AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Cooling & Temperature Monitoring


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 2nd March, 2003, 12:04 AM
chris4521's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2003
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 143
Send a message via ICQ to chris4521 Send a message via AIM to chris4521

volcano 7

recently went out and bought a volcano 7, got it for dirt cheap, 20 bucks canadian, so figured it was a good deal
got home, hooked it up. The power uses an adaptor from 3 pin --> 4pin (hd power cables), and theres another 3 pin that actually only has 1 wire that i put into the CPUfan plug. i figure this was the way to monitor the rpm. only problem is that i want the thing to run at 5,000 RPM. it runs around 3,000 right now at 36 degrees celcius, but sound is not an issue for me so i want to max it out. It's variable speed according to temperature, but the temperature sensor is somewhere on the heatsink, and i figure this is the reason it's at such a low RPM.
any suggestions?
i've tried speedfan, but it doesnt seem to do anything for me.
sis735 chipset
athlon xp 1700+

-chris
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 2nd March, 2003, 12:12 AM
kat's Avatar
kat kat is offline
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: belding MI
Posts: 2,166

if you pop the fan off, you will see a little wire with black plastic on the tip carfuly pull it out of the retainer and move it down near the bottom of the hs right in the middle this will ramp up the rpm's
__________________
AOA Team fah

fer 47 years ive been seeking a balance in life
and I’ve been from one end to the other
i may be getting close
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 2nd March, 2003, 12:55 AM
chris4521's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2003
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 143
Send a message via ICQ to chris4521 Send a message via AIM to chris4521

no wire with black plastic in a retainer ;<
i think the temp thing is external because it's a little blue resistor type thing.
are there any software programs to fix this other than speedfan?
__________________
DFI NF2 Infinity Ultra
DLT3C 0310 1700+
Swiftech MCP600/MCW5000/MCR50/120mm Rad
1x 256mb geil ultra platinum DDR (pc3500)
Albatron GFFX 5600 Turbo (400/900)
40gb 7200 ata133
48xcdrom, 4x2x24x cdrw :<
Sony trinitron multiscan 20sfII
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 2nd March, 2003, 01:05 AM
kat's Avatar
kat kat is offline
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: belding MI
Posts: 2,166

Quote:
Originally posted by chris4521
no wire with black plastic in a retainer ;&lt;
i think the temp thing is external because it's a little blue resistor type thing.
are there any software programs to fix this other than speedfan?
well that stinks i figured they would have used the same fan as on the volcano 7 (no plus) it was easy to to do on the v7 that i bought
__________________
AOA Team fah

fer 47 years ive been seeking a balance in life
and I’ve been from one end to the other
i may be getting close
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 2nd March, 2003, 01:36 AM
kat's Avatar
kat kat is offline
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: belding MI
Posts: 2,166

well i just took mine apart and getting old is a ***** the thing is green is this your fan??
Attached Thumbnails
volcano 7-image-0131.jpg  
__________________
AOA Team fah

fer 47 years ive been seeking a balance in life
and I’ve been from one end to the other
i may be getting close
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 2nd March, 2003, 02:11 AM
chris4521's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2003
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 143
Send a message via ICQ to chris4521 Send a message via AIM to chris4521

yup. that's the green thing.
where should i put it?
__________________
DFI NF2 Infinity Ultra
DLT3C 0310 1700+
Swiftech MCP600/MCW5000/MCR50/120mm Rad
1x 256mb geil ultra platinum DDR (pc3500)
Albatron GFFX 5600 Turbo (400/900)
40gb 7200 ata133
48xcdrom, 4x2x24x cdrw :<
Sony trinitron multiscan 20sfII
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 2nd March, 2003, 02:27 AM
kat's Avatar
kat kat is offline
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: belding MI
Posts: 2,166

flip the fan over so the lable is facing the cpu and stick the green thingy down inside the HS so its touching the retention spring this will warm the green thingy up and make the fan run faster

green thingy theres some tech talk for ya hahaha
__________________
AOA Team fah

fer 47 years ive been seeking a balance in life
and I’ve been from one end to the other
i may be getting close
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 2nd March, 2003, 02:50 AM
chris4521's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2003
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 143
Send a message via ICQ to chris4521 Send a message via AIM to chris4521

great advice kat =) thanks
but being the smart guy i am, there was a little bit of glue holding the wires in place..so i decided hey, lets yank it out :P
ripped a red wire, which i stripped and twisted / electrical taped together, hehehe. so it looks kinda crappy now, but i got the little "green thingy" down into the heatsink. RPM's already up by 500
=)
__________________
DFI NF2 Infinity Ultra
DLT3C 0310 1700+
Swiftech MCP600/MCW5000/MCR50/120mm Rad
1x 256mb geil ultra platinum DDR (pc3500)
Albatron GFFX 5600 Turbo (400/900)
40gb 7200 ata133
48xcdrom, 4x2x24x cdrw :<
Sony trinitron multiscan 20sfII
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 2nd March, 2003, 02:52 AM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

Sorry, but you get what you paid for.
I have the same HSF... it looks like a good HSF, but it sucks.
@ 5000 rpm, it's only good for about 45cfm, but you get all the noise. If you can, replace it with an SF2... @5000rpm, it puts out 75cfm. Basically, you have a blue Volcano9. But the HS stinks too.

