AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Software > Benchmarking

Benchmarking Post your Benchmarks here!


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 3rd March, 2003, 11:42 PM
stigweed's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2002
Location: Somerset. U.K.
Posts: 868

Got it installed, now please help me run it - GRRR error

My 3dmark2k3 experience has sucked so far as anyone who read my previous thread will see. Anyway now I've got it installed.

Another thread says it is intended to work on "entry level", DX8 cards. I have a Radeon 9000, the 9th highest scorer on 3dmark 2k1 and a DX8.1 compatible card. You would think that would be good enough. I know they're ment to be pushing new technology but seriously where's the backwards compatibility??? The card is 6 months old! It evens runs the Doom 3 alpha sweetly and UT2k3 with ease but because it "does not support stencil buffer" even though its a fully DX8 compliant card, it cannot perform any of the tests. I WANT EYE CANDY!!! I didn't spend 2 weeks downloading this at 2.5kb/sec every evening and weekend to find my brand spanking new graphiucs card has been deemed out of date.

I'm running Catalyst 3.1 drivers and DX9 (DX8 wouldn't even run the frontend). Can anybody help me? is this a freak error, would you recommend roling back the drivers?
__________________
We never should have stuck our heads out of the grass in Africa.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 8th March, 2003, 05:31 PM
marcofra2000's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: In the Desert of CA
Posts: 539
Send a message via MSN to marcofra2000

CAT. 2.5 gives me more fps than any other cat. drivers with no FSAA and AF. You might want to try it. Here is a link to it if you have xp:

http://mirror.ati.com/support/produc...usdrivers.html

Win ME:

http://mirror.ati.com/support/produc...usdrivers.html

The ones for Win 98 are too old.

 
__________________
Athlon 64 3500+@3800+
ASUS A8V
Gainward 6800 GT@ULTRA
2x512 Ballistix DDR PC-3200
Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS Platinum
Maxtor 80 gig
Antec 430 Watts
Onkyo HT-S760, 750 Watts.

Opinions are like butts, we all have them and they all stink at one time or another. But when people's butts stink we don't go around cleaning them, so please don't tell people that their opinions stink.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 8th March, 2003, 07:39 PM
stigweed's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2002
Location: Somerset. U.K.
Posts: 868

thanks. i'll try the 2.5s I thnik I've ogt them lying around here somewhere. I get the feeling it won't work though.
__________________
We never should have stuck our heads out of the grass in Africa.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 9th March, 2003, 09:42 PM
stigweed's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2002
Location: Somerset. U.K.
Posts: 868

No it didnt make a difference. Supposedly the only true DX requiremnt is DX7 compliance. DX9 is needed for the higher stuff but my card is 100% DX8 compliant and refuses to run.

I should start some kind of budget card anti-discrimination petition. I get the feeling no one would join it though.

Looks like it's time for another upgrade
__________________
We never should have stuck our heads out of the grass in Africa.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 9th March, 2003, 09:45 PM
marcofra2000's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: In the Desert of CA
Posts: 539
Send a message via MSN to marcofra2000

Probably is because you have the 64 mb version?, Try to save money, the rad 9700 pro is now 300 dollars, try to get the 9500 pro and do the hacking thing.
__________________
Athlon 64 3500+@3800+
ASUS A8V
Gainward 6800 GT@ULTRA
2x512 Ballistix DDR PC-3200
Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS Platinum
Maxtor 80 gig
Antec 430 Watts
Onkyo HT-S760, 750 Watts.

Opinions are like butts, we all have them and they all stink at one time or another. But when people's butts stink we don't go around cleaning them, so please don't tell people that their opinions stink.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 9th March, 2003, 10:52 PM
stigweed's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2002
Location: Somerset. U.K.
Posts: 868

300 dollars is steep ~ £230? Although with pc stuff, price conversions seem to involve just swapping £ with $ and leaving the numbers the same. Consider then that my card cost £70. It may be that its cos its a non-pro version. I guess if I can run Doom3 I am happy and don't really need to run 3dmark2k3. just annoyed i spent so long downloading it.
__________________
We never should have stuck our heads out of the grass in Africa.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 9th March, 2003, 10:56 PM
marcofra2000's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: In the Desert of CA
Posts: 539
Send a message via MSN to marcofra2000

Benchmarking with games is way better than using a benchmark like 3dmark03. I think the Radeon 8500 LE is faster than the one you have I believe and I think is by the same price.
__________________
Athlon 64 3500+@3800+
ASUS A8V
Gainward 6800 GT@ULTRA
2x512 Ballistix DDR PC-3200
Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS Platinum
Maxtor 80 gig
Antec 430 Watts
Onkyo HT-S760, 750 Watts.

