AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > AMD Motherboards & CPUs

AMD Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on AMD products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 9th August, 2002, 08:31 PM
Member
 
Join Date: April 2002
Posts: 47

Funny, why is my gainward ti4200 running more like a geforce 3 ti200

A couple days ago i get a new 3d card, 128MB gainward ti4200 and eagerly oc it to 300/560, no problem. I download drivers, switch to 4x agp, and run 3dmark 2001se. To my surprise a score of 7062 pops up when i should be getting a score well into the 9000s. What is the source of this HUGE problem. The nature and vertex shader benchmarks run at half of what they are supposed to. Where did i go wrong and what can i do to get things back on track. If my card was damaged somehow could it downgrade my scores. And earily in the display tabs it says my display adapters bus type is AGP but in PCI MODE what does this mean. Could this all just be a problem with my mobo? Or is it a driver issue? I am officially pissed off. Oh and by the way my pc stat information is correct except that i now have 512 ddr ram and the above video card.
__________________
shuttle ak31 3.1 (KT266A)-
athlon xp 1700, volcano 7 hsf-
256MB ddr ram, 2 case fans-
300w enhance, radeon sdr-
(moving to geforce3 ti200)
2 scsi hard drives

Last edited by Rollydog; 9th August, 2002 at 08:34 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 9th August, 2002, 08:43 PM
The Spyder's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Oregon
Posts: 4,086
Send a message via AIM to The Spyder Send a message via MSN to The Spyder

Hummm....... whats your system......and would someone move this to the Graphics, sound, and pereprals section :-D
__________________
~The Spyder~
I7 965, 6gigs, ASUS, 4870 X2, WD640 AALS Lian Li PC65
Nikon D700, 24-70, 70-200 2.8, SB 800x2
1993 Mazda Rx7 R1 345whp. 2008 Mazda 3 Hatch
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 9th August, 2002, 08:47 PM
Member
 
Join Date: April 2002
Posts: 47

My specs are right below my post... And i think this might be a motherboard issue.
__________________
shuttle ak31 3.1 (KT266A)-
athlon xp 1700, volcano 7 hsf-
256MB ddr ram, 2 case fans-
300w enhance, radeon sdr-
(moving to geforce3 ti200)
2 scsi hard drives
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 9th August, 2002, 08:48 PM
Allan's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Denmark
Posts: 7,914

Have you tried another video card driver? Use the latest Detonator Driver from nvidia. You can get it at the file section here in the forums.

At how many MHz is the AGP port running? And what OS are you using?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 9th August, 2002, 08:51 PM
Member
 
Join Date: April 2002
Posts: 47

I am using ME. How can you check the mhz that my agp port is running at? I downloaded these drivers: 4.13.01.3082
__________________
shuttle ak31 3.1 (KT266A)-
athlon xp 1700, volcano 7 hsf-
256MB ddr ram, 2 case fans-
300w enhance, radeon sdr-
(moving to geforce3 ti200)
2 scsi hard drives
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 9th August, 2002, 09:07 PM
robbie's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Out in the desert of Ca.
Posts: 12,548
Send a message via AIM to robbie Send a message via MSN to robbie Send a message via Yahoo to robbie Send a message via Skype™ to robbie

Make sure you have AA shut OFF!!!
Rob
__________________
Taking each day as it comes
Grow, learn and OVERCLOCK. Need help?? Ask me.
Your Mommy!! (Aug/02) Welcome to the fold.
Buy it, Sell it, or Trade it in the AoA classifieds!!
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 10th August, 2002, 03:30 AM
whatever's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: moon
Posts: 1,132

I get 10,236 with my Gf3ti200..

What video card tweak utility u using?
I don't use RivaTuner.. I use NVmax.. NVmax, nice n simple..

