AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Case Modifications


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 28th January, 2005, 12:28 AM
somebodytoldme7's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 37
Send a message via AIM to somebodytoldme7

Best Cable Mod!

so i order an ABIT KV8-Pro motherboard expecting round cables. it arrives, flat ribbon cables. im pretty angry, so instead of yelling, i mod!

I opened up an old HP pentium 2 box to find a nice ribbon cable. i used some zipties and some duct tape and viola. a horrid "round" cable, its more triangle and oblong then round but hey, for free, its better then paying 6 bucks for a cable.

hey, its my good friend joe!

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v6...1/100_0087.jpg

good luck on all your future mods, and i hope they are as sucessful as mine was.
__________________
AMD athlon 64 2800+ @ 2.36 ghz (262*9)
Abit KV8-Pro
Buffalo B-Line 512 mb pc-3200 2.5-3-3-6 cas (2358/11)
Rosewill Geforce fx 5200 stock 250/332 oced to 300/420 (Pushing 11000 in 3dmark01se!)
quantum bigfoot 19 gig 5 1/4 inch hard drive (poor again, thanks joe)
Kingwin K8 CU-8025 w/ 52 cfm blue led fan(37 idle/55 load)
Raidmax 268 Blue case. with 4 52 cfm fans installed
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 28th January, 2005, 12:32 AM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

I expected round cables as well, with my 3rd-Eye version, but it came wit flat black ones that have orange pulls. Works with my current project, so all's well!

You can get better shape by splitting the cable apart into it's individual strands, but i t can be easy to cut the wrong spot!

Now look at all the extra airflow you can get! LoL.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 28th January, 2005, 12:36 AM
somebodytoldme7's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 37
Send a message via AIM to somebodytoldme7

the worst part is, it acutally works!
__________________
AMD athlon 64 2800+ @ 2.36 ghz (262*9)
Abit KV8-Pro
Buffalo B-Line 512 mb pc-3200 2.5-3-3-6 cas (2358/11)
Rosewill Geforce fx 5200 stock 250/332 oced to 300/420 (Pushing 11000 in 3dmark01se!)
quantum bigfoot 19 gig 5 1/4 inch hard drive (poor again, thanks joe)
Kingwin K8 CU-8025 w/ 52 cfm blue led fan(37 idle/55 load)
Raidmax 268 Blue case. with 4 52 cfm fans installed
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 28th January, 2005, 12:41 AM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

is that a 40 or 80 conductor cable?
if you try and turn an 80 conductor cable into a round cable I've found the best way to split the ribbon without exposing any wire is to use a pin, it should fit into the broove between the strands and the draw it down gently until the strands are seperated.
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias Fünke, M.D.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 28th January, 2005, 06:07 AM
DiabloAbogado's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 345

BTW, Flat cables aren't all bad. I had round IDE cables, but now prefer flat ones. I saw an article about folding the flat ones to hug the sides of the case. Now it looks like I don't even have IDE cables connecting my HD and burner. Talk about better air flow!
__________________
AMD 3200+ 2.2 GHz, MSI K8N NEO Platinum, 2x512 OCZ 3200 EL Plat , 2x60GB SATA (Raid 0), MSI DVD+/-RW, Koolance 300-V13, Hydor L30, Black Ice Xtreme (120mm), GF7300 GT
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 28th January, 2005, 05:03 PM
dolanenwindrift's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2003
Posts: 499

Flat cables have advantages, BUT there is one problem - IF the cables get creased you can break a connector inside the ribbon, and it's all over. When I worked IT one of the things we had to do when deploying new PCs (especially IBM and Dell) was yank the IDE cables and replace them, because they had such a high failure rate! On the other hand, if you can fold the cables without cresing you can actually achieve better airflow.
__________________
Dolanen

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 29th January, 2005, 08:09 PM
somebodytoldme7's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 37
Send a message via AIM to somebodytoldme7

Im actually thinking of doing a legit cable mod, and cleaning up my case with heatshrink. are there any places you guys can recommend for some heatshrink or molex pin removers??
__________________
AMD athlon 64 2800+ @ 2.36 ghz (262*9)
Abit KV8-Pro
Buffalo B-Line 512 mb pc-3200 2.5-3-3-6 cas (2358/11)
Rosewill Geforce fx 5200 stock 250/332 oced to 300/420 (Pushing 11000 in 3dmark01se!)
quantum bigfoot 19 gig 5 1/4 inch hard drive (poor again, thanks joe)
Kingwin K8 CU-8025 w/ 52 cfm blue led fan(37 idle/55 load)
Raidmax 268 Blue case. with 4 52 cfm fans installed
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 29th January, 2005, 08:16 PM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

what country?
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias Fünke, M.D.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 29th January, 2005, 08:36 PM
somebodytoldme7's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 37
Send a message via AIM to somebodytoldme7

United States.
__________________
AMD athlon 64 2800+ @ 2.36 ghz (262*9)
Abit KV8-Pro
Buffalo B-Line 512 mb pc-3200 2.5-3-3-6 cas (2358/11)
Rosewill Geforce fx 5200 stock 250/332 oced to 300/420 (Pushing 11000 in 3dmark01se!)
quantum bigfoot 19 gig 5 1/4 inch hard drive (poor again, thanks joe)
Kingwin K8 CU-8025 w/ 52 cfm blue led fan(37 idle/55 load)
Raidmax 268 Blue case. with 4 52 cfm fans installed
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 29th January, 2005, 09:12 PM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

Quote:
Originally Posted by dolanenwindrift
Flat cables have advantages, BUT there is one problem - IF the cables get creased you can break a connector inside the ribbon, and it's all over. When I worked IT one of the things we had to do when deploying new PCs (especially IBM and Dell) was yank the IDE cables and replace them, because they had such a high failure rate! On the other hand, if you can fold the cables without cresing you can actually achieve better airflow.
Ya, I ran into that as well. In fact, I ruined two $80 SCSI cables because of it. I had them folded so that I could put them inside the wire loom that I had. They worked for about two weeks.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 30th January, 2005, 06:29 PM
skool h8r's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Rotherham, UK
Posts: 3,157
Send a message via MSN to skool h8r

bloody hell, $80! There was a mod like this on casemodgod i think and i'm planning to do it in a few weeks, the EI tape (or duct tape) is only about 20p each (about 45 cents). You can split them in between every wire but it's more likely to go wrong, takes longer but does generally give better results. The recommendation is to split it every 10 wires which is what i'll probably do. Now which colour, red, blue, green, black or yellow? Alos, if you use tie wraps to tie them to the inside of the drive bay, you can do what Diablo said and make them look like they blend in or not there at all.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ide cable mod Sideburns General Hardware Discussion 3 3rd August, 2003 11:19 AM
Cable help. Phat Pat Mobile Devices and Networking 5 12th February, 2003 01:33 AM
Better cable bandwidth via cable modem ?firmware update. Think twice! cloasters Random Nonsense! 1 30th June, 2002 08:28 PM
cable WOW...... kat Random Nonsense! 25 12th June, 2002 05:43 PM
cable tv and isp ?? kat Random Nonsense! 2 4th June, 2002 06:18 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:31 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0