AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Cooling & Temperature Monitoring


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 18th May, 2003, 10:06 PM
Member
 
Join Date: August 2002
Location: Cardiff, UK
Posts: 42
Send a message via ICQ to chiyau

Adding a Z-Chipset block?

Hi

I am planning to buy a DangerDen Water setup and also buying the Z-Chipset block for my NB. My question is that the water passing through the Chipset Block will come straight after passing through the Water Block so the water will be warm after sucking the heat form my CPU, but will it be enough to cool my NB sufficently or shall i stick with my Zalman NB Cooler.

I am planning to config the cooling set up in this order..

Pump Out > Tube > W/B In > W/B Out > Tube > Z-Chipset In > Z-Chipset Out > Tube > Rad In > Rad Out > Tube > Pump In.

is this set up ok? And do i need the Eheim 1250 pump for this config or will the 1048 pump do the job.

thanks.
__________________
++ AMD64 3500+ @ 2.9Ghz ++ Asus A8V ++ Mach II - R507 ++ 1GB PC3200 Geil Ultra-X ++
++ 6800GT @ 430 / 1130 ++ 74GB Raptor ++ 160GB Samsung ++ Dell 2001FP 20.1" TFT ++
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 18th May, 2003, 10:57 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: sacromento, cali
Posts: 17
Send a message via AIM to Mr.Wells

im getting a setup from danger den
it should be to me by monday thats what the trakeing told me. im cooling the chip set cpu and video, so i got all the best stuff. the ehime pump should work out best. ill let you know how everything works
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 19th May, 2003, 12:27 AM
Member
 
Join Date: August 2002
Location: Cardiff, UK
Posts: 42
Send a message via ICQ to chiyau

Nice Mr.Wells, keep me informed

I am also deciding which rad to get either the ThermoChill HE120.1 or the Black Ice Xtreme.

ahh decisions, decisions....
__________________
++ AMD64 3500+ @ 2.9Ghz ++ Asus A8V ++ Mach II - R507 ++ 1GB PC3200 Geil Ultra-X ++
++ 6800GT @ 430 / 1130 ++ 74GB Raptor ++ 160GB Samsung ++ Dell 2001FP 20.1" TFT ++

Last edited by chiyau; 19th May, 2003 at 02:35 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 19th May, 2003, 01:41 AM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: sacromento, cali
Posts: 17
Send a message via AIM to Mr.Wells

i got the extream
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 19th May, 2003, 03:30 AM
The Spyder's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Oregon
Posts: 4,086
Send a message via AIM to The Spyder Send a message via MSN to The Spyder

extreme and try this setup:
Pump>Radiator> CPU> Northbridge>Pump

THis way any heat added by the pump will be removed by the radiator before it hits the system.
I would use the 1250- but i have had great luck with the 1048 too...
__________________
~The Spyder~
I7 965, 6gigs, ASUS, 4870 X2, WD640 AALS Lian Li PC65
Nikon D700, 24-70, 70-200 2.8, SB 800x2
1993 Mazda Rx7 R1 345whp. 2008 Mazda 3 Hatch
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 19th May, 2003, 07:19 AM
dod's Avatar
dod dod is offline
AOA Staff (should be working)
 
Join Date: June 2002
Location: Inverness
Posts: 4,014
Send a message via ICQ to dod Send a message via Yahoo to dod

Quote:
Originally posted by The Spyder
extreme and try this setup:
Pump>Radiator> CPU> Northbridge>Pump

THis way any heat added by the pump will be removed by the radiator before it hits the system.
I would use the 1250- but i have had great luck with the 1048 too...
That's exactly what I've got, with a 1048 pump and an abyss rev3 rad (similar to extreme). Temps are as below.
Attached Thumbnails
Adding a Z-Chipset block?-temp.jpg  
__________________
AOA Team fah
Asus P5Q pro, E8400, 4X2Gb XMS2 6400, 8800GT OC and a heap more HDD space
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 19th May, 2003, 08:24 PM
stigweed's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2002
Location: Somerset. U.K.
Posts: 868

Surely putting the pump just before the radiator decreases the flow at the cpu, whereas if it went pump>cpu it'd be more effective?
__________________
We never should have stuck our heads out of the grass in Africa.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 20th May, 2003, 09:04 AM
dod's Avatar
dod dod is offline
AOA Staff (should be working)
 
Join Date: June 2002
Location: Inverness
Posts: 4,014
Send a message via ICQ to dod Send a message via Yahoo to dod

I'm no expert at this but I believe the flow rate is the same at any point in the circuit.
According to theory, the reason for putting the rad before the block(s) is so that any heat generated by the pump is dissipated before it hits the block.
In practice I really don't know if it actually makes any difference as I haven't tried. You have the same heat input and the same heat removal regardless of the order. The biggest factor I have found is ambient temperature.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Asus P5Q pro, E8400, 4X2Gb XMS2 6400, 8800GT OC and a heap more HDD space
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adding GPU box to EMIII smiffy ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team 4 27th October, 2006 09:13 PM
Adding Ram Dsherm112 Intel Motherboards & CPUs 6 2nd May, 2003 12:07 AM
InnovaGPU Water Block (VGA/Chipset) JIDSTER EPoX MotherBoards 3 24th April, 2003 07:55 AM
*** Adding an ATA 100/133 to a 486 *** CaesaR General Hardware Discussion 10 3rd June, 2002 08:29 PM
WUs not adding up SteveI ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team 12 27th October, 2001 06:05 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:40 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0