AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > AMD Motherboards & CPUs

AMD Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on AMD products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 17th August, 2002, 02:07 AM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

KK266 - Fastest chip?

What's the fastest CPU you can drop in a Iwill KK266 board? Does it over clock well?
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 17th August, 2002, 04:18 AM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: Northern California
Posts: 37

1.4 athlon.........some have had success with getting xp's to work .....you have to have the latest bios and then it is not 100% it will work.......

as for o/cing this board put iwill on the map!!...its a killer board and has alot of control....there are alot of vmods out there for the board too.....does it sound like i have one??.....my main machine......
__________________

Last edited by panhead49; 17th August, 2002 at 04:24 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 17th August, 2002, 04:20 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: September 2001
Posts: 5,957

My shuttle is very similar and it overclocks slower XP cpus well.

if you're getting it cheap (like $30 or less), then grab it, would server you well with a decent cpu.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 17th August, 2002, 04:35 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: February 2002
Location: Sioux City, Iowa
Posts: 250

You'd better read this thread first. There are conflicts w/ the chipset and XP+ cpu's.

http://www.amdforums.com/showthread....ht=Iwill+KK266

Go for it. There's only one way to find out.

I'm in the same boat. It's called the "Dilemma."


BRUNO
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 17th August, 2002, 04:36 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: February 2002
Location: Sioux City, Iowa
Posts: 250

Hey man I just hit 100.

Woooooooooooooooeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee!!!!!!
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 17th August, 2002, 04:39 AM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: Northern California
Posts: 37

i quess we are all in the same boat.....lol.........i have a 2000 i would love to run in my board......
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 17th August, 2002, 04:48 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: February 2002
Location: Sioux City, Iowa
Posts: 250

Thumbs up

The 4things they suggest are:

1. Set the vio to 5 or 10% +.

2. Set the core voltage to 1.65v.

3. Hit reset after you hit the power.

4. Cross your fingers and pray.

I'm waiting for someone brave enough to try a Tbred in one.

BRUNO :-D :-D :-D
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 17th August, 2002, 05:41 AM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

I have a 1 Gig at 1.5 (1418 when the outside temps go up.) I was just wondering if I could see a significant increase in speed with another, newer chip, or if this will be a one chip board.

And Yes this is by far the best board I ever owned.

BTW I should add that this is my main machine so I need it stable and 100% correct in it's attitude.":O}
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic


Last edited by Daniel ~; 17th August, 2002 at 05:47 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 17th August, 2002, 05:54 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: February 2002
Location: Sioux City, Iowa
Posts: 250

Mine too is most stable, but the conflict is w/ the KT133A Via chipset and XP's. They've given up on support for XP's.

Like I said, read the thread from amdmb. They have the most info I've found in relation to the problem.

http://www.amdforums.com/showthread....ht=Iwill+KK266

I think that it will fly. Most folks just give up because they take too much tweakin.

Good luck,


BRUNO
__________________

Last edited by akaBruno; 17th August, 2002 at 06:13 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 17th August, 2002, 12:38 PM
robbie's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Out in the desert of Ca.
Posts: 12,548
Send a message via AIM to robbie Send a message via MSN to robbie Send a message via Yahoo to robbie Send a message via Skype™ to robbie

My IWILL was VERY stable. But I had trouble when I dropped my 1.4 in it.

I'd say update the bios first then try.
GREAT board if you ask me.
Rob
__________________
Taking each day as it comes
Grow, learn and OVERCLOCK. Need help?? Ask me.
Your Mommy!! (Aug/02) Welcome to the fold.
Buy it, Sell it, or Trade it in the AoA classifieds!!
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 17th August, 2002, 02:15 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

I think I'll wait until I can grab another gig, before up grading, I love the feeling when you get quantum in your upgrades! ":O}
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 18th August, 2002, 02:17 AM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

Mmm. Quantum in your upgrades. Ugugugugugh. - Homer S.
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
World's Fastest Optical Chip Gizmo Random Nonsense! 0 9th January, 2007 09:58 PM
fastest single chip brian770 General Hardware Discussion 9 30th September, 2004 02:27 AM
"World’s Fastest GeForce4 Ti4200: 308MHz Chip and 708MHz Memory!" beerman Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 9 20th June, 2002 07:44 AM
KK266-R won't turn off? Da Whip AMD Motherboards & CPUs 8 23rd December, 2001 04:32 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:26 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0