Turn off the "# of frames rendered ahead" in your utility, if you don't got an utility, go to your video property, go to Direct3D section, and disable that. Many people don't realize what this is and happen to leave that on.. because it's ON by default... You don't need this enabled anyway... when you play games etc.. By not disabling this will cost you good 2000- 3000 points. That's...... critical.
__________________
sig
HTPC
Conroe E6600 + stock cooler @ 3.2ghz
ATi X1950XTX 512 CrossFire
Triple WD Raptor 10k HDDs@ raid 0
50" Panasonic Plasma TH50PHD7UY
50" Panasonic Plasma TH50PH9UK
BetterCable SilverSerpent SVGA & DVI-D
Sony BWU-100A Blu-Ray PC Drive

p4 - superPi - 31 sec.
pM - superPi - 28 sec.
conroe - superPi - 14 sec.

Last edited by whatever; 10th August, 2002 at 03:38 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 10th August, 2002, 08:49 AM
Allan's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Denmark
Posts: 7,914

I still use coolbits...
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 19th August, 2002, 04:08 PM
Member
 
Join Date: August 2002
Posts: 3

Talking This worked for me

I was getting around 7200 on 3D Mark.

Installed this from Intel for my Asus P4B533 mother board, now I am getting over 9900!!!


Intel Chipset Software Installation Utility
http://www.intel.com/support/chipsets/inf/

That was the only change I made.

WooHoo!!
__________________
Asus P4B533-V
2.26 GHz w/Volcano 7+
Running at 2.57 (for now)
512 MB PC2700
Thermaltake ram cooling
Gainward Ti 4200 w/128 - Thermaltake GeForce fan

5 case fans
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 19th August, 2002, 05:31 PM
dod's Avatar
dod dod is offline
AOA Staff (should be working)
 
Join Date: June 2002
Location: Inverness
Posts: 4,014
Send a message via ICQ to dod Send a message via Yahoo to dod

Hi Rollydog.

I've been doing benchies on fsb's and one of the things I happened to include was different drivers and 3dm.

Epox 8k3a+ and 4400, basic installation, no 4in1 and stock speeds came in at about 8500. Adding 441's and 2942 dets took things to 9237. Changing to 30.82 took it to 9805.

One thing I foud interesting but dont understand was that oc'ing the card too much could actually drop the overall score. It did that at all fsb's taking it from 300/600 to 310/620. I dont know why and was going to post separately to see if anyone could explain. Most of the 4200 are 250/500 stock (not sure about yours) so youve got a big oc on the core.

I didnt turn off direct 3d but set it to max performance., no FSAA etc.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Asus P5Q pro, E8400, 4X2Gb XMS2 6400, 8800GT OC and a heap more HDD space
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 19th August, 2002, 05:39 PM
Jelen's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2002
Location: Poland
Posts: 88
Send a message via ICQ to Jelen

Do you instaled Via 4in1 Driver???. If no instal now you can download from here : http://downloads.viaarena.com/drivers/4in1/4in1442v(a)p2.zip .
I command update BIOS of Motherboard and Geforce. How much AGP Apperture Size you put in BIOS??? I command put 128mb and reinstal driver to 28.32 Detonators. When that no help try reinstal system.
__________________
AXP1.6+@2.0 l D1300@1460 l D600@1000 l PIII600@800 l PII400 l PII233@266 l P200@233MMX
EPoX 8K3Av.1.1l MSI i810E l ASUS P2L97 l IntelMobo AT440 l Gigabyte 5AX v4.1 l
DDR2100@3000 l 256mb Hyndai PC100 l 128mb PC133 l 64mb PC133 l 128mb PC133 l
Radeon9100 64mb DDR 3,6ns l Riva TNT2 l Trident3d 8mb l Voodoo1 l Virge 4mb


WWW.OCMASTER.COM
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
gainward GF4 ti4200 OC question whatever Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 12 10th November, 2002 03:13 PM
Gainward GF4 TI4200 Samuknow Online Deals, and Steals 35 5th September, 2002 05:29 PM
How to do a Gainward Golden Sample Ti200 volt mod Illah Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 0 20th July, 2002 04:50 AM
4BDA2+ prob with Gainward GF4 TI4200 XBladeX EPoX MotherBoards 1 18th June, 2002 11:05 AM
Gainward GF3 Ti200 Pwr Pk or Hercules 8500LE hoppergrass Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 12 5th June, 2002 04:30 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:24 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0