AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Cooling & Temperature Monitoring


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 12th November, 2002, 07:05 AM
Member
 
Join Date: July 2002
Posts: 17

Water pump causing monitor interference

I know it's the pump's proximity to the monitor that's causing this, but space is at a premium at my home. When testing the setup on kithcen table overnight, this didn't happen. When I plug the pump into the socket i was using (via ext. cord) it still happens. When I shut pump off for second, it stops. I have pump rad and all in a box I made and that sits on top of PC with the tubing running through a hole on top of PC.
I know I could move the whole shebang to the floor or something, but man, my wife would not love that (for reasons not worth mentioning). What I'm wondering is if there is some type of cheap sheilding I can get for the inside of my water box at home depot or radio shack or something, and would this work before i drive around and buy the stuff, hehe. No way I wanna take some retail store flunky's word that this will or won't work.
Thanks.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 12th November, 2002, 07:11 AM
robbie's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Out in the desert of Ca.
Posts: 12,548
Send a message via AIM to robbie Send a message via MSN to robbie Send a message via Yahoo to robbie Send a message via Skype™ to robbie

get an old cheap sheilded computer speaker and put it in there.
Rob
__________________
Taking each day as it comes
Grow, learn and OVERCLOCK. Need help?? Ask me.
Your Mommy!! (Aug/02) Welcome to the fold.
Buy it, Sell it, or Trade it in the AoA classifieds!!
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 12th November, 2002, 07:25 AM
The Spyder's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Oregon
Posts: 4,086
Send a message via AIM to The Spyder Send a message via MSN to The Spyder

aluminum foil :P :P:P and try using a DIFF powerstrip then the monitors pluged into~
__________________
~The Spyder~
I7 965, 6gigs, ASUS, 4870 X2, WD640 AALS Lian Li PC65
Nikon D700, 24-70, 70-200 2.8, SB 800x2
1993 Mazda Rx7 R1 345whp. 2008 Mazda 3 Hatch
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 12th November, 2002, 07:44 AM
Member
 
Join Date: July 2002
Posts: 17

Just put a speaker in there? Maybe try that if I can find one small enough to fit in there...which is unlikely. Aluminum foil, I gave that a cursory try, didn't go all out though (had to go to bed), noticed no difference, and I already mentioned I plugged the pump into a different part of the house and it still did it :P.
Thanks anways though.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 12th November, 2002, 10:07 AM
robbie's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Out in the desert of Ca.
Posts: 12,548
Send a message via AIM to robbie Send a message via MSN to robbie Send a message via Yahoo to robbie Send a message via Skype™ to robbie

I ment take the speaker out and use the housing. Some are lined with shielding to protect them from interference to the monitor.
Rob
__________________
Taking each day as it comes
Grow, learn and OVERCLOCK. Need help?? Ask me.
Your Mommy!! (Aug/02) Welcome to the fold.
Buy it, Sell it, or Trade it in the AoA classifieds!!
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 12th November, 2002, 12:48 PM
Member
 
Join Date: July 2002
Posts: 17

ah, ok I see. I wonder what the shielding is made of and could I get some of that stuff easily? Actually, now that I think about it, just moving the damn thing to the floor and hearing the wife nag me about it could be easier. And it would give her more desk space to stack her crap so maybe I could get away with it practically unscathed (unlikely).
Speaking of watercooling, I wonder what would happen if my stupid dog releived himself on my computer that has never been on the floor before?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 12th November, 2002, 04:35 PM
robbie's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Out in the desert of Ca.
Posts: 12,548
Send a message via AIM to robbie Send a message via MSN to robbie Send a message via Yahoo to robbie Send a message via Skype™ to robbie

Well for me.............................................. I'd miss that dog.
Rob
__________________
Taking each day as it comes
Grow, learn and OVERCLOCK. Need help?? Ask me.
Your Mommy!! (Aug/02) Welcome to the fold.
Buy it, Sell it, or Trade it in the AoA classifieds!!
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 12th November, 2002, 04:45 PM
dimmreaper's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: road to insanity
Posts: 5,347
Send a message via ICQ to dimmreaper Send a message via AIM to dimmreaper

The pump is magneticly powered so it creates a large magnetic field that interfears with the monitor, I'm afraid this is a problem with all mag-drive pumps. There are three cures:

1) Move the pump further away from the monitor.
2) Shield the magnetic field, this is very difficult to do as the field is quite strong.
3) Run the monitor at a 60Hz refresh rate, this is the same frequency as the AC power which generates the magnetic field, so the monitor won't have a distorted picture.
__________________
¤ Jeffery ¤

Wishing you were someone else is a waste of the person you are. - Kurt Cobain

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 12th November, 2002, 07:03 PM
Holst's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Leics UK
Posts: 4,528

What make and model of pump is this.

Ive never had such a problem with my eheim (and ive not heard of anybody ele either)

Maybee a new pump will be a better bet.
__________________
No longer Epox Tech.

Best of luck in the future all my friends.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 12th November, 2002, 07:59 PM
mrpcman's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Anchorage, AK
Posts: 2,689
Send a message via AIM to mrpcman

Quote:
Originally posted by dimmreaper
The pump is magneticly powered so it creates a large magnetic field that interfears with the monitor, I'm afraid this is a problem with all mag-drive pumps. There are three cures:

1) Move the pump further away from the monitor.
2) Shield the magnetic field, this is very difficult to do as the field is quite strong.
3) Run the monitor at a 60Hz refresh rate, this is the same frequency as the AC power which generates the magnetic field, so the monitor won't have a distorted picture.
Running the monitor at 60Hz wouldn't be very fun.
__________________
Alex Worthen
Director Of Web Design for the Allied Sites Support Team
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 12th November, 2002, 09:27 PM
Member
 
Join Date: July 2002
Posts: 17

Definately 60 hz would suck. Well, I got home from work and moved it to the floor. I would almost swear that the shimmering is totally gone....almost. I'll prolly squint at my monitor from now on thinking that it's just not right. If I run across and old big speaker I'll try that too though. Thanks for the help and here's hoping my wife is in a good mood when she gets home, I hate it when she wakes me up just to biich at me hehe.

Edit: It's a via aqua 1300 pump.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 13th November, 2002, 01:47 AM
The Spyder's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Oregon
Posts: 4,086
Send a message via AIM to The Spyder Send a message via MSN to The Spyder

humm..... i have a via aqua..... its fine....... also you may want to superglue the impeller to the shaft so that it stops vibrating
__________________
~The Spyder~
I7 965, 6gigs, ASUS, 4870 X2, WD640 AALS Lian Li PC65
Nikon D700, 24-70, 70-200 2.8, SB 800x2
1993 Mazda Rx7 R1 345whp. 2008 Mazda 3 Hatch
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Graphics interference. MONKEYMAN Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 0 20th October, 2005 12:52 PM
120mm Zalman on Ultra-D, RAM Interference? Exile69 Cooling & Temperature Monitoring 5 25th September, 2005 08:43 PM
75GPH submesible pump for $8.65? Adequate for a water rig? Azriel Cooling & Temperature Monitoring 1 5th February, 2005 04:21 PM
submersible pump causing interferrence ??? tediber Cooling & Temperature Monitoring 1 7th January, 2003 12:37 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:19 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0