AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > AMD Motherboards & CPUs

AMD Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on AMD products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 1st October, 2002, 05:18 PM
Thundr7's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: New York The Empire State
Posts: 165
Send a message via AIM to Thundr7 Send a message via Yahoo to Thundr7

My KX7 is dead

Dang primary IDE controller went POOF! I'm just gonna sum it up. It was runnin great, then i heard a clink-pop sound and the rig went dead. It was'nt a temp issue cuz my vcore was 2.10v and my temps were 39c idle, 47c full load.


Word of advise: The KX7-333 is a decent board but the primary IDE controller cannot handle high oc. Be warned if you decide on this board !

And to answer all your questions, yes. I swapped HD's, ribbons, cleared cmos and still no primary IDE controller in bios.

I ordered the Epox 8K3A+ w/6ch audio which i recieved today from newegg. My g/f bought me a new dragon blue chieftec case with the window and side fan which i thought i'd get today but did'nt. Maybe tomorrow.

I thought my 2-40g maxtors took dive also, but i installed them in my secondary rig and they look ok. I was able to partition and format them. Drive integrity scan went ok so that's a good sign.

Again, be warned with the Abit KX7-333 !
__________________
Xpect the Un-xpected
******************************
------------------------------------------------
If a woman laughs at you after sex, what does it mean? It means you forgot protection and now she has a slave.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 1st October, 2002, 06:19 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

The primary IDE controller is part of the southbridge, rather than a seperate chip! The KX7-333 uses the VT8233 as it's southbridge, in EXACTLY the same way that the 8K3A uses the VT8233 as it's southbridge. In fact, just about EVERYONE who makes a KT333 based chipset uses the VT8233 as the southbridge.

This means that virtually all the KT333 based boards have identical primary IDE controllers.

AidanII
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 2nd October, 2002, 01:17 AM
Thundr7's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: New York The Empire State
Posts: 165
Send a message via AIM to Thundr7 Send a message via Yahoo to Thundr7

Then that means my particular board must've had a weak chip right?
__________________
Xpect the Un-xpected
******************************
------------------------------------------------
If a woman laughs at you after sex, what does it mean? It means you forgot protection and now she has a slave.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 2nd October, 2002, 02:50 AM
The Spyder's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Oregon
Posts: 4,086
Send a message via AIM to The Spyder Send a message via MSN to The Spyder

Or...... to high of a voltage their.........
__________________
~The Spyder~
I7 965, 6gigs, ASUS, 4870 X2, WD640 AALS Lian Li PC65
Nikon D700, 24-70, 70-200 2.8, SB 800x2
1993 Mazda Rx7 R1 345whp. 2008 Mazda 3 Hatch
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 2nd October, 2002, 03:19 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: September 2001
Posts: 5,957

Like I said today when we talked and spyder just eluded to, the Abit boards do not handle out of spec operation as well as, say, and epox, which has the components designed/capable of handling extra voltages... it's likely the higher voltage caused your mobo's early demise, not a cheap ide/southbridge.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 2nd October, 2002, 05:55 AM
whatever's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: moon
Posts: 1,132

Quote:
the Abit boards do not handle out of spec operation as well as, say, and epox, which has the components designed/capable of handling extra voltages... it's likely the higher voltage caused your mobo's early demise, not a cheap ide/southbridge.

I agree there. good point.. The Epox.. like 8K3A seem to handle very well with its high voltages. Healthy board..

Abit may need a little more care/attention when overvolting..
__________________
sig
HTPC
Conroe E6600 + stock cooler @ 3.2ghz
ATi X1950XTX 512 CrossFire
Triple WD Raptor 10k HDDs@ raid 0
50" Panasonic Plasma TH50PHD7UY
50" Panasonic Plasma TH50PH9UK
BetterCable SilverSerpent SVGA & DVI-D
Sony BWU-100A Blu-Ray PC Drive

p4 - superPi - 31 sec.
pM - superPi - 28 sec.
conroe - superPi - 14 sec.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 2nd October, 2002, 12:55 PM
Thundr7's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: New York The Empire State
Posts: 165
Send a message via AIM to Thundr7 Send a message via Yahoo to Thundr7

Thank you gentlemen. point noted . We shall see how well the Epox i have will perform
__________________
Xpect the Un-xpected
******************************
------------------------------------------------
If a woman laughs at you after sex, what does it mean? It means you forgot protection and now she has a slave.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 2nd October, 2002, 02:44 PM
Member
 
Join Date: September 2002
Posts: 67

Safest bet, when running hi overclocks etc, ALWAYS hook your drives up to the RAID controller if u have one. We tend to find that the RAID controller is more tolerant of HiFSBs than the standard IDE conns.
__________________
XP1700@2.8Ghz (216x13, 2.1v), Radeon 9800 Pro 128mb (Pelt cooled), Abit NF7-S Rev 2, OCZ EL-DDR 3500 2x256Mb, 2x 80Gb SG Barracuda V SATA, Cooled with Promi Mk2!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 2nd October, 2002, 08:25 PM
Holst's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Leics UK
Posts: 4,528

Plus the onboard highpoint will often outperform the IDE from VIA by a slight ammount, so its win-win

I doubt that faliure was anything to do with abit's design persay, but when overl****ing things will fail eventually.
__________________
No longer Epox Tech.

Best of luck in the future all my friends.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 9th October, 2002, 06:40 AM
Thundr7's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: New York The Empire State
Posts: 165
Send a message via AIM to Thundr7 Send a message via Yahoo to Thundr7

Hmmmm, another helpful point noted, Thank you gentlemen. Once i get my other 60 gig HD, i will hook up raid
__________________
Xpect the Un-xpected
******************************
------------------------------------------------
If a woman laughs at you after sex, what does it mean? It means you forgot protection and now she has a slave.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 9th October, 2002, 07:32 AM
whatever's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: moon
Posts: 1,132

Raid hookup is good.. but the IDE for the HDD on the 8k3A got me up 215mhz FSB. No issues. My HDD, Maxtor DiamondMax Plus60 20GB UATA100/2mb. The HDD performance on the regular IDE is superb too.. on the 8K3A. I have some screenshots if ya wan sum..
__________________
sig
HTPC
Conroe E6600 + stock cooler @ 3.2ghz
ATi X1950XTX 512 CrossFire
Triple WD Raptor 10k HDDs@ raid 0
50" Panasonic Plasma TH50PHD7UY
50" Panasonic Plasma TH50PH9UK
BetterCable SilverSerpent SVGA & DVI-D
Sony BWU-100A Blu-Ray PC Drive

p4 - superPi - 31 sec.
pM - superPi - 28 sec.
conroe - superPi - 14 sec.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
171.64.65.58 dead ThunderRd ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team 6 7th August, 2007 04:35 PM
Dead NF7 or PSU? Lazgoat CRASHED! 19 14th April, 2005 09:47 PM
Another dead PSU. Áedán General Hardware Discussion 4 3rd February, 2004 12:22 PM
IBM HDD Dead! SiGmA_X CRASHED! 21 20th March, 2003 02:32 AM
I'm not dead LutaWicasa ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team 17 9th September, 2002 11:00 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:01 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0