AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Cooling & Temperature Monitoring


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #21 (permalink)  
Old 10th May, 2003, 01:57 AM
SiGmA_X's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2002
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 1,529
Send a message via ICQ to SiGmA_X Send a message via AIM to SiGmA_X Send a message via MSN to SiGmA_X Send a message via Yahoo to SiGmA_X

Neoprene - Try lowering the voltage of your CPU's core a little bit (0.05v at a time) and see if that lowers the temps..

Also, look into a ThermalRight AX-7 or SLK-800A/U (A for Athlon, U for Universal) or a SLK-900U. I reviewed a SLK-900U, and they are totally kicking. The temps were great, but the problem is that there is some motherboard incompatibility because of the mobo's caps and the massive size. It wouldn't fit on my FIC AU-11 or ABit KR7RAID, so I *moved* the caps a little bit.. Just bent them a VERY little bit The AX-7's are great, and cheap as hell. Run them with a quiet 80mm fan, or the SLK900U with a quiet 92mm fan, and you will have no problems.

60C is my shutdown temp, as well. With a Barton, you can damage the CPU if you hit 75C (MELT!) and so try to keep it below 60C for lots of headroom. When my Palo's get above 55C, they take a massive performance hit. I am running two (Duallie, w00t) XP1800/Palo's at 1.6GHz, with two AX-7's and two ThermalTake SmartFan II's at about 3000RPM. The CPU's are 40C/43C (CPU0/CPU1) at load. CPU1 is hotter because of its location by my passive GeForce4Ti4400 cooler and heat rises, and then gets sucked out inbetween the CPU's
__________________
"In war, it is not the goal to die for your country, but rather to make the other bastard die for his!"
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old 10th May, 2003, 11:11 PM
Neoprene's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Location: Glasgow UK
Posts: 261

Ok folks ..

Hi all ,

Thanks for all the advice ! Ok the mobo I had already flashed ( twice ) and I have the latest KT4V Bios ..Sandra correctly reports it will take up to a Barton 3000+ proc now .

Both RAM sticks are PC2700 . With my old 2200+ I had the FSB up to 142 with total stability .. lol remember I`m just a gamer looking for those extra hertz, not an extreme OC`er .

My idle Barton temp is 46C , gaming apps like Battlefield 1942 push it to about 50-51C at the most .. ok not great , but I dont want to spend a load on a fan that cools to the extreme but with the noise of a small hoover .

The mobo I got just 4 months ago , at a knockdown price (at the time ) from a friendly ebayer .. will do for me at the mo as it supports AGPx8 ( i know many reviews have metioned this doesnt make too much of a diff with most GFX cards as yet ) I had checked the MSI website and it does support DDR400 .. and tested RAM they list includes Corsair PC3200 .

To access higher multipliers , is the only way to mod the chip as I have seen others mention on here before ? I`d be loathe to do this . I think one of my problems is missing a basic understanding of FSB speeds in relation to RAM clock speeds , and I need to read some more FAQ`s on here .

If I get a stick of Corsair XMS PC3200 ram , and its compatible and the memory runs at 400mhz , will this enable me to increase the CPU FSB further than 166 ?

Thanks for putting up with a slow off the mark gamer

Gerry
__________________
Abit NF-7S Ver 2.0 Bios 23 , Barton2600 xp-m @2.60ghz(FSB 200@13.0x ) 1.95 VCore ,Asetek KT03 kit , 1GB Winbond PC3200 CAS 2.0, Nvidia FX5900 Ultra @478/908 ,2x80gb Seagate Barracuda V SATA RAID 0 ,Creative Audigy 2,Sandra PR3528,3Dmark v3.04 6106.WinXP Pro Sp1 5.1.2600. Prime95 stable.

New sys AMD SD3700 , 1GB OCZ 4200 Plat Ver 2.0 , DFI Nforce4 SLI-DR, MSI 6800GT, OCZ Modstream 520W , Audigy 2 ZS, all going to be frosted in a Mach2 GT Prommy :-)
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old 11th May, 2003, 03:05 PM
Neoprene's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Location: Glasgow UK
Posts: 261

DOH !

Hi all ,

After looking around at other posts here regarding overclocking and multipliers , I went back to basics and looked at the BIOS settings. I had assumed that the BIOS would run at the max multiplier rate ..not so ! Going in I could see I can raise the multiplier to 12.5/13.0 without any bridge unlocking .. now the proc is running at 2.09 GHZ with an idling temp of 46.5C with Sisoft Sandra . Certainly an improvement over 1.91 ghz with my old 2200 xp ..enough for this gamer ! Next I reckon some OCZ or Corsair 3200 ram will make me happy ( for now lol )

I`m going to try a few games of Battlefield 1942 and see how my temps fare ... ciao for now and again thanks for the advice !

Gerry:beer:
__________________
Abit NF-7S Ver 2.0 Bios 23 , Barton2600 xp-m @2.60ghz(FSB 200@13.0x ) 1.95 VCore ,Asetek KT03 kit , 1GB Winbond PC3200 CAS 2.0, Nvidia FX5900 Ultra @478/908 ,2x80gb Seagate Barracuda V SATA RAID 0 ,Creative Audigy 2,Sandra PR3528,3Dmark v3.04 6106.WinXP Pro Sp1 5.1.2600. Prime95 stable.

New sys AMD SD3700 , 1GB OCZ 4200 Plat Ver 2.0 , DFI Nforce4 SLI-DR, MSI 6800GT, OCZ Modstream 520W , Audigy 2 ZS, all going to be frosted in a Mach2 GT Prommy :-)
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Needing help with overclocking 2500+ barton Nalster AMD Motherboards & CPUs 10 6th August, 2004 10:57 PM
What Barton is best for overclocking? brunobm AMD Motherboards & CPUs 19 19th July, 2004 03:58 PM
Overclocking barton 2500 on 8rda3+ Pooface EPoX MotherBoards 4 23rd September, 2003 09:03 AM
Barton Overclocking Holst EPoX MotherBoards 20 29th April, 2003 10:40 PM
Barton Overclocking Mau AMD Motherboards & CPUs 6 6th April, 2003 02:43 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:49 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0