AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Cooling & Temperature Monitoring


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 19th June, 2003, 04:34 PM
chris4521's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2003
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 143
Send a message via ICQ to chris4521 Send a message via AIM to chris4521

pump question

i went out and bought a pump. it's an eheim 1046, with 79 GPH. im having doubts whether this will be enough to cool my tbred 1700. im looking to keep it at ambient temp. i have 1/2' ID hose and a chevette heatercore with 2x120mm fans on it. think it'll work? ;>
__________________
DFI NF2 Infinity Ultra
DLT3C 0310 1700+
Swiftech MCP600/MCW5000/MCR50/120mm Rad
1x 256mb geil ultra platinum DDR (pc3500)
Albatron GFFX 5600 Turbo (400/900)
40gb 7200 ata133
48xcdrom, 4x2x24x cdrw :<
Sony trinitron multiscan 20sfII
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 19th June, 2003, 08:54 PM
stigweed's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2002
Location: Somerset. U.K.
Posts: 868

I think my eheim is the one below that. Can't remember.

With a dangerden maze3 it keeps my XP1600 at a 500MHZ OC about 14C above ambient at full load (amb:35, cpu:49)

So a 1700 (I understand they're cooler than 16s) at stock speed should stay pretty chilly

Also with a lower power output on your CPU by keeping it at stock, the ambient temp would be lower as my radiator is inside my case. It has a 120mm 12V@7V fan on it but relies on 80mm case fans to recirculate the air.

If you do overclock it, you'll still get nice temps judging by what i've seen on mine. I only lose stability at about 53C+ and most things except gromacs are happy above 49.
__________________
We never should have stuck our heads out of the grass in Africa.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 19th June, 2003, 08:56 PM
stigweed's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2002
Location: Somerset. U.K.
Posts: 868

oh yeah and would a xp1700 jiuhb be the same thing as an xp1700b by any chance? Someone told me in my thread where I asked about starting to use water that the 'b' core revision runs a lot cooler and on water it'd hit like 2.2 easily.
__________________
We never should have stuck our heads out of the grass in Africa.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 20th June, 2003, 03:32 AM
chris4521's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2003
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 143
Send a message via ICQ to chris4521 Send a message via AIM to chris4521

well im already at 2.3 on air, 40C full load.
my ambient is quite low..like 17C. i think with water i could keep it at around 25~ or so full load. i'll have a good rad and good fans for sure.
__________________
DFI NF2 Infinity Ultra
DLT3C 0310 1700+
Swiftech MCP600/MCW5000/MCR50/120mm Rad
1x 256mb geil ultra platinum DDR (pc3500)
Albatron GFFX 5600 Turbo (400/900)
40gb 7200 ata133
48xcdrom, 4x2x24x cdrw :<
Sony trinitron multiscan 20sfII
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 20th June, 2003, 03:35 AM
chris4521's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2003
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 143
Send a message via ICQ to chris4521 Send a message via AIM to chris4521

also, how could i wire this up to my PSU? it says it draws something small like a couple amps. is this possible?
__________________
DFI NF2 Infinity Ultra
DLT3C 0310 1700+
Swiftech MCP600/MCW5000/MCR50/120mm Rad
1x 256mb geil ultra platinum DDR (pc3500)
Albatron GFFX 5600 Turbo (400/900)
40gb 7200 ata133
48xcdrom, 4x2x24x cdrw :<
Sony trinitron multiscan 20sfII
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 20th June, 2003, 03:43 AM
robbie's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Out in the desert of Ca.
Posts: 12,548
Send a message via AIM to robbie Send a message via MSN to robbie Send a message via Yahoo to robbie Send a message via Skype™ to robbie

Do a search for power relays, you should find what you are looking for then.
Rob
__________________
Taking each day as it comes
Grow, learn and OVERCLOCK. Need help?? Ask me.
Your Mommy!! (Aug/02) Welcome to the fold.
Buy it, Sell it, or Trade it in the AoA classifieds!!
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 20th June, 2003, 06:12 AM
FRAGN'STIEN's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2002
Location: Idaho
Posts: 79

Detekcustoms sells a really nice one. That pump will work OK, but you should team it up with a block that won't be restrictive. I like to use the Via aqua pump, although it doesn't have a great reputation even though I haven't had a single problem with mine and I've been running it over a year now. There cheap and put out 370GPH at 0' of head. I think about 6' is max head on the Via.
__________________
This space for rent.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 20th June, 2003, 06:20 AM
FRAGN'STIEN's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2002
Location: Idaho
Posts: 79

Also if your a "do-it-yourself" kind of guy here's a very nice little guide: Click me
__________________
This space for rent.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 20th June, 2003, 10:08 PM
ichorid's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 81
Send a message via MSN to ichorid

chris - the pump is great, but what block will u use


ps water cooling will keep a 1700 jiuhb AT ambient 24/7, maybe 2 degree increase at load:-D
__________________
Lithos
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 20th June, 2003, 10:32 PM
chris4521's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2003
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 143
Send a message via ICQ to chris4521 Send a message via AIM to chris4521

i was thinking the maze3, or a block from http://3rotor.homelinux.com
__________________
DFI NF2 Infinity Ultra
DLT3C 0310 1700+
Swiftech MCP600/MCW5000/MCR50/120mm Rad
1x 256mb geil ultra platinum DDR (pc3500)
Albatron GFFX 5600 Turbo (400/900)
40gb 7200 ata133
48xcdrom, 4x2x24x cdrw :<
Sony trinitron multiscan 20sfII
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 22nd June, 2003, 06:53 PM
ichorid's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 81
Send a message via MSN to ichorid

maze3 is good.

also consider the dtek white water, or wait awhile until cathar brings out the cascade.


dont get maze4!!!
__________________
Lithos
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 22nd June, 2003, 07:00 PM
chris4521's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2003
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 143
Send a message via ICQ to chris4521 Send a message via AIM to chris4521

yeah, i was considering cathar's cascade, but it's gonna take a bit and i want it nowwwww....so i just got the maze3 for the meantime...i was contemplating the maze4, but some people have said it sucks, so i went with the 3. tried and tested.
__________________
DFI NF2 Infinity Ultra
DLT3C 0310 1700+
Swiftech MCP600/MCW5000/MCR50/120mm Rad
1x 256mb geil ultra platinum DDR (pc3500)
Albatron GFFX 5600 Turbo (400/900)
40gb 7200 ata133
48xcdrom, 4x2x24x cdrw :<
Sony trinitron multiscan 20sfII
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 22nd June, 2003, 07:32 PM
ichorid's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 81
Send a message via MSN to ichorid

__________________
Lithos
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Overclocking a pump? Áedán Hardware Hacking 12 31st March, 2003 05:40 AM
Just got eheim pump loop Cooling & Temperature Monitoring 2 14th February, 2003 09:26 PM
H2o Pump question. Lionfish Cooling & Temperature Monitoring 16 27th August, 2002 05:54 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:28 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0