The Spyder's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Oregon
Posts: 4,086
Send a message via AIM to The Spyder Send a message via MSN to The Spyder

Conductive ink. pencil trick wont work :-P- www.highspeedpc.com- spyder
__________________
~The Spyder~
I7 965, 6gigs, ASUS, 4870 X2, WD640 AALS Lian Li PC65
Nikon D700, 24-70, 70-200 2.8, SB 800x2
1993 Mazda Rx7 R1 345whp. 2008 Mazda 3 Hatch
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 8th August, 2002, 08:43 PM
Southern Man's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Falling to Earth
Posts: 4,736

The XP ****+ cpu's aren't as easy to bridge as The Spider has made reference to. There is the matter of filling in the valley between the contact points before you can even attempt to bridge them.

Overclocking your chip is going to carry risks in it's self so if you are worried about frying it you may want to weigh the options before you start. The best thing I can offer you is to read as much as possible about overclocking that you can find. This will allow you to make a better decision and teach you the limitations of what to expect.

You may want to start on a duron or other less costly chip and get a feel for what you are doing before trying a mod on a XP chip.

I don't mean to scare you off but you really want to acquire as much info on the subject as you can get before embarking on this journey. One of the guys here I think had something in their signature that stuck with me. It said " Overclocking with pencil and paper”. This meant he was calculating what the outcome would be prior to application in real life. One other signature that comes to mind is " The key to a successful overclock is knowledge".

Good luck in your journey into the overclocking world. If you have any more questions ask away. The people here are more than willing to help.

Welcome to the forums.
__________________
Then, as it was, then again it will be
Though the course may change,
rivers will always reach the sea.
----------------------------------------------

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 8th August, 2002, 09:20 PM
Southern Man's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Falling to Earth
Posts: 4,736

BTW: Because your post was more dealing with overclocking an AMD chip and really wasn't an issue with the Epox board I asked if Daniel~ , the forum owner, to move it here in the AMD chip & MoBo section. You will get better replies to your questions here.

__________________
Then, as it was, then again it will be
Though the course may change,
rivers will always reach the sea.
----------------------------------------------

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 8th August, 2002, 09:22 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: September 2001
Posts: 5,957

You really have to mess up to "fry" your cpu just from unlocking it improperly. I used the highspeedpc.com kit and it was a breeze. It also contains a silicon type material to fill the pits and conductive grease, neither of which ever dries, both can be easily removed if one were ever to need to RMA

The worse you can do by crossing L1s is to not boot or only boot at default multiplier. Wipe it away and try again. If you get ink on the L3s, then you could have issues, but they should be covered with tape the whole time you're performing the unlock, so that never becomes an issue.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 8th August, 2002, 11:41 PM
whatever's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: moon
Posts: 1,132

Quote:
Originally posted by The Spyder
Conductive ink. pencil trick wont work :-P- www.highspeedpc.com- spyder
Pencil trick they are refering to pencils like the #2 stuff, those HBs or something similar level of graphite. So yes, that is correct.

But not all pencils. Those special leads like the 2B and upto 6B leads work. You'll have to put right pressure and how you draw the lines though. It worked for me. Unlocked all my AMD processors including AXP2100+. It's still working great. You draw it good enough, it'll last you longer. If you draw them lightly, sloppy job, then it would last you short. You'll have to reapply. The keys is that this method is good because you can use it as testing method when attempting to unlock the chips.

And ofcourse... if you don't feel comfortable using this method, you can always go with the unlocking kit... but my method takes me 3 minutes to unlock.. heehee!
__________________
sig
HTPC
Conroe E6600 + stock cooler @ 3.2ghz
ATi X1950XTX 512 CrossFire
Triple WD Raptor 10k HDDs@ raid 0
50" Panasonic Plasma TH50PHD7UY
50" Panasonic Plasma TH50PH9UK
BetterCable SilverSerpent SVGA & DVI-D
Sony BWU-100A Blu-Ray PC Drive

p4 - superPi - 31 sec.
pM - superPi - 28 sec.
conroe - superPi - 14 sec.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
o/c'ing a G4 Ti4600 question HauZDauG Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 1 7th May, 2003 03:53 PM
Picked up a 2100 'B' - Advice for o/c'ing steps Ricochet EPoX MotherBoards 11 31st March, 2003 08:46 AM
8k3a/8k3a+ and multi's bldegle2 EPoX MotherBoards 0 10th January, 2003 03:10 PM
HELP ME! with the WORST O/C'ing 2200XP ... 13mHz OC! nherc AMD Motherboards & CPUs 15 9th October, 2002 03:21 PM
Are the bios file for 8K3A and 8K3A+ the same? up2Tim EPoX MotherBoards 2 30th July, 2002 04:30 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:27 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0