AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Cooling & Temperature Monitoring


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 12th March, 2003, 09:00 PM
up2Tim's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: Virginia, USA
Posts: 82

What is the name of that tubing I bought?

I bought some tubing to replace the PVC in my water cooled rig and I can't remember what it was called.

It's that surgical quality stuff.

It was Tyvec or something like that.

Anybody got any ideas what I'm talking about and where I can get some?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 12th March, 2003, 09:19 PM
Invalid's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2003
Posts: 218
Send a message via AIM to Invalid

u might be talking about Tygon....u can get it from DangerDen...

http://www.dangerden.com/mall/Misc_Hardware/tubing.asp

Ross
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 12th March, 2003, 09:51 PM
up2Tim's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: Virginia, USA
Posts: 82

That's it--thanks
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 12th March, 2003, 09:55 PM
up2Tim's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: Virginia, USA
Posts: 82

You can also get it at US Plastics
HERE
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 13th March, 2003, 11:18 PM
Invalid's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2003
Posts: 218
Send a message via AIM to Invalid

np m8...i ordered some myself...tell me if its any good...

Ross
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 14th March, 2003, 12:34 AM
Random Nonsense's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: USS Great Britain, aircraft carrier, moored off the northwest coast of Europe
Posts: 3,340
Send a message via ICQ to Random Nonsense Send a message via Yahoo to Random Nonsense

Tygon is fairly hard from waht I've seen of it...
__________________
Dual XP1600+ AGOIA "Y" @ 1875mhz WATERCOOLED 33C LOAD

Undergoing overhaul. Hard Locking to 13.5X multiplier for theoretical clockrate of 1944mhz 144mhz FSB

1X Duron 1.3 AHCLA "9" @ 1430mhz

1X Celeron 1000mhz

1X Pentium3 450 DECEASED

Folding Under AOA-UK for team 45!



"Mothers should love their babies, because then they grow up, everyone might hate them."
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 14th March, 2003, 08:49 AM
Invalid's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2003
Posts: 218
Send a message via AIM to Invalid

as in hard to bend?...or just generall tough material so it lasts...

Ross
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 14th March, 2003, 09:42 AM
Random Nonsense's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: USS Great Britain, aircraft carrier, moored off the northwest coast of Europe
Posts: 3,340
Send a message via ICQ to Random Nonsense Send a message via Yahoo to Random Nonsense

hard as in.. um hard! It bends reasonably but not as well as silicone, and it doesnt kink easily.
__________________
Dual XP1600+ AGOIA "Y" @ 1875mhz WATERCOOLED 33C LOAD

Undergoing overhaul. Hard Locking to 13.5X multiplier for theoretical clockrate of 1944mhz 144mhz FSB

1X Duron 1.3 AHCLA "9" @ 1430mhz

1X Celeron 1000mhz

1X Pentium3 450 DECEASED

Folding Under AOA-UK for team 45!



"Mothers should love their babies, because then they grow up, everyone might hate them."
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 14th March, 2003, 11:19 AM
Invalid's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2003
Posts: 218
Send a message via AIM to Invalid

...so thats a good thing, right
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 15th March, 2003, 03:28 PM
up2Tim's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: Virginia, USA
Posts: 82

At US Plastics there is a large selection of tubing.

I chose R-3603 with 3/32" thick wall.

This is the same type I used last time and it worked fine.

I had some problems with chemical reaction/ corrosion and have to swap everything out. I was going to just clean out the existing tubing and reuse it. I thought about it and decided a clean start would be best.

The Tygon tubing I have is soft and flexible and pretty tough. Almost impossible to kink it.

I decided to get some Tygon because I was loosing a little water every couple weeks and read somewhere that it may have been due to leaching through the PVC tubing walls by capillary action.

After changing the tube there is no more mysterious loss of water.

Now I need to get the copper and aluminum to play nice together.
__________________

Last edited by up2Tim; 15th March, 2003 at 03:32 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 15th March, 2003, 03:31 PM
Invalid's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2003
Posts: 218
Send a message via AIM to Invalid

sounds like i ordered the right stuff then...

