AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Cooling & Temperature Monitoring


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 25th October, 2003, 06:16 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 34

Question PC too cold?

All,

I have just purchased a nice new chieftec case and a Water chill kit, the idle temps have dropped from 38'C to 30'C and heavy load from 60'C to 40'C

However I was in a local maplins yesterday enquiring about more piping and the techie (or said techie) told me that the temps were TOO LOW and I could damage the chip, I got into a discussion with him about this and that I've seen a intel chip down to -22'c in a Vapochil case, but he said it was down the design of the chip and AMD recommend a minimum of 40'C....any ideas of what he means? I have my own ideas about this theory
__________________
Barton 2500 333 @ 205 x 11 (2.26Ghz)
512 Twinmoss 3200 @ 412mhz DDR
Epox 8rda+3 V1.1
Gforce 4 4600TI deluxe 128mb @ 301/703
WaterChill CPU kit CPU/CASE Idle 32'C/28'C Load 40'C/29'C
120gig 7200 2mb cache
60 gig 7200 2mb cache
3dmark2001 - 13554marks
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 25th October, 2003, 06:49 PM
Staz's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: June 2002
Location: Lafayette LA
Posts: 3,241
Send a message via Yahoo to Staz

I think that techie needs to put some Preperation H on his lips, because he is talking out his #$$.

Kyrotech builds AMD approved systems that run at -40 (BTW -40 is the same for celcius and ferhenhieght)

The only thing I could think of is that maybe AMD recommends a min temp of at least -40 and he forgot the -. Either that or he was just full of it. otherwise you would have to heat up your cpu above room temp befor starting your PC. And how much sense does that make?
__________________
How come whenever I have a 50/50 chance I'm wrong 80% of the time?

What goes in a computer? Click me to find out.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 10th November, 2003, 01:14 PM
MercutioUK's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Sheffield, UK
Posts: 170

Quote:
Originally Posted by doogie_howser
All,

I have just purchased a nice new chieftec case and a Water chill kit, the idle temps have dropped from 38'C to 30'C and heavy load from 60'C to 40'C

However I was in a local maplins yesterday enquiring about more piping and the techie (or said techie) told me that the temps were TOO LOW and I could damage the chip, I got into a discussion with him about this and that I've seen a intel chip down to -22'c in a Vapochil case, but he said it was down the design of the chip and AMD recommend a minimum of 40'C....any ideas of what he means? I have my own ideas about this theory
Maplins dont even bother to train their guys. I was in my local one when there was a guy in wanting memory. The chap asked how old, type of chip etc was told "about 18 months old and a P4". He then tried to give a line that the guy had "special propriotory (sp?) memory" rather than saying it was RDRAM. I wasnt going to let it go so butted into the convo (im not usually that sort but the guy was talking SO outta his ass) and asked what the crack was (infront of the customer) he ended up saying "we dont stock it" he was basically bulling this customer into thinking he had obsolete bits rather than just saying "we dont have that". Really wasnt impressed with the guy. Also they have the NF7-S for £134!!! like DOUBLE most decent mail order prices. I know some shops ARE pricey but thats taking the piss
</rant>

__________________
Never buy a dwarf with learning difficulties,
It's not big, and it's not clever.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 10th November, 2003, 05:34 PM
Soul99's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: UK Portsmouth
Posts: 306
Send a message via ICQ to Soul99

AMD Barton currently at -3c and no problems, the maplins dude aint got a clue.
__________________
XP 2500 @ 2400mhz 1.76v Idle -5c, Load 9 c | Abit NF7-s V2.0 @ 218 FSB
Adata PC3200 2 x 512meg @ 218 mhz | R9700 Pro @ 415Mhz core, 355Mhz mem
Cooling is custom built TEC /Water/ Freon setup | Vapo Mk1 performance est.
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 10th November, 2003, 08:35 PM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

AMD's website has plenty of info on cooling, but doesn't mention anything about a minimum temperature. The cooler the better, I would have thought. Electricity works more efficiently under lower temperatures.

Possibly, a sudden and large change in temperature might cause some damage. Although, I have never seen it reported.
__________________
Desktop PC: AMD FX-8370E / Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard / 16GB DDR3 RAM / GeForce GTX 970
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 10th November, 2003, 09:09 PM
Kaitain's Avatar
Member
Mars Rover Champion, Joust Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: MK10, UK.
Posts: 4,372
Send a message via MSN to Kaitain Send a message via Skype™ to Kaitain

There is an eventual minimum temperature, as the thermal expansions of copper and the silica substrate are rather different. For older Al-based cores, -40 was about the lowest guaranteed temperature before some cores would tear themselves apart from the inside. Not sure for copper, and I've no mind to research it atm.
__________________
It is by coffee alone I set my mind in motion...
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Its cold outside :-) keithwalton Cooling & Temperature Monitoring 7 29th December, 2006 10:14 PM
Another look at cold fusion. mookydooky Random Nonsense! 0 26th March, 2004 03:58 AM
Help! My CPU is too cold LOL Soul99 Cooling & Temperature Monitoring 8 7th October, 2003 04:34 PM
cold front kat Cooling & Temperature Monitoring 2 17th April, 2003 09:42 PM
Looking for a cold solution JINXED02 Cooling & Temperature Monitoring 19 23rd August, 2002 09:17 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:50 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0