AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Case Modifications


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 7th September, 2004, 01:52 AM
alexkerhead's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: June 2004
Location: Montgomery, AL USA
Posts: 3,018
Send a message via MSN to alexkerhead

The 486 Mod

I got this off the side of the road, and was bored, and did this listed and picced.
Had:
486sx 20MHz
4mb sram
no hdd
no cd
3.5in floppy
no sound
512kb video

I put these old parts in the
486DX4 100MHz
8MB Sram
800MB HDD
4X CD-ROm
Media vision sound card
2MB vid card

I am going to make a doom 1 machine outta this, cause i am crazy and bored. I will have doom 1 logos and ultimate doom logos also.

Here is my case mod, a 80mm fan, I cut (with wire cutters) a holes in two bay doors and walla, i mounted a grill and uv fan in that suck, it blows on the DX4 very well, like it needed it..
Needs a few touch ups, but will be a nice machine when done..
__________________
Linux(Ubuntu) and Windows(XP) User. Dual-Booting.
Desktop: Intel E6600 2.4Ghz@3.2GHz(355MHz*9@1.3V), 6GB G. Skill DDR2-800(4-4-4-12 2T@2.0V), EVGA Nforce 680i LT SLI, NVIDIA 8500GT 512MB(500MHz Core + 450MHz Mem) etc, etc.

AOA Team fah

Last edited by alexkerhead; 11th October, 2004 at 11:40 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 9th September, 2004, 08:48 AM
brian770's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2004
Location: HighBridge Wisconsin
Posts: 279

you found?

hi Alex!!
your lucky!
all i ever find on the side of the road in wisconsin are empty beer cans and empty bullet casings! lol
wait!!! i just came up with an idea for my next case!! gota go write this one down!
ya, i'm a redneck at heart.lol
brian770
__________________
overclocking is like raising a child, you do everything you can to make sure its right and hopefully when your done it turns out perfect......but your never realy done..lol
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 9th September, 2004, 10:02 PM
fantomfreq's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2004
Location: Fort Stewart, GA
Posts: 1,000
Send a message via AIM to fantomfreq

My family has one of those old computers at home. Just before I went away for college I pulled it out just for fun. I don't know a lot about it, but I do know it's 32 Mhz (switchable to 22 Mhz), CD-Rom drive (complete with a removable tray), 5 and a quarter floppy disc, 8 RAM slots (dunno how much though), serial mouse and keyboard. The insides were crazy dusty. My friend and I tried to find more info on the net about the parts inside, but the most we could find were a couple of brand names.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 11th October, 2004, 03:40 AM
saguru's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2004
Location: Croatia :(
Posts: 17

Quote:
Originally Posted by fantomfreq
My friend and I tried to find more info on the net about the parts inside, but the most we could find were a couple of brand names.
Funny
Did you try using google?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 11th October, 2004, 05:03 AM
robbie's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Out in the desert of Ca.
Posts: 12,548
Send a message via AIM to robbie Send a message via MSN to robbie Send a message via Yahoo to robbie Send a message via Skype™ to robbie

Seems as though your site is down. Ya know we can host the pix for you if you just upload them. Hell if you do a little write up we might throw it up on the front page.
Rob
__________________
Taking each day as it comes
Grow, learn and OVERCLOCK. Need help?? Ask me.
Your Mommy!! (Aug/02) Welcome to the fold.
Buy it, Sell it, or Trade it in the AoA classifieds!!
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 11th October, 2004, 06:35 PM
Biohazard's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2002
Location: Muhaha
Posts: 359
Send a message via Yahoo to Biohazard

Quote:
Originally Posted by alexkerhead
remember Rob, you said if I got inside pics, you might make it front page.
Where did u read that? Rob sed if u upload the pics to the AOA server u might make the front page!
__________________
Rig 1
AMD XP1600+/Epox 8K3a+/Geforce4 Ti4200/Kingston 256Mb PC2700/WD 100GB SE 7400RPM

Rig 2
AMD XP2000+/MSI Ultra2/ATI Radeon 9000/Kingston 256Mb PC2100/Seagate 60GB 5200RPM
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 11th October, 2004, 11:32 PM
alexkerhead's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: June 2004
Location: Montgomery, AL USA
Posts: 3,018
Send a message via MSN to alexkerhead

Quote:
Originally Posted by Biohazard
Where did u read that? Rob sed if u upload the pics to the AOA server u might make the front page!
the old thread bubs..lol
this is the new one.
__________________
Linux(Ubuntu) and Windows(XP) User. Dual-Booting.
Desktop: Intel E6600 2.4Ghz@3.2GHz(355MHz*9@1.3V), 6GB G. Skill DDR2-800(4-4-4-12 2T@2.0V), EVGA Nforce 680i LT SLI, NVIDIA 8500GT 512MB(500MHz Core + 450MHz Mem) etc, etc.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 11th October, 2004, 11:41 PM
alexkerhead's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: June 2004
Location: Montgomery, AL USA
Posts: 3,018
Send a message via MSN to alexkerhead

new updated pics

I gave it a black paint job, and all I need to do now it to paint the cdrom front and floppy drive front.
Attached Thumbnails
The 486 Mod-pic00013.jpg   The 486 Mod-pic00012.jpg   The 486 Mod-pic00011.jpg  
__________________
Linux(Ubuntu) and Windows(XP) User. Dual-Booting.
Desktop: Intel E6600 2.4Ghz@3.2GHz(355MHz*9@1.3V), 6GB G. Skill DDR2-800(4-4-4-12 2T@2.0V), EVGA Nforce 680i LT SLI, NVIDIA 8500GT 512MB(500MHz Core + 450MHz Mem) etc, etc.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 12th October, 2004, 03:00 PM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

