AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > AMD Motherboards & CPUs

AMD Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on AMD products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 26th September, 2002, 03:05 PM
Member
 
Join Date: September 2002
Posts: 22

HELP ME! with the WORST O/C'ing 2200XP ... 13mHz OC!

That's right this piece o' stuff 2200 TBred will ONLY give me 1813mhz stable! A 13mhz O/C!

Here's the low down...

It's unlocked using a pencil via the last L3 bridge. It runs fine at different FSB's as long as it's UNDER or at the stock 1800mhz.

I don't think my other components are the issue as it runs fine at 10X180FSB. So I think the RAM/MB/Other Stuffs is fine up to that FSB speed.

I'm running:

-Epox 8K5a2 with the 2909 Bios (I tried the 2815's as well)
-2200XP Tbred (Rev. A) It was an AIR something chip. AXDA2200DKV3C
-Samsung Original 2700 512mb Stick
-Ti4400
-WinXP

Again, the thing usually won't boot into windows hanging very early at anything over 1825.

More voltage doesn't help... it even hurts... I get this crazy alarm/shutdown on the mobo (AND I have the temp. alarm in the bios disabled) if I give it more than 1.85v's usually.

It completed a night of Sandra Burn-in at 144x12.5 (1.8ghz)

It idles at ~100F and it was at 109F during the Burn-in (according to the on-die temp.)... so I don't think heat is a problem.

Any suggests would be appreciated. I always seem to get these bum chips!
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 26th September, 2002, 03:09 PM
mookydooky's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: Everywhere you want to be.
Posts: 7,903
Send a message via MSN to mookydooky

Hmm...what kind of PSU do you have? It's quite possible you're running short on power.
__________________
Need a laugh? Take a peek at
AOA's Mookydooky's "Just for laughs!" Joke Topic


AOA Team fah

我喜欢大屁股, 我不能骗你..... 他们弟兄不能否认......
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 26th September, 2002, 03:13 PM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

I think mooky's idea fits.

Those little monsters are hot AND consume a lot of wattage.
Just curious: have you tried undervolting a tad? On older CPUs, I've heard isolated incidents where it actually helped the oc attempt.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 26th September, 2002, 03:19 PM
Member
 
Join Date: September 2002
Posts: 22

Actually, it does seem more stable if I stick with a lower voltage 1.65).

I was thinking about the PS as I just got this new Chieftec case with a window and it came with a 400w generic PS. The voltages look stable and high enough... but it could be. I might throw my old enlight 400 in and give that a try.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 26th September, 2002, 03:45 PM
Member
 
Join Date: August 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 114

Sounds like a bum chip - luck of the draw I'm afraid.
__________________
3000+ Newcastle @ 2.4Ghz, 1.6V, Watercooled
Epox 8KDAJ+
1GB Twinmos PC3200
Gainward 6800LE 16x1,6vp @ 360/840
Windows 2000 Pro SP4
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 26th September, 2002, 04:04 PM
ZigZagZeppelin's Avatar
Banned
 
Join Date: September 2002
Location: Lansingburgh, NY
Posts: 134

NONE of the XP2200's are good oc'ers

None I've seen & a few friends own them. Best I've heard of was a measly 100 Mhz.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 26th September, 2002, 04:12 PM
Member
 
Join Date: September 2002
Posts: 22

No kidding?

I've seen a bunch of posters saying 2ghz should be within reach with air. HRMM.

I'm going to be really pissed if a 1600 Pally for $90 less would have run at the same damned speed (if not faster!)

I hope swapping my PS helps a bit.

Does this at all sound like a PS problem?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 26th September, 2002, 04:15 PM
Member
 
Join Date: August 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 114

Correction - mine goes to 2.1Ghz on air w/ an extra 0.1 volts. Haven't pushed it further as yet.
__________________
3000+ Newcastle @ 2.4Ghz, 1.6V, Watercooled
Epox 8KDAJ+
1GB Twinmos PC3200
Gainward 6800LE 16x1,6vp @ 360/840
Windows 2000 Pro SP4
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 26th September, 2002, 04:54 PM
ZigZagZeppelin's Avatar
Banned
 
Join Date: September 2002
Location: Lansingburgh, NY
Posts: 134

Quote:
Originally posted by Reejoc
Correction - mine goes to 2.1Ghz on air w/ an extra 0.1 volts. Haven't pushed it further as yet.
MadOnion compare URL to verify?

http://service.madonion.com/compare?2k1=4579783

UPDATE:Just called a buddy with one & he added vcore & a new ps. Now he's at 2025 Mhz.
__________________

Last edited by ZigZagZeppelin; 26th September, 2002 at 04:56 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 26th September, 2002, 05:09 PM
Member
 
Join Date: September 2002
Posts: 22

New PS aye?

Maybe some light for me then...

Why would 1.85v to the CPU cause the computer to stop booting (same multi and fsb that runs fine @ 1.75) right after the bios initialization and set the alarm off? It's not the temp. as that's =<110F.

/me hopes this is the mobo telling me the voltage is flucuating too much.

