AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Cooling & Temperature Monitoring


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 7th October, 2002, 10:40 PM
MercutioUK's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Sheffield, UK
Posts: 170

This ones weird.....

Im having MAJOR problems with my thermaltake volcano 7+. Same problem has occured on both my Epox 8k5a3 board and my older soltek sl-2. Soon as I put the cooler on the system goes nuts. Get (XP) BSOD on bootup and plenty of other problems.
Tried the following as a test as I noticed cooler was causing problems with this:
Put the volcano 7+ on as cooler and tried to install win xp. It gets as far as the screen JUST after it copies the bus driver files for scsi etc (something like "starting windows setup") and halts there...wont move a muscle.
Put my old crappy £5 coolermaster sink on... goes thru to the next stage of installation fine (and would continue but it also lets my XP install boot without BSOD so I dont need to install again)
Has ANYONE got the slightest clue whats going on here? Is it the position of the clip on the sink? The placing of the "lip" on the base of the sink? I really can't figure this one out....
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 8th October, 2002, 10:34 AM
Random Nonsense's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: USS Great Britain, aircraft carrier, moored off the northwest coast of Europe
Posts: 3,340
Send a message via ICQ to Random Nonsense Send a message via Yahoo to Random Nonsense

It could be the good old thermaltake problem of an uneven base, the overall temperature may be lower than your cheapo sink, but you may have localised hotspots that cause crashes etc. You could try lapping the base of the HSF and seeing if that helps?
__________________
Dual XP1600+ AGOIA "Y" @ 1875mhz WATERCOOLED 33C LOAD

Undergoing overhaul. Hard Locking to 13.5X multiplier for theoretical clockrate of 1944mhz 144mhz FSB

1X Duron 1.3 AHCLA "9" @ 1430mhz

1X Celeron 1000mhz

1X Pentium3 450 DECEASED

Folding Under AOA-UK for team 45!



"Mothers should love their babies, because then they grow up, everyone might hate them."
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 8th October, 2002, 12:06 PM
Winkie's Avatar
Banned
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: USS Great Britain, aircraft carrier, moored off the northwest coast of Europe
Posts: 987
Send a message via ICQ to Winkie Send a message via AIM to Winkie Send a message via Yahoo to Winkie

Is the fan drawing enough current to screw up the lines on your board(s)? It's a possible possibility
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 8th October, 2002, 01:15 PM
Random Nonsense's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: USS Great Britain, aircraft carrier, moored off the northwest coast of Europe
Posts: 3,340
Send a message via ICQ to Random Nonsense Send a message via Yahoo to Random Nonsense

Normally a delta will just kill a board if the board cant take it... remember its 12v, so it wouldnt screw with anything that powers stuff liek the CPU, RAM etc
__________________
Dual XP1600+ AGOIA "Y" @ 1875mhz WATERCOOLED 33C LOAD

Undergoing overhaul. Hard Locking to 13.5X multiplier for theoretical clockrate of 1944mhz 144mhz FSB

1X Duron 1.3 AHCLA "9" @ 1430mhz

1X Celeron 1000mhz

1X Pentium3 450 DECEASED

Folding Under AOA-UK for team 45!



"Mothers should love their babies, because then they grow up, everyone might hate them."
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 8th October, 2002, 02:47 PM
Winkie's Avatar
Banned
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: USS Great Britain, aircraft carrier, moored off the northwest coast of Europe
Posts: 987
Send a message via ICQ to Winkie Send a message via AIM to Winkie Send a message via Yahoo to Winkie

Yup, it probably has a current limiting resistor in series, but I'm just trying to cover all bases
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 8th October, 2002, 06:00 PM
MercutioUK's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Sheffield, UK
Posts: 170

no problem with power. The fans on a drive connector had that and the cheepo running together and no problems so it aint power. I'll certainly try evening the base up tho.
Played about with the position of the sink over the chip and now seems to run my 1800+ ok... gonna double check that in a mo but I got a nasty feeling my 2200+ is now deceased any other reason why even when still running at stock XP gives me LOTS of BSOD? Even during bootup etc?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 8th October, 2002, 07:17 PM
Winkie's Avatar
Banned
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: USS Great Britain, aircraft carrier, moored off the northwest coast of Europe
Posts: 987
Send a message via ICQ to Winkie Send a message via AIM to Winkie Send a message via Yahoo to Winkie

Because your chip is at 80c?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 8th October, 2002, 07:20 PM
MercutioUK's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Sheffield, UK
Posts: 170

I finally got the thing working... perfectly.... but still with the old cooler (hadnt toasted the 2200+ after all) so about to try the thermaltake on it again make sure alls fine there as well
The chip runs quite cool (like about 56 max....more normally around the 50 mark and about 44 idle) ill report back with how I get on
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 8th October, 2002, 10:31 PM
MercutioUK's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Sheffield, UK
Posts: 170

hmmm...all now works fine....including the ram at 2-6-2-2-1... very strange. 12000 3dmarks though so not complaining
temperatures are gooood too... now running 34 idle or about 45 at full load...plenty of room to "grow" into once im brave enough to start tinkering
__________________
Never buy a dwarf with learning difficulties,
It's not big, and it's not clever.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Weird pop-up on AOA Rondog Forum Feedback and Suggestion Box 7 7th August, 2005 04:12 AM
I know this is weird.... NeVeRmiNd Random Nonsense! 17 21st August, 2004 05:37 AM
Weird one... SimonGhent AMD Motherboards & CPUs 3 15th October, 2002 10:26 AM
Weird...... The Spyder Mobile Devices and Networking 17 28th May, 2002 05:54 AM
Weird... Thelemac Random Nonsense! 17 28th September, 2001 03:14 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:07 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0