Front page! www.aoaforums.com
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 12th October, 2004, 09:45 PM
alexkerhead's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: June 2004
Location: Montgomery, AL USA
Posts: 3,018
Send a message via MSN to alexkerhead

thanks gizmo, now AOA is looking back to normal, as in front page goodness.
__________________
Linux(Ubuntu) and Windows(XP) User. Dual-Booting.
Desktop: Intel E6600 2.4Ghz@3.2GHz(355MHz*9@1.3V), 6GB G. Skill DDR2-800(4-4-4-12 2T@2.0V), EVGA Nforce 680i LT SLI, NVIDIA 8500GT 512MB(500MHz Core + 450MHz Mem) etc, etc.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 12th October, 2004, 10:09 PM
robbie's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Out in the desert of Ca.
Posts: 12,548
Send a message via AIM to robbie Send a message via MSN to robbie Send a message via Yahoo to robbie Send a message via Skype™ to robbie

Excellent work my friend!!!
Rob
__________________
Taking each day as it comes
Grow, learn and OVERCLOCK. Need help?? Ask me.
Your Mommy!! (Aug/02) Welcome to the fold.
Buy it, Sell it, or Trade it in the AoA classifieds!!
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 12th October, 2004, 11:44 PM
saguru's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2004
Location: Croatia :(
Posts: 17

Quote:
Originally Posted by alexkerhead
new updated pics

I gave it a black paint job, and all I need to do now it to paint the cdrom front and floppy drive front.
The paint looks really tight, well for an 486
Good work, but what you gonna do with it though?
__________________
main box: Abit NF7-s TicTac Bios, Mobile Barton 2.4+@2.4GHz, Alpha PEP 66 + Volcano 12 fan, 2x256MB@4460, Sapphire 9600pro 128mb, SkyStar 2, 4x160gb Samsung, Pioneer A08, Toshiba 1802, Antec slk3700, Enermax 465w, Nokia 21" 445pro 1600x1200@90Hz, VideoSeven 19" N110s 1600x1200@85Hz, Logitech Wireless keyboard + MX 700, Wacom Intuos A3 tablet, HP LJet 1010


other box: NF7-s, 1.7+@2.2GHz, 512MB, 2x160gb Seagate, Hitachi 21" 1280x1024@85Hz, Logitech Wless keyb + MouseMan

can't fit more
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 13th October, 2004, 12:35 AM
Pitch's Avatar
AOA Staff
Asteroids Champion, Maeda Path Champion, Disco Racer Champion, Alpha Bravo Charlie Champion, Van Champion
 
Join Date: February 2004
Location: The cake is a lie.
Posts: 5,025
Send a message via MSN to Pitch

He's building it in anticipation or HL2.
__________________


XBL/PNS = neolad
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 13th October, 2004, 03:12 AM
alexkerhead's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: June 2004
Location: Montgomery, AL USA
Posts: 3,018
Send a message via MSN to alexkerhead

It is actually a tribute to Doom1 machine, and runs it extremely well, and updated specs are:
AMD 486 based 133MHz(socket 2)
28MB EDO RAM
800MB Maxtor HDD
4X goldstar CDROM
2MB S3 Virge
So it is actually capable of surfing high speed net ok.
but it is a doom1 and duke 3d machine for now.
__________________
Linux(Ubuntu) and Windows(XP) User. Dual-Booting.
Desktop: Intel E6600 2.4Ghz@3.2GHz(355MHz*9@1.3V), 6GB G. Skill DDR2-800(4-4-4-12 2T@2.0V), EVGA Nforce 680i LT SLI, NVIDIA 8500GT 512MB(500MHz Core + 450MHz Mem) etc, etc.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 13th October, 2004, 05:45 AM
saguru's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2004
Location: Croatia :(
Posts: 17

Quote:
Originally Posted by alexkerhead
It is actually a tribute to Doom1 machine, and runs it extremely well, so it is actually capable of surfing high speed net ok.
but it is a doom1 and duke 3d machine for now.
Yay, I should build some of those, i'm sure i have enough part for a few of them, actually I have too much of sub GHz stuff. But i'm kinda lazy to bother


I could put a PC in an Amiga 2000 case (or maybe see if tha Amiga still works ), and run an Amiga emu on it Now that would be fun.

