AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Case Modifications


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 10th May, 2005, 03:56 PM
Member
 
Join Date: June 2004
Posts: 7

RPM monitor

Hey everybody,

I was wondering if it is possible to make a tachometer to monitor rpm of my fans, just like the car tachometer.

Has anyone done this or could someone give me some advice to do this?

Thanks
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 10th May, 2005, 04:29 PM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

You could try this one CoolMon 2:
http://wiki.coolmon.org/screens

That's the screenshot page which shows how flexible it is.
__________________
Desktop PC: AMD FX-8370E / Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard / 16GB DDR3 RAM / GeForce GTX 970
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 10th May, 2005, 04:47 PM
Member
 
Join Date: June 2004
Posts: 7

hmm, thanks, but thats not what I want. I want a real thing. Not software tachometer, but a real one on the side of my case or something.

I hope you understand what I mean.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 10th May, 2005, 04:50 PM
skou's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Tempe Az
Posts: 2

Some of the fan controllers have speed monitors in them, is that what you are looking for?

Or did you want to actually mount a car tach in a case?

steve
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 10th May, 2005, 06:12 PM
Member
 
Join Date: June 2004
Posts: 7

Oh, hi skou, so you're here too?

I was thinking about mounting a car tachometer into my case, but that would be a bit too large. So maybe something smaller. Any ideas how to do something like that?
Oh and could you show me the fan controller you mentioned?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 10th May, 2005, 06:20 PM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

Something like this?
http://www.xoxide.com/pctachometer1.html
__________________
Desktop PC: AMD FX-8370E / Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard / 16GB DDR3 RAM / GeForce GTX 970
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 10th May, 2005, 07:11 PM
Member
 
Join Date: June 2004
Posts: 7

Yes! Exactly! But I want to make one myself. Do you have any ideas how to make such a thing?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 10th May, 2005, 07:36 PM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

I don't think making one would be practicle, not when you can pick up a fan bus with temps sensors and rpm monitors along with variable fan controllers for around £15
I have a Superflower one that has 4 fan controllers, monitors and temp sensors
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias Fünke, M.D.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 10th May, 2005, 07:56 PM
Member
 
Join Date: June 2004
Posts: 7

Yeah, I know, it might not be practical, but it looks cool. So I could buy a car tachometer from a car shop, but how do I attach it to the fan rpm wire or something? Any help appreciated.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 10th May, 2005, 08:36 PM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

I don't know if it would be that straight forward.

You would probably need something between the meter and fan. Either some electronics or if you plug it into the serial port, some software.
__________________
Desktop PC: AMD FX-8370E / Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard / 16GB DDR3 RAM / GeForce GTX 970
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 10th May, 2005, 09:23 PM
Kaitain's Avatar
Member
Mars Rover Champion, Joust Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: MK10, UK.
Posts: 4,372
Send a message via MSN to Kaitain Send a message via Skype™ to Kaitain

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sarwik
Yeah, I know, it might not be practical, but it looks cool. So I could buy a car tachometer from a car shop, but how do I attach it to the fan rpm wire or something? Any help appreciated.
It depends largely on the type of tachometer you buy. My somewhat ancient car uses the old mechanical variety that you will definitely not be able to use - somehow connected to the engine is a flexible cable that rotates at high speed in its sheath. It's connected to a magnet at the tachometer that rotates inside a coil, induces a current, ditto a field and moves the needle. Not very computer-friendly.

Your fans generate either one or two digital pulses per revolution. Modern digital tachometers accept a similar kind of signal. I will offer no help as to connect it to your system, as I'm neither mechanic nor electrician but will suggest a few beers and a large hammer as aides to the project
__________________
It is by coffee alone I set my mind in motion...
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 11th May, 2005, 05:05 AM
Member
 
Join Date: June 2004
Posts: 7

Hehe, thanks guys. I want to do it without software, and yeah, I know I can't use the old mechanical tachometer.

I really hope someone knows how to do it, because my mind is empty.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 11th May, 2005, 07:24 AM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

There's a few frequency to voltage converters out there. You could always use one of those, and hook it up to a standard moving coil meter (see this). Otherwise you're into the domain of microcontrollers, and doing it in software.
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).

Last edited by Áedán; 11th May, 2005 at 07:30 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 11th May, 2005, 10:22 AM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

Get a Type-R one!
http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.d...971766237&rd=1
__________________
Desktop PC: AMD FX-8370E / Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard / 16GB DDR3 RAM / GeForce GTX 970
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 11th May, 2005, 08:03 PM
Member
 
Join Date: June 2004
Posts: 7

Quote:
Originally Posted by Áedán
There's a few frequency to voltage converters out there. You could always use one of those, and hook it up to a standard moving coil meter (see this).
Hey thats a great idea, I'll look into it and post back if I have something done. Thanks for the help.

Quote:
Originally Posted by danrok
Lol, I think that doesn't help me much. I'll just buy some regular car tachometer.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Monitor Mod danrok Case Modifications 0 22nd March, 2005 08:09 PM
Which monitor out of these? Veky Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 8 25th June, 2004 08:55 PM
my monitor mod N.V.M. Case Modifications 32 4th June, 2003 12:53 PM
Monitor MOD!! robbie Case Modifications 3 22nd November, 2002 04:34 PM
monitor kat General Hardware Discussion 14 16th October, 2001 06:31 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:05 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0