AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Cooling & Temperature Monitoring


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 5th August, 2003, 12:05 PM
BackBonE's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2003
Location: TR, Istanbul
Posts: 27

Arctic Silver Ceramique

Well I had Epox 8rda+ with its standard NB passive cooler, and always got a NB heat similar to my CPU heat (around 32°). I decided to buy an active cooler for the NB and got Vantec CCB-A1C and installed old NB cooler on the SB. But instead of Arctic Silver 3 this time I used Ceramique. Thoug it says it needs 12h to get neat results, I got suspicious since now my CPU and NB heats are the same 34°. Anyone out there tried out this termal paste?
__________________
AMD XP 1800+ @2100Mhz
Epox 8RDA+ Rev2.1/C1 w/SPD650 @210Mhz
DC 256mB TwinMOS PC3200 DDR @3-2-2-2
Powercolor Radeon 9700 Evil Commando 2 @ 326/326mhz
Western Digital WD800JB
Elan Vital A-10
Coolermaster HHC-01
Vantec CCB-A1C
Zalman MFC1
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 5th August, 2003, 02:25 PM
Alexandrus's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Secret Laboratory
Posts: 832

How do you measure NB temp anyway ?
Haven't tried Ceramique yet, but I'd love to, unfortunately it's impossible to find where I live.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 5th August, 2003, 05:16 PM
BackBonE's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2003
Location: TR, Istanbul
Posts: 27

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alexandrus
How do you measure NB temp anyway ?
Don't tell me what winbond3 measures is something else!?!
__________________
AMD XP 1800+ @2100Mhz
Epox 8RDA+ Rev2.1/C1 w/SPD650 @210Mhz
DC 256mB TwinMOS PC3200 DDR @3-2-2-2
Powercolor Radeon 9700 Evil Commando 2 @ 326/326mhz
Western Digital WD800JB
Elan Vital A-10
Coolermaster HHC-01
Vantec CCB-A1C
Zalman MFC1
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 5th August, 2003, 06:18 PM
Alexandrus's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Secret Laboratory
Posts: 832

I have no idea what that sensor measures, but I kinda doubt it can measure the NB temp.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 5th August, 2003, 11:44 PM
BackBonE's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2003
Location: TR, Istanbul
Posts: 27

Now I doubt it too! After 12h my WB2 and WB3 temp are still close (2 to 5° gap). I firstly thought that ceramique was lame, but it ain't I used it on CPU and went down ~2°. Then I slowed down the NB Fan and voila no change on the winbond3. I think it measures case temp, but how I wonder?
__________________
AMD XP 1800+ @2100Mhz
Epox 8RDA+ Rev2.1/C1 w/SPD650 @210Mhz
DC 256mB TwinMOS PC3200 DDR @3-2-2-2
Powercolor Radeon 9700 Evil Commando 2 @ 326/326mhz
Western Digital WD800JB
Elan Vital A-10
Coolermaster HHC-01
Vantec CCB-A1C
Zalman MFC1
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 6th August, 2003, 05:11 AM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

Quote:
Originally Posted by BackBonE
Now I doubt it too! After 12h my WB2 and WB3 temp are still close (2 to 5° gap). I firstly thought that ceramique was lame, but it ain't I used it on CPU and went down ~2°. Then I slowed down the NB Fan and voila no change on the winbond3. I think it measures case temp, but how I wonder?
Perhaps there's a thermistor "bead" that sits above the mainboard's surface?
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 6th August, 2003, 09:30 PM
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Exeter, CA USA
Posts: 67

BackBonE,

Unfortunately there is no easy way to measure the temperature of the Northbridge. The Winbond temps are measured on the Winbond chip, not the Northbridge. Have a look at your board and you should be able to find the Winbond chip.

The most likely reason you are seeing an increase in temps from the Winbond chip is due to the change in heat and airflow from the additional Northbridge cooling.

Colin Thompson
Arctic Silver, Inc.
colin@arcticsilver.com
__________________
Knowledge is useless, it’s what you do with it that counts.

If the supercooled, overclocking crowd discovers how fast duallies feel, there will be a stampede to build SMP rigs that will make the California gold rush look like a few little old ladies pushing shopping carts at the supermarket.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 7th August, 2003, 09:14 AM
BackBonE's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2003
Location: TR, Istanbul
Posts: 27

Well my Mobo uses a W83627HF. Regarding to winbond's web site: An 8-bit analog-to-digital converter (ADC) was built inside W83627HF. The W83627HF can simultaneously monitor 9 analog voltage inputs, 3 fan tachometer inputs, 3 remote temperature, one case-open detection signal. The remote temperature sensing can be performed by thermistors, or 2N3904 NPN-type transistors, or directly from IntelTM Deschutes CPU thermal diode output.