What about making a C64 cluster? I have also a few of those around, and a spare big tower case, with some cuting, i could prolly fit like 6 of those in the case Hmm, but I'd have to rewire the keyboards to PC keybs. Bah...
__________________
main box: Abit NF7-s TicTac Bios, Mobile Barton 2.4+@2.4GHz, Alpha PEP 66 + Volcano 12 fan, 2x256MB@4460, Sapphire 9600pro 128mb, SkyStar 2, 4x160gb Samsung, Pioneer A08, Toshiba 1802, Antec slk3700, Enermax 465w, Nokia 21" 445pro 1600x1200@90Hz, VideoSeven 19" N110s 1600x1200@85Hz, Logitech Wireless keyboard + MX 700, Wacom Intuos A3 tablet, HP LJet 1010


other box: NF7-s, 1.7+@2.2GHz, 512MB, 2x160gb Seagate, Hitachi 21" 1280x1024@85Hz, Logitech Wless keyb + MouseMan

can't fit more
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 14th October, 2004, 12:19 AM
alexkerhead's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: June 2004
Location: Montgomery, AL USA
Posts: 3,018
Send a message via MSN to alexkerhead

Quote:
Originally Posted by saguru
Yay, I should build some of those, i'm sure i have enough part for a few of them, actually I have too much of sub GHz stuff. But i'm kinda lazy to bother


I could put a PC in an Amiga 2000 case (or maybe see if tha Amiga still works ), and run an Amiga emu on it Now that would be fun.

What about making a C64 cluster? I have also a few of those around, and a spare big tower case, with some cuting, i could prolly fit like 6 of those in the case Hmm, but I'd have to rewire the keyboards to PC keybs. Bah...
Just make somthing that is bare minimum for accessing high speed internet.
__________________
Linux(Ubuntu) and Windows(XP) User. Dual-Booting.
Desktop: Intel E6600 2.4Ghz@3.2GHz(355MHz*9@1.3V), 6GB G. Skill DDR2-800(4-4-4-12 2T@2.0V), EVGA Nforce 680i LT SLI, NVIDIA 8500GT 512MB(500MHz Core + 450MHz Mem) etc, etc.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 14th October, 2004, 11:29 AM
saguru's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2004
Location: Croatia :(
Posts: 17

Quote:
Originally Posted by alexkerhead
Just make somthing that is bare minimum for accessing high speed internet.
There is no high speed internet here. And there wont be any for a long, long, sha-la-la-long long time, cause we sold our telecom to the germans....hmm, and our banks, and our tv stations and our mobile telekom....to think that we wasted so much resources in WW2 to get rid of ze germanz and now selling the most/only valuable companies/markets to them for peanuts...funny isn't it...

Yay, onward with the globalisation! Yay for the capitalism! Yay!
Now, why did you have to remind me of that?

Btw, this here is croatia
__________________
main box: Abit NF7-s TicTac Bios, Mobile Barton 2.4+@2.4GHz, Alpha PEP 66 + Volcano 12 fan, 2x256MB@4460, Sapphire 9600pro 128mb, SkyStar 2, 4x160gb Samsung, Pioneer A08, Toshiba 1802, Antec slk3700, Enermax 465w, Nokia 21" 445pro 1600x1200@90Hz, VideoSeven 19" N110s 1600x1200@85Hz, Logitech Wireless keyboard + MX 700, Wacom Intuos A3 tablet, HP LJet 1010


other box: NF7-s, 1.7+@2.2GHz, 512MB, 2x160gb Seagate, Hitachi 21" 1280x1024@85Hz, Logitech Wless keyb + MouseMan

can't fit more
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 14th October, 2004, 06:11 PM
RussianMissile1's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: June 2003
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 1,229
Send a message via AIM to RussianMissile1

bare minimum for dialup 56k then?
__________________
<-- My Cat PWNZ J00!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 14th October, 2004, 07:18 PM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

We try to keep AOA as 56k friendly as possible. E.g. no bandwidth hungry graphical sigs.

We know broadband isn't available everywhere and some people have no choice.
__________________
Desktop PC: AMD FX-8370E / Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard / 16GB DDR3 RAM / GeForce GTX 970
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old 14th October, 2004, 10:13 PM
alexkerhead's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: June 2004
Location: Montgomery, AL USA
Posts: 3,018
Send a message via MSN to alexkerhead

Quote:
Originally Posted by saguru
There is no high speed internet here. And there wont be any for a long, long, sha-la-la-long long time, cause we sold our telecom to the germans....hmm, and our banks, and our tv stations and our mobile telekom....to think that we wasted so much resources in WW2 to get rid of ze germanz and now selling the most/only valuable companies/markets to them for peanuts...funny isn't it...

Yay, onward with the globalisation! Yay for the capitalism! Yay!
Now, why did you have to remind me of that?

Btw, this here is croatia
sorry bro, but you might plz put your local in you sig, like we do, then I would not have said that..lol
hehe, well, you may want to come over here one day.
__________________
Linux(Ubuntu) and Windows(XP) User. Dual-Booting.
Desktop: Intel E6600 2.4Ghz@3.2GHz(355MHz*9@1.3V), 6GB G. Skill DDR2-800(4-4-4-12 2T@2.0V), EVGA Nforce 680i LT SLI, NVIDIA 8500GT 512MB(500MHz Core + 450MHz Mem) etc, etc.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:29 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0