If you are going for a good overclock, loose the V7. Mine is in a box gathering dust. I was very dissapointed.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 2nd March, 2003, 02:53 AM
chris4521's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2003
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 143
Send a message via ICQ to chris4521 Send a message via AIM to chris4521

:<..ah well..
was wondering, if i just gave the blue temp. sensor the old snip snip if it would hit 5k rpm default?
__________________
DFI NF2 Infinity Ultra
DLT3C 0310 1700+
Swiftech MCP600/MCW5000/MCR50/120mm Rad
1x 256mb geil ultra platinum DDR (pc3500)
Albatron GFFX 5600 Turbo (400/900)
40gb 7200 ata133
48xcdrom, 4x2x24x cdrw :<
Sony trinitron multiscan 20sfII
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 2nd March, 2003, 03:37 AM
robbie's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Out in the desert of Ca.
Posts: 12,548
Send a message via AIM to robbie Send a message via MSN to robbie Send a message via Yahoo to robbie Send a message via Skype™ to robbie

Just snip off the green thing and connect the wires. Then it will ALWAYS run at MAX RPM's.
Rob
__________________
Taking each day as it comes
Grow, learn and OVERCLOCK. Need help?? Ask me.
Your Mommy!! (Aug/02) Welcome to the fold.
Buy it, Sell it, or Trade it in the AoA classifieds!!
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 2nd March, 2003, 05:46 PM
chris4521's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2003
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 143
Send a message via ICQ to chris4521 Send a message via AIM to chris4521

not only did i take the wires off, but i soldered the two parts on the board (had to cut out some plastic) on the fan. runs at constant 5100 RPM right now. bit loud but its alot better than before =)
__________________
DFI NF2 Infinity Ultra
DLT3C 0310 1700+
Swiftech MCP600/MCW5000/MCR50/120mm Rad
1x 256mb geil ultra platinum DDR (pc3500)
Albatron GFFX 5600 Turbo (400/900)
40gb 7200 ata133
48xcdrom, 4x2x24x cdrw :<
Sony trinitron multiscan 20sfII
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 2nd March, 2003, 06:05 PM
kat's Avatar
kat kat is offline
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: belding MI
Posts: 2,166

this might be fun to try with that HSbuilt one of these by hand once
Attached Thumbnails
volcano 7-image-0133.jpg  
__________________
AOA Team fah

fer 47 years ive been seeking a balance in life
and I’ve been from one end to the other
i may be getting close
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 3rd March, 2003, 03:35 AM
SiGmA_X's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2002
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 1,529
Send a message via ICQ to SiGmA_X Send a message via AIM to SiGmA_X Send a message via MSN to SiGmA_X Send a message via Yahoo to SiGmA_X

I *modded* my V7 fan by cutting off the thermal sensor, and connecting the wires together.. It produced about 5000rpm's, and a load of noise... The V9 SF2 is WAY better. But the V9 HS still sucks.
__________________
"In war, it is not the goal to die for your country, but rather to make the other bastard die for his!"
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 4th March, 2003, 09:00 PM
stigweed's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2002
Location: Somerset. U.K.
Posts: 868

I have a v7 that has not been modded at all. With decent case airflow, it gets 48C LOAD on my xp1600 (1.4GHz)@1.88GHz with an ambient tmep around 25C. I have no complaints.

I was thinking of putting a 120mm onto this fan but apparently they don't supply enough power and when put up against any resistance, a 120mm just loses the airflow. Apparently making it suck from the HS can work though I never got round to try.
__________________
We never should have stuck our heads out of the grass in Africa.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 4th March, 2003, 11:56 PM
chris4521's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2003
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 143
Send a message via ICQ to chris4521 Send a message via AIM to chris4521

yeah. im not complaining. on my palo 1700+ oc'd to 1571mhz i get a full load temp of 35.

then again my case has:
2x 80mm exhaust
1x 92mm side exhaust
1x 80mm side intake
1x 120mm front intake
__________________
DFI NF2 Infinity Ultra
DLT3C 0310 1700+
Swiftech MCP600/MCW5000/MCR50/120mm Rad
1x 256mb geil ultra platinum DDR (pc3500)
Albatron GFFX 5600 Turbo (400/900)
40gb 7200 ata133
48xcdrom, 4x2x24x cdrw :<
Sony trinitron multiscan 20sfII
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 5th March, 2003, 08:21 PM
stigweed's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2002
Location: Somerset. U.K.
Posts: 868

Well my case has 120mm intake at the front and 2x80mm in and out of the PSU. This gives me an internal temp of 28.
__________________
We never should have stuck our heads out of the grass in Africa.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Volcano 11 vs Volcano 12 Extreme? bluestreak84 Cooling & Temperature Monitoring 13 20th April, 2004 07:18 AM
Volcano 12+ better than SLK-900/947? ral Cooling & Temperature Monitoring 3 9th January, 2004 06:22 AM
Volcano 9 Thundr7 Cooling & Temperature Monitoring 3 16th July, 2002 09:49 PM
Volcano 7 The Spyder Cooling & Temperature Monitoring 12 29th May, 2002 05:55 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:19 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0