Ross
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 15th March, 2003, 03:36 PM
up2Tim's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: Virginia, USA
Posts: 82

Quote:
Originally posted by Invalid
sounds like i ordered the right stuff then...

Ross
You'll like it.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 15th March, 2003, 03:39 PM
Invalid's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2003
Posts: 218
Send a message via AIM to Invalid

i hope so...BIG dissapointment if i screw up my first W/C system with bad tubeing , do you know how many GPH can be fed through a w/c system before it starts blowing off the tubing connectors and suck like...i was tempted to order the Ehiem 1260 600GPH pump...

Thanks

Ross
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 15th March, 2003, 03:53 PM
up2Tim's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: Virginia, USA
Posts: 82

I guess that would depend on the diameter of tube compared with the diameter of connector and also the type of clamp used to secure everything.

I chose a diameter of tubing that would fit snuggly over the connector. I probably don't need a clamp at all but I use tie-wraps sinched down slightly.

You may want to assemble your cooling system and run a test period to check for leaks and discover any bugs you might have.

It will leave you a feeling little more confident for a good reason.

Have fun
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 15th March, 2003, 03:59 PM
Invalid's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2003
Posts: 218
Send a message via AIM to Invalid

hehe, yea ill let it run for a day...in the end i decided to settle for the 317GPH pump, after all i am only using 2 waterblocks...are pumps noticeably noisy, because i really want it to be a wuite system so i can leave things downloading while i sleep...kinda hard to get to sleep at the mo with 5 49Db fans working away lol...

Ross
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 15th March, 2003, 04:00 PM
Invalid's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2003
Posts: 218
Send a message via AIM to Invalid

oh yer...and do pumps run off the mains or off the PSU?...cus my PSU is pathetic

thanks

Ross
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 17th March, 2003, 01:06 AM
up2Tim's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: Virginia, USA
Posts: 82

I guess it depends on what type of pump you decide to get. Some run off the PSU and others plug into the wall.

I think Eheim pumps plug into the wall.

As far as the GPH issue goes--If you push the water through the system too quickly it might not sit in the radiator long enough to exchange the heat. If the water moves too slowly then heat builds up. The size of your radiator (how many fans on radiator? What size and speed of fans) and diameter of tube must be considered.

HERE is a link with some info you might find useful.

HERE is another link you can poke around and find some more info.

Have fun and stay cool
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 17th March, 2003, 02:40 PM
Invalid's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2003
Posts: 218
Send a message via AIM to Invalid

cool, thanks, up2tim im gettin the black ice extreme with 1 120mm fan on it.
cheers for the links

ross
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 17th March, 2003, 03:22 PM
Random Nonsense's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: USS Great Britain, aircraft carrier, moored off the northwest coast of Europe
Posts: 3,340
Send a message via ICQ to Random Nonsense Send a message via Yahoo to Random Nonsense

Its pressure that blows hoses. Even without clamps on my 600gph+ 5.5m head pump and crappy pvc tube I was fine until i rocked the pump, the movement caused a hose to ping off! If you use some form of clamp you will be fine.
__________________
Dual XP1600+ AGOIA "Y" @ 1875mhz WATERCOOLED 33C LOAD

Undergoing overhaul. Hard Locking to 13.5X multiplier for theoretical clockrate of 1944mhz 144mhz FSB

1X Duron 1.3 AHCLA "9" @ 1430mhz

1X Celeron 1000mhz

1X Pentium3 450 DECEASED

Folding Under AOA-UK for team 45!



"Mothers should love their babies, because then they grow up, everyone might hate them."
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old 17th March, 2003, 03:33 PM
Invalid's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2003
Posts: 218
Send a message via AIM to Invalid

...sounds nasty...i ordered some of the crappy looking clamps from dangerden with my kit...

Ross
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
We bought it to help with your homework Betty Mookydooky's Just for laughs! 6 4th June, 2004 03:40 AM
I bought another mini :D Con Random Nonsense! 20 21st November, 2003 08:56 PM
Cold Water Tubing.. chris4521 Cooling & Temperature Monitoring 14 4th July, 2003 10:14 PM
where to get silicon tubing? e_storm Cooling & Temperature Monitoring 13 18th March, 2002 10:20 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:08 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0