Anyone heard of any other Epox boards sounding an alarm at boot with voltage changes?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 26th September, 2002, 05:14 PM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

Quote:
Originally posted by nherc
Actually, it does seem more stable if I stick with a lower voltage 1.65).

I was thinking about the PS as I just got this new Chieftec case with a window and it came with a 400w generic PS. The voltages look stable and high enough... but it could be. I might throw my old enlight 400 in and give that a try.
Two things off the top of my head.. If lower voltage appears to give the system more stability, the associated temp reduction or the reduced power consumption (or both) may be helping. Regardless of temp readings, open up the side of the case. Look for appreciable changes in temp readings like 2 or more c. If that also helps, you may be running hot, and getting poor readings. Since you have another PSU, try that too, separately, and then you should have enough information to rule out both.

Also, the potential oc from Tbred A's are pretty weak, by most standards. It's obvious when you look at AMD... They have no intentions of releasing faster Tbred As... and already have a new 'stepping' (for lack of a better term), for the next step up. That says a lot.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 26th September, 2002, 05:30 PM
Orbit's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 466
Send a message via ICQ to Orbit Send a message via Yahoo to Orbit

Yes, bad luck of the draw. The 'A' model wasn't very good, hence, the revised 'B' model. That's why I decided on an XP2000 instead of a newer model.

Lucked out and got an AROIA from Newegg, and I'm putin' right along at 145fsb (it will run 150 stable, but I don't like stressing things, since the 'seat of the pants' actual speed isn't noticeable)

I'm using PC2100 CL2.5 Crucial/Micron, I think that may be holding me back, but it doesn't matter. It's a pretty perky system overall. According to *cough* Sisoft, I'm beating a stock XP2200.
Also, it's still 'locked' at 12.5, but I don't really care. Maybe a year from now when I get bored, I might unlock it, put some bigger ram in, and go for it.
__________________

A Chieftec with a bunch of PCB's, Drives, Cables, and Water

-----------------------------------------------------------
Laws are for the lawless, who disregard them anyway... Crow
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 27th September, 2002, 02:40 AM
Member
 
Join Date: September 2002
Posts: 22

Well, I swapped powersupplies and there is NO Change...

Still running at a sad 13mhz o/c. Even a 25mhz o/c crashes me out of XP running Sandra Burn-in.

This TBred Rev. A was a waste of money...

BTW, anyone know why my mobo (Epox 8K5a2) craps out with an alarm right after boot-up if I use >= 1.85volts? The temp. of the cpu is fine <110F.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 27th September, 2002, 09:43 AM
Member
 
Join Date: September 2002
Location: uk
Posts: 10

What's the 5v line running at? Try using motherboard monitor to tell you.

Don't use 1.85v, its bad for 0.13 chips. Apart from which you shouldn't need it. Start with 1.75v

Try lowering the multiplier to 9x , then slacken memory timings and increase FSB until you reach your memory limit, this will eliminate memory bottleneck and pci/agp issues. Make a note of this number.

Next set the multiplier to 12x and increase FSB.....

By doing this you know what your FSB limit will be, if you can't achieve that then it points to somewhere/something else in the system.

I have a prometiea cooler, an xp2200 and I had to tweak the psu outputs on my sparkle psu to get better results. For the record here - don't expect this from air cooling.

Gandelf
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 3rd October, 2002, 05:39 PM
Member
 
Join Date: August 2002
Posts: 26

In my humble experience with epox MOBO's and lower wattage PSU, ( mainly because I 'm poor) 300 to 400 watters. I've always had to do 5 volt mods. Sometimes I could barely get stock processors stable without it.

I use some pamona grabbers and attach to the mosfet directly, they work like a charm and no soldering needed. I then use a spade connector and connect it directly to the 5 volt line on that white connector on a PSU that I have yet to ever find a use for. Make sure though before attemting this mod you actually read your 5 volt line with a Multimeter to ensure that it truely is a problem and don't really on MBM untill you confirm that it reads correctly.
Any ways good luck and I'm sure that chip will hit 2 gig it might take water but its got too.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 9th October, 2002, 03:21 PM
Member
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Not in this reality
Posts: 2

I got mine to 2133Mhz by changing the multiplier to 16 @1.8v

I am water cooling it with Maze3-1 and 220 TEC. runs at 21-25C steady regardless of load.
__________________
Abit AT7-MAX2-Athalon 2200+ GF4 Ti 4600
Maze3-1 + 220W Peltier +hardrive+northbridge+graphics+ all water cooled.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The best of the worst Daniel ~ Random Nonsense! 5 24th September, 2006 07:01 PM
The Worst President? Staz Random Nonsense! 14 26th March, 2004 04:33 AM
o/c'ing a G4 Ti4600 question HauZDauG Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 1 7th May, 2003 03:53 PM
Picked up a 2100 'B' - Advice for o/c'ing steps Ricochet EPoX MotherBoards 11 31st March, 2003 08:46 AM
8k3a+ & o/c'ing mASh_TiL_DeAD AMD Motherboards & CPUs 5 8th August, 2002 11:41 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:01 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0