AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > AMD Motherboards & CPUs

AMD Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on AMD products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 17th September, 2002, 07:00 PM
loop's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: Under bed with pan of water and 2 mines.
Posts: 866

SIS motheboards

Does anyone have any information on a high performance SIS motherboard, I've fallen in love with the K7S5A but wondered if someone had produced a performance model??
__________________
Are you on drugs? If not should you be on drugs?
Warranties are there to invalidate.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 17th September, 2002, 07:07 PM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

Sis is really not trying to go into the performance market. The best performing board I've seen is the Leadtek 735KDA (?).

It uses the same 735 chipset, but all the hidden settings are max'ed out. Memory performance actually matched the KT266A's. The main problem with it, is the aggressive timings make overclocking a b****. All your components tend to collapse before you get to any decent FSBs. It did have 1/5 @ 150 fsb. My crucials could do 167 fastest timings on my 8KHA+ w/+.4v, but only 142 with the leadtek.

If you are really looking for performance on an AMD system, unfortunately sis ain't it. Budget and value... yes.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 18th September, 2002, 11:26 AM
Speedy-J's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 32
Send a message via ICQ to Speedy-J

Try the MSI 745 Ultra ,its an awesome overclocker with the right RAM and stuff
I have made the Vcore mod for this thing,its blazing now @180FSB+ without any hasle..
__________________
-=Specs=- remember... if the world wouldn't suck, we all would fall off
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 19th September, 2002, 03:46 AM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

Welcome to AOA's Forum's, Speedy-J. Love that avatar!
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 19th September, 2002, 03:07 PM
Speedy-J's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 32
Send a message via ICQ to Speedy-J

Quote:
Originally posted by cloasters
Welcome to AOA's Forum's, Speedy-J. Love that avatar!
Thank u ! I really like the forum to
Picture of my rig..
http://users.bart.nl/~multatul/case/11.JPG

You got to love H2o
__________________
-=Specs=- remember... if the world wouldn't suck, we all would fall off

Last edited by Speedy-J; 19th September, 2002 at 03:56 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 19th September, 2002, 05:29 PM
loop's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: Under bed with pan of water and 2 mines.
Posts: 866

thats one nice looking setup ya got there
__________________
Are you on drugs? If not should you be on drugs?
Warranties are there to invalidate.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 19th September, 2002, 06:15 PM
Speedy-J's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 32
Send a message via ICQ to Speedy-J

Thank u ,its running great and very stable to @high FSB.
I like the SiS chipset based products allot ,specialy the MSI Ultra
It has 1MHz in steps in the bios way up to 200FSB ,VDimm voltage regulation in 0,1V steps up to 2.8V,this is standard what you get with the board .
And many more features are included ! ,man its way differend then the ECS board .
I own K7S5A and K7A6A boards ,they are great and very stable to but lacks overclocking features we want right ?

Cheers !
__________________
-=Specs=- remember... if the world wouldn't suck, we all would fall off
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 19th September, 2002, 06:21 PM
loop's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: Under bed with pan of water and 2 mines.
Posts: 866

I have used 2 sis chipset boards and I found both extermely stable even at high temperatures, I've never done any overclcoking with them (my overclocking days are long gone).
All in all I will continue to buy SIS as much as I can.
__________________
Are you on drugs? If not should you be on drugs?
Warranties are there to invalidate.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 19th September, 2002, 08:48 PM
dimmreaper's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: road to insanity
Posts: 5,347
Send a message via ICQ to dimmreaper Send a message via AIM to dimmreaper

SiS chipsets could be implemented in a high performance fashion, but they are really seen as a value product, as such they typically aren't. The only true performance/overclocking SiS products I am aware of are made by EPoX for the Pentium 4.
__________________
¤ Jeffery ¤

Wishing you were someone else is a waste of the person you are. - Kurt Cobain

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 19th September, 2002, 09:46 PM
Speedy-J's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 32
Send a message via ICQ to Speedy-J

EPoX motherboards are allways well known as a good overclocking/performance board ,I own the 8KHA for a long time ,but why do they not implement it "SiS745" on a AMD based board like ECS and MSI... ?
I just wondering..
__________________
-=Specs=- remember... if the world wouldn't suck, we all would fall off
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 19th September, 2002, 10:01 PM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

The real shame of the 735 was that it was in many ways ahead of it's time. Because it was seen as a "value based" component, most mobos with it offer little in terms of peformance features.

When SIS735 first came out, the KT266A was not available, and was king of DDR memory performance, albeit short lived. Now, if you have an "old" mobo with the 735, you get support for Tbred "B", and also 166FSB with 1/5 PCI, and even 200FSB w/ 1/6 dividers. It's just that while the chipset can handle these things, most mobos with them are not built to take advantage of these capabilities.
It's a shame too many companies shy'd away from SIS for their performance boards. Woulda, shoulda coulda...
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 21st September, 2002, 05:52 PM
K6-III's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 661

Actually it was pressure and threats from VIA that kept most mobo manufactururs away.....even now, notice how no third tier mobo company other than Aopen has a SIS745 board available...

...not quite sure what happened to the Epox 8S7A....
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 21st September, 2002, 10:49 PM
loop's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: Under bed with pan of water and 2 mines.
Posts: 866

Its a shame companies have to use bullying to beat other companies rather than just good products.
__________________
Are you on drugs? If not should you be on drugs?
Warranties are there to invalidate.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 22nd September, 2002, 05:23 AM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

Quote:
Originally posted by K6-III
Actually it was pressure and threats from VIA that kept most mobo manufactururs away.....even now, notice how no third tier mobo company other than Aopen has a SIS745 board available...

...not quite sure what happened to the Epox 8S7A....
My guess is that both Elitegroup, aka ECS(K7S6A) and Asus(A7S333) are first tier mainboard maker's. MSI makes one too. If Via uses intimidation against the smaller mainboard manufacturer's, it's following in Intel's footsteps. Shame on both of them!
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 22nd September, 2002, 11:31 PM
prat's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2002
Location: Rice University!
Posts: 218
Send a message via AIM to prat Send a message via Yahoo to prat

Asus has a motherboard with a SiS 745 chipset, the A7S333. I know because I'm using it. It works pretty well, I have to say. The thing about it is that is uses some expansion of Intel's hub architecture, with dedicated hubs for each bus. I'm not sure what exactly distinguishes it from other chipsets floating around, honestly. But so far, so good: it doesn't have any weird built in graphics stuff or anything like that. 4x AGP, blah blah blah.... standard stuff, honestly. I'd be impressed if it had shipped with that new 8x AGP standard, but hey, whatcha gonna do?

Alex
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 22nd September, 2002, 11:56 PM
K6-III's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 661

If you want AGP8x and USB2.0....the SIS746 should be the answer you're looking for....

BTW, the following is the summary of the SIS745 boards out there today:

ECS K7S6A
ECS K7S5A+ (announced but haven't seen it yet)
Asus A7S333
MSI 745 Ultra
Aopen AK75
Chaintech 7SJR(launched but never made available except for small initial European shipment)

Boards that were to be launched, but were scrubbed:

Epox 8S7A
Leadtek 7450KDA

Of the above, I've used the K7S6A, A7S333, and 745 Ultra. The Aopen AK75 I have in the box on my desk, but have not used as of yet...

..oh yeah..and the SIS735-based K7S5A....
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:29 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0