I aslo found out the pins:
VREF: Reference Voltage for temp. measuration. - this is the bogus WB1
VTIN2: Temp. Sensor2 input - CPU
VTIN1: Temp. Sensor1 input -System

So there are two thermistors. One is under CPU I believe? I don't know about the other mysterious one, since I have no idea what tthese thermistors look like.
__________________
AMD XP 1800+ @2100Mhz
Epox 8RDA+ Rev2.1/C1 w/SPD650 @210Mhz
DC 256mB TwinMOS PC3200 DDR @3-2-2-2
Powercolor Radeon 9700 Evil Commando 2 @ 326/326mhz
Western Digital WD800JB
Elan Vital A-10
Coolermaster HHC-01
Vantec CCB-A1C
Zalman MFC1
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 7th August, 2003, 05:47 PM
CCW's Avatar
CCW CCW is offline
Member
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Suffolk, UK
Posts: 345

Isnt the system temp in the BIOS the NB temp?

You could measure NB temp with those little temp measuring thingys (that was helpful lol) forget what they are claled just put thermal paste on bottom and top

Craig
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 8th August, 2003, 04:48 PM
Soul99's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: UK Portsmouth
Posts: 306
Send a message via ICQ to Soul99

I belive you'll find cloasters is the closest to the mark.
During my time as a hardware techi, i've played with quite a few motherboards and cans of air-duster (turn the can upside down and it spits out fluid at about -70c).
using the air-duster as a freezing tool i located the system temp monitor on a few motherboard i used at the time, motherbaord temps of -40c? hell yeah >

It usually located just below the southbridge towards the bottom right corner or the motherboard, positions can change from brand to brand but its usually there. its just a very small surface mounted thermistor.
it's practiacally impossible to find without freezing the motherboard with this spray, just watch the temps in the bois and wait for it to drop down real fast. i've never damaged a motherboard doing this either.

It also makes for the cheapest extream cpu cooling you can get. £1 a can or something and you can get heatsink temps of about -40c, then just go for the insane over clock before the can runs out >
__________________
XP 2500 @ 2400mhz 1.76v Idle -5c, Load 9 c | Abit NF7-s V2.0 @ 218 FSB
Adata PC3200 2 x 512meg @ 218 mhz | R9700 Pro @ 415Mhz core, 355Mhz mem
Cooling is custom built TEC /Water/ Freon setup | Vapo Mk1 performance est.
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 9th August, 2003, 10:37 AM
BackBonE's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2003
Location: TR, Istanbul
Posts: 27

Well thanks for all your posts. I use a Coolermaster hhc-01 on the CPU, A Vantec CCB-A1C on the NB, Epox's standart passive NB cooler is on the SB, a 12cm Delta AFB1212LE (84.76 max CFM) on the rear panel and two 8cm Deltas AFB0812L (27.9 max CFM) on front panel below hdd. I control all my fans with Zalman mfc-01.


http://www.cizgi.com.tr/images/urunl...10_details.jpg

Now as I also wanted to silence my system I've got 2 options:

1. System:32°, CPU:40°, GPU:67°
CPU: @2500rpm
NB: @5000rpm
8cm fronts: in @2500rpm
12rear: out@1200rpm

1. System:35°, CPU:37°, GPU:71°
CPU: @2500rpm
NB: ~2500rpm (I can not measure)
8cm fronts: in @2000rpm
12rear: in@1200rpm


I used a FX5600 with 44.03dets for these tests, since it has temp. monitoring, but I'll normaly will continue with my Ti4200 since its faster?!?

So which setup should I go with?
__________________
AMD XP 1800+ @2100Mhz
Epox 8RDA+ Rev2.1/C1 w/SPD650 @210Mhz
DC 256mB TwinMOS PC3200 DDR @3-2-2-2
Powercolor Radeon 9700 Evil Commando 2 @ 326/326mhz
Western Digital WD800JB
Elan Vital A-10
Coolermaster HHC-01
Vantec CCB-A1C
Zalman MFC1

Last edited by BackBonE; 9th August, 2003 at 10:50 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Arctic Silver on chipset? djXternal Cooling & Temperature Monitoring 12 24th January, 2006 09:31 PM
got some arctic silver z3speed4me Cooling & Temperature Monitoring 0 21st November, 2005 04:25 AM
Arctic silver or not? kotch AMD Motherboards & CPUs 2 16th November, 2005 02:37 AM
Arctic silver .. safe ???? Neoprene AMD Motherboards & CPUs 6 29th April, 2003 11:35 PM
Arctic Silver III out soon. Lionfish Cooling & Temperature Monitoring 12 12th January, 2002 02:17 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:54 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0