Opinions are like butts, we all have them and they all stink at one time or another. But when people's butts stink we don't go around cleaning them, so please don't tell people that their opinions stink.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 9th March, 2003, 11:09 PM
stigweed's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2002
Location: Somerset. U.K.
Posts: 868

yeh, its faster but as i understood at the time of purchase, being the 9xxx chip it had more advanced DX features but a lower clock speed. At the moment Unreal Tournament 2003 is gorgeous and smooth so I won't be upgrading yet.

Depending on how the prices are going I may ship some of my better hardware out through ebay to fund further MHZage.
__________________
We never should have stuck our heads out of the grass in Africa.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 19th March, 2003, 12:50 AM
Liquid3D's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: Newport, RI SURF
Posts: 374

Not trying to disausde you from benchmarking, BUT the statement was/is true, although your card run's at a a slower clock speed, it's offers more advanced graphics features then the 8500 series. Don't get me wrong, for pure frame rate madness, the 8500 is technically faster then the 9000 (I have one I bought new few years ago in closet) BUT what's important is the HOURS of enjoyment playing $50 games. Not the 7min of stress running a Free demo (you can't even play it) And all the while your praying your overclocked system/card get's through 3DMark2003 just to get those few extra points. Sure you can be proud of your score, but there's always some lunatic out there with too much money, and access to Liquid Nitrogen who'll beat everyone's score, so it's all relative? How much will be enough?

That's why reviewers use UT3, Serious Sam, Return to Castle..., Jedi Knight II, Quake III. etc in their reveiws. Otherwise thye would employ 3DMark2003 and nothing else. Besides 3DMarl2001SE is amore accurate measurement of current standards anyway. DX9 is a future becnhmark. Can you name the number of games currently running under DX9 besides the demo? If my Tyan Tachyon 9700 Pro were to be RMA;d right now, I'd pull out my Radeon 8500, instead of my Leadtek GF4 Ti4400, even thought the Leadtek smokes the radeon in FPS, because the ATI core is more advanced, and LOOK's better! Just like your ATI core is more advanced then it's predecessor.
__________________
(1.) 2.4C@3.6GHz 300FSB, SLK900U/Vantec Tornado 92mm/119CFM, Abit IS7-E, 1GB OCZ GolD Dual Channel 3700, Tyan G9700 Pro, PCPower&Cooling 400W
(2.) JIUHB1700, Prometeia, Soltek 75FRN2-L, 1GB OCZ EL-PC3700, Leadtek Winfast A250, ANTEC 480W


Last edited by Liquid3D; 19th March, 2003 at 12:53 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 17th June, 2004, 04:28 AM
Member
 
Join Date: June 2004
Posts: 1

Can someone help me?

I downloaded the 3DMark 2003 from AOA files and I can't even open it. There is no extension to it at all. Did anyone else have this problem? If so please help!
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 17th June, 2004, 07:35 AM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

If it doesn't have an extension, them something funky happened with the download, most likely. It should be a .EXE file.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 17th June, 2004, 10:14 PM
Pitch's Avatar
AOA Staff
Asteroids Champion, Maeda Path Champion, Disco Racer Champion, Alpha Bravo Charlie Champion, Van Champion
 
Join Date: February 2004
Location: The cake is a lie.
Posts: 5,025
Send a message via MSN to Pitch

Random~
__________________


XBL/PNS = neolad
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Grrr....whats died? Lazgoat CRASHED! 9 31st October, 2006 12:59 AM
Randon stuttering...grrr! :( Lazgoat Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 17 1st July, 2005 07:57 AM
GRRR More lost WUs! stigweed ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team 1 6th February, 2003 08:19 AM
Grrr@ my 8RDA+ ET pls help!! MiGGinZ EPoX MotherBoards 16 7th December, 2002 04:43 AM
Grrr..Servers. Here we go again! Jimbo ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team 6 30th September, 2001 09:47